We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rowdy and deafening” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome

The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aspen's iconic J-Bar (short for "Jerome Bar") remains the town's social hot spot, with its lively yet casual dining atmosphere. Ski bums, socialites, cowboys and luminaries - from members of the Tenth Mountain Division to the late Hunter S.Thompson gather at this authentic bar for an hint of the Old West. Sit down, relax, and enjoy a beer, vintage-inspired cocktails and light dining fare for lunch or dinner. And don't pass on Aspen's best burger.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rowdy and deafening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Rowdy and deafening; probably mostly locals, as it was off-season. Waitress rude and obviously unwilling to suggest competing establishments.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    141
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bar food menu, mediocre service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The J-Bar menu and wine selection is very limited. Standard bar fare such as burgers and French fries. Limited wine selection, to reds and whites. The bar has comparably small TVs mounted very high. Service was mediocre. Touristy. My husband and I did not stay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Totally terrific burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had been told how great the burgers were but tasting is believing. From the first bite you know that these are outstanding and worth all the good comments written about them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went for dinner on a Saturday night and were sat right away. $15 for a burger and beer is a pretty good deal, and their turkey club sandwich on pretzel bread was delicious! A little expensive, but its Aspen so I expected higher prices. The staff was friendly and the food came pretty quick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

So many people in Aspen recommended this place to us. We went in for a cocktail and the experience was terrible. We waited about 10 minutes to be served, another 15 to get our drinks - which were possibly two of the worst cocktails we've ever had. To be fair the barman was on his break so I don't blame him. Why the waiters thought it was ok to serve us such poor quality drinks I'll never know but would not recommend this place at all. We promptly left to get a decent cocktail at Jimmy's. Don't waste your money here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank teagun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome also viewed

 

Been to The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing