We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved J-Bar”

The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aspen's iconic J-Bar (short for "Jerome Bar") remains the town's social hot spot, with its lively yet casual dining atmosphere. Ski bums, socialites, cowboys and luminaries - from members of the Tenth Mountain Division to the late Hunter S.Thompson gather at this authentic bar for an hint of the Old West. Sit down, relax, and enjoy a beer, vintage-inspired cocktails and light dining fare for lunch or dinner. And don't pass on Aspen's best burger.
Orlando
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved J-Bar”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our first stop of many great ones during our week's stay in Aspen and the J-Bar did not disappoint. Cocktails were great, service excellent, efficient and friendly; these guys really took care of us. The bar manager was trying out some new cocktails and we were happy to be her guinea pigs! One of the waiters heard us talking about the history of the place and arranged for a lovely lady from the Aspen Historical Society to come over and give us the history of Aspen and the Jerome Hotel. J-Bar turned out to be one of our favorite places.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klpsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    143
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, MD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service & food”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The J-Bar was recommended to my husband and me. The bartender (Laura) was extremely nice. We especially enjoyed the delicious burgers and the drinks were also very nice. Went back again, had another bartender who was also very accommodating. We would certainly go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jettie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Once not enough”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Next stop on our USA Roadtrip - Aspen. Drove from Moab, booked into B&B. Wandered into the J-Bar. Shared fish and chips and watched the NFL. Friendly and prompt service, warm and cosy, nice atmosphere. Loved it so much, went back the following night and shared the Jerome Burger....yummo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Hand Crafted Cocktails”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What started out as a required trip to this recommended bar turned out to be one of the highlights of my Aspen stay. I can't comment on the food as we didn't dine there, but there seemed to be plenty of specials and customers seemed happy.

What I can comment on were the amazing drinks and superb hospitality extended by Ryan Sterling, the bartender. He was able to come up with wonderful libations by simply asking for a flavor and spirit. These were not your everyday drinks either. I really would put him up there with Garrett Hendrickson of Emeril's Tchoup Chop in Orlando, Max Solano of Delmonico Steakhouse in Vegas and Junior Merino "The Liquid Chef" in New York. J-Bar is lucky to have him.

Simply put, if you're wanting excellent drinks in a comfortable hospitable atmosphere, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rowdy and deafening”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Rowdy and deafening; probably mostly locals, as it was off-season. Waitress rude and obviously unwilling to suggest competing establishments.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome also viewed

 

Been to The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing