We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and chic!”

The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Aspen's iconic J-Bar (short for "Jerome Bar") remains the town's social hot spot, with its lively yet casual dining atmosphere. Ski bums, socialites, cowboys and luminaries - from members of the Tenth Mountain Division to the late Hunter S.Thompson gather at this authentic bar for an hint of the Old West. Sit down, relax, and enjoy a beer, vintage-inspired cocktails and light dining fare for lunch or dinner. And don't pass on Aspen's best burger.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very cozy and chic!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I loved it here. The chicken wings are great and so are the cocktails. The bloody mary is amazing! We really enjoyed every minute.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_rood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    145
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina Del Rey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar Tender Made it”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great service. Great drinks. Had a blast, made new friends.

This is what a ski area bar should be. The history here is obvious - that it still works so well is what makes it cool.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit the J Bar, skip the lobby bar”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I'm an Aspen local. The J Bar is always fun, low key, and local. It's a "scene" and full of interesting characters. Burgers, chicken wings, bbq chicken salad the best. Skip the stuffy lobby bar - it's slow and boring.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AspenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“mmmm hot buttered rum”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

sat at the bar our first night in Aspen, my husband had the Reuben and I had BBQ chicken salad. the bartenders are great, all kinds of creative unique drinks. we were offered a few samples while they mixed the drinks. I highly recommend the hot buttered rum as a night cap. We were back two nights later for more hot buttered rum and the spinach dip. excellent service, great staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This became our local during our 9 days in Aspen, we weren't in there every night! Our first evening we arrive late at our hotel and were looking for a chill out bar, our hotel suggested the Jbar we arrived they had a selection of domestic beer and Stella which was off, the guys were great at suggesting alternatives, Greg behind the bar is a laugh as is Frank who looks after the table. It has to be one of the most welcoming bars we have been to. It's not the place for a rowdy night of après but a great place to relax in good company and enjoy a nice drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing