We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome drive!”
Review of Independence Pass

Independence Pass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awsome drive!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Take this route from Denver! Truly the most beautiful drive for the family! I would only do this during the day as scaling the mountains may be a bit dangerous at night!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    170
    23
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Worth the drive along very narrow and curvy roads! The view is great! Be sure and walk slow with plenty of water if not use to 12,103 feet high! The wildflowers in July were beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Varshea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful but LONG!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you're in a hurry, don't take the pass. If you're not in a hurry, it's gorgeous! Many, many places to stop...campgrounds, historical views, hiking! Had we known how long it was, we would have taken a couple of days to see it all...Just gorgeous. I highly recommend it. Especially if you want to stop and learn about the history!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheRockies01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed! I felt like I'm in the Alps :)”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We couldn't miss Aspen and the Independence pass being in CO, so we took the road from Colorado Springs toward Aspen via the pass. We had a 27ft RV and had no problems at all, road is very nice and the view is EXCELLENT. So many nice photo opportunities! Climbing up toward the top you can slowly feel the effect of the high altitude, especially when walking toward the scenic point on the top of the pass :)

There was SNOW IN JULY, so my daughter was so happy to be able to grab some snow there :)

Again plan your trip so, that you do this either in the morning or in the afternoon. You will have fully washed out photos in the full midday!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Far Out!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There are not many words that sum up what this pass is like. I had a clear sunny warm but not hot day. The view is very scenic and there are lots lots of pull offs so you can stop and take pictures. I did get a headache from the altitude. It is 12,095 feet at the top of the pass.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Pass also viewed

 

Been to Independence Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing