We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at base of mountain!”
Review of Hyatt Grand Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was a very clean, comfortable elegant hotel, spacious bedrooms and baths! High quality kitchen and bath finishes. Nice pool and hot tub, exercise room. Continental breakfasts were ok but would be better if there were hot choices and it went a bit later in the am.

Room Tip: We were on first floor facing street, would have preferred higher up on the back side of hotel, has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makala77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Congratulations Hyatt Grand Aspen! In the 4 years we have been staying at this property we have never been disappointed.
This is an exceptional place to stay for a ski vacation. The location is fantastic, one block form the Queen Gondola and one down from the bus terminal if you wish to ski Buttermilk, Highlands or Snowmass - that's if you sleep in and miss the complimentary hotel shuttle service. It is close to the City Market and walking distance to wonderful array of restaurants and bars.
The property and rooms are very well maintained and beautifully decorated. We stay in a 3 bedroom apartment and the kitchens are well equipped with high end appliances.
What sets this hotel apart from the others is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and our requests, from picks ups from the store to extra champagne glasses, rearranging beds, finding lost ski poles etc were always met with a smile. Roger, Gabriel, Chrissie, Brendan, Michael continue to provided top rate service and always make our stay very special. Lucy at reception and Dominic, Greg and Troy in ski valet were a great addition to the team. Housekeeping and engineering also do a marvelous job keeping everything spotlessly clean and working seemlessly. Well done!
We are already looking forward to our trip in 2015!

Room Tip: Call ahead to see what is available as all the rooms vary in terms of size, layout and of course vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank australiantripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Last fall, our stay here was delightful in everyway. We spent our Thanksgiving week here, our first-time ever, at Hyatt Grand Aspen. It's a great place for a perfect fall-vacation to enjoy fall colors. We stayed in room no.11B2, a 1-Bedroom, corner unit on the 2nd floor, with 2-balconies, one from the living area with 2-sets of glass doors to a walk-out porch that was facing the front of the property and had the view of the village & the ice-skating rink. And bedroom-balcony opened to a slope-side view of Ajax Mountain from where we watched the Women's Audi FIS Ski World Cup Winternational Races.
From the minute we stepped-in, we were amazed to see this one of a kind, outstanding timeshare resort, that offers first-class ammenities & exceptional service. All residence-units are equipped with top-of-the-line appliances, has premium furnishings with decorator's touch, over-the-counter TV in the kitchen, the massively laid-out bathrooms have over-sized jaccuzzi-tub with a slick flat-screen tv above it & a steam-shower with " tropical rain" shower-head with multiple adjustable body-spray jets. My husband liked getting fogged-up and breathed-in the steam that helped a lot with his blocked sinuses. While my son enjoyed throwing himself at the horizontal body-jets at full pressure, like being inside a car-wash.
Their twice a day housekeeping service was top-notch and meticulous. It included the nightly turn-down service with the decadent chocolates on the pillows to slip you far & deep into sleep...... and "this isn't even a hotel" but a residence-club/ timeshare property !! Kudos to a friendly, helpful & efficient staff of a high-end vacation-club resort like this, that makes it so addicting.....without seeing the exclusive & high-class snootiness that often accompanies......
Valet parking was additional at $25.00 a day. Self-parking in a heated garage was almost the same at $ 23.00 a day. Since this property is within walking distance to all ammenities, shopping, restaurants, gondola, chair-lifts etc..., we didn't need to get our car out even once during our stay. Their valet-drivers will drive you around in their free-shuttle to drop-off at hikings, to near-by Snowmass & Buttermilk ski-lift entrances, restaurants etc. We went hiking to the Hunter Creek trailhead and to Maroon Bells to see aspen-trees in color-- a must do.
It is also only a block away to Aspen's famous Silver Queen Gondola. We took a 15-min. ride up to the top of the Ajax mountain & it was free for all on the opening day of the ski-season.
We also went skiing at both Aspen mountains & Snowmass, using Hyatt's small but efficient ski-valet & equipment rental shop, which was right on the property. Our only disappointment was, we didn't get to use the beautiful outdoor ice-skating rink which was right across the property's entrance.There was big GHA logo frozen in the center of the ice-skating floor & they told us Hyatt bought-out this rink sometime ago. As the rink doesn't appear very big, they're definitely not using the 'refrigerant', or the 'artificial-ice'. They said the rink's opening schedule is totally weather-dependent & they use light refrigeration during winter season. My son drooled looking at it everyday. C'mon Hyatt management, why can't you operate it the same way, as the outdoor-rink right outside Park Hyatt, in Beaver Creek.
Since the evening-temperatures were chilly in mid-to-late november (in low 30's), we decided to go with our initially planned (& reserved a month before) dinner for Thanksgiving night.
Right next door to hyatt, this was at St. Regis hotel's newly renovated restaurant, "Chefs club by food & wine". It turned out to be the worst Thanksgiving meal ever !! It's more of a bar than a restaurant and their poor service to families shows it all. No one ever answers the phone at this restaurant. We made reservations on-line, influenced purely by looking at their impressive 4-course dinner-menu for Thanksgiving; it was just a clever ruse to get you down there. We were served like "bar-food" type portions, so little, as if people were there for "sampling" the 4-tiniest of entrees on thanksgiving. Food was being served after waiting way too long (even at other tables) and tasted bland. Not worth $75.00 per person without wine-pairing price."Chef's Club" restaurant is obviously not a right choice for special family-dinners. The concierge at Hyatt had a lot of other suggestions to dine-in places for thanksgiving, they had no opinion about this renewed "Chefs club" restaurant,except for they handed the menu print-out if you wanted it.
We were particularly appreciative of the free continental breakfast served each morning.
Even though you have the best of the chefs gourmet kitchen at your disposal /in your unit upstairs, we just couldn't disregard /not go & grab an easy-reach & simple breakfast. Simply getting the hot & freshly brewed coffeee & teas (which btw, tasted very satisfiably & blissfully good.......) got us our day going to a good start. We saw the staff worked diligently every morning to provide a decent morning fare of bagels, breads, waffles, pastries, yoghurt & beverages. Although I'm not a fan of meats at breakfast, it would be nice to see some eggs added to the breakfast. We were told that an outside agency is hired that is taking care of the breakfast, and is not run by hyatt management. Nevertheless, with guests paying a resort fee of $25.00 a night, it feels noteworthy to acknowledge that breakfasts here is certainly an added bonus. Thanks team-breakfast !
We booked our unit directly from Hyatt's website. It was a no brainer as the prices were low & affordable last fall & the fall before. We are glad we could stay here in Aspen, if we find the same deal again, we'll be back in no time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalTravelBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at this property. Beautiful property and rooms, and the staff was amazing. At every turn you are made to feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel is ideally located near many restaurants, bars, and shopping. Once we parked our vehicle, we never had to get in it and we were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tools35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Grand Aspen over the Columbus Day weekend and had another great experience. We lucked out and stayed in one of the penthouse units this time. We were in Unit 45 A & B. The units together are a 3 bedroom complex with 5 outside decks overlooking everything from Aspen mountain, the outdoor pool area, and the downtown of Aspen. There are two hot tubs - one has a great view of the ski hill so it would be awesome during the winter time and the other is private and directly connected to one of the master bedrooms (just in case). The service was, as usual, excellent. Its hard to imagine a better choice!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the ski hill are always excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hyatt Grand Aspen. Dates were September 29th thru October 3rd, 2013. Our room had a king bed overlooking the pool, spa and mountain in the background. The room was very clean, staff was super friendly, and location was perfect. My only complaint was the bed. It is a feather bed on top of the mattress which made it too soft for my back. Woke up sore each morning. The free breakfast is very basic. The best part of staying here is the location to walk to any shop, restaurant, or activity!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We are Hyatt people but do not own here. This is one of the top Residence/Vacation clubs in the Hyatt group and we have done most of them. First, the staff is outstanding, you have only to look puzzled and someone is reaching out to make your stay amazing.

The beds and furniture are top notch with Viking appliance in the kitchen. Twice daily maid service with the most organized and detailed housekeeping staff. Walking distance to all manner of restaurants, grocery store, coffee shops and more.

A European style breakfast is included with an array of newspapers. Yoghurt parfaits, waffles, hardboiled eggs, cereal, bagels and more with a delightful hostess.

Sheri, the concierge is very knowledgeable even about remote restaurants like the Cookhouse on Castle Creek with amazing food--do reserve if you can, very popular even off season.

Roger, Gabriel, Karen, Brendan and Chrissie at front desk are friendly, are quick to notice if you want a chat or a quick business transaction. We really felt at home and were amazed how quickly they knew our names and room number. The whole lobby team, valets etc. really care about this property and it shows. You can ask any of them for favorite hikes, directions... The engineer team is super too, they come in minutes and make you feel ok about not knowing how to play a DVD or whatever, thanks Oscar and Danny!

Fine gym, great pool and hot tubs. A real find, don't miss the Remede spa at St. Regis, for the price of a manicure you get the use of beautiful soak pool with waterfall, turkish steam room, oxygen room, hot/cold tub and delightful waiting area. However, a facial with Ferris is heaven and worth every penny. She is a real expert and a pleasure

Room Tip: when booking advise if view is most important or proximity to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Watersprite91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Grand Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Grand Aspen

Address: 415 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1809
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £264 - £2,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Grand Aspen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Grand Aspen is a Residential property that also rents rooms as a typical hotel would. Keep in mind that as we are not a typical hotel some services are not provided such as room service, or a spa. What is provided is a first class property with beautifully appointed, immaculate rooms in a relaxed, home-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Grand Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Aspen Hotel Aspen
Hyatt Aspen
Aspen Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing