We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Accommodations substandard hotel staff”
Review of Hyatt Grand Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Accommodations substandard hotel staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The place is very clean and the accomodations are very comfortable. The staff however needs to improve exponentially if they are to adequately represent the Hyatt name and the prices paid to stay there. Starting with the front desk staff. Their attitude is as if they were doing you a favor rather than greeting you in a friendly fashion on arrival. It took 7 calls to the bell captain to have our bags brought up. The 7 calls did not work. It was a housekeeping manager that called to have our bags brought to pour room 3 hours after check in. The bell hop seemed annoyed that we wanted him to place bags in different rooms. From there Gabriel the "Hotel manager" could benefit from a course on how to speak to guests. There is a pleasant way to deliver a message and there is a "I am doing you a favor" way. Gabriel chooses "favor" way. If you want a hotel in Aspen where the accomodations are clean and comfortable, the Hyatt is your place but be mindful, the staff leaves much to be desired and is not reflective of even a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level are the best as you have access to a street balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 526Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel415, Manager at Hyatt Grand Aspen, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments to heart. Thank you also for noticing that The Hyatt Grand Aspen is not only beautiful but an extremely clean property as well. What you did not experience was the First Class Service we are also known for and based on your comments, it looks like we missed an opportunity to prove that to you. We want to apologize for any short-comings that may have occurred on your recent stay. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Aspen - hopefully choosing to give us another opportunity to impress you.

Thank you.

Gabriel Andrade
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    35
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I had a surprisingly poor stay. Hotel is in excellent location in Aspen but is considerably overpriced for the quality of services and amenities. I checked in late (after 10pm) and asked the receptionist where I could eat and she was surprisingly clueless. In the end suggested McDonald's. I needed shaving materials during my stay and receptionist couldn't find someone to fulfill the request. Finally on leaving I booked hotel car to take me to airport and driver failed to show up at 6am for the drive. Security guy did his best but also could not get taxi. Overall really lax - and for $330 per night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hyatt Grand Aspen was excellent and was a perfect example of the Hyatt brand. The two bedroom unit was spacious and very comfortable for a family of 4. The location is perfect as you can stroll to many restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful and it was nice that housekeeping came everyday (despite our week long stay).

Room Tip: The hotel has many different configurations of rooms - all beautifully decorated and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65PAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at this property about a dozen times and it never gets old. The property has many options for size - studio to a 3 bedroom. Condo style with beautiful Viking Appliance kitchens, fireplaces, a pool, and outdoor jacuzzi. Staff is low key but fabulous...just the way you want it. Property sits at base of gondol and right in center of town. Spring, summer, fall, or winter....this property says relax and enjoy the mountain air. Great for adult get-away!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Hyatt Grand Aspen is a great hotel right in the center of everything in Aspen. The staff at the front desk, valets, and housekeeping are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable -- especially if you have a larger unit with living room and kitchen. It's a great place to relax after a day of biking or hiking. Most places are within walking distance for dinner or lunch if you don't want to cook. The breakfast downstairs is adequate -- they used to have pastries, but now just bagels and english muffins. (Also yogurt, cereal, & drinks). Overall, Hyatt Grand Aspen is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantase62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A great hotel, we got the studio on the first floor. Nice patio to sit and enjoy a drink and check out the view. Lovely room and bath. Staff is extremely helpful. Valet parking only, they have an underground garage that is secure. The hotel is only two blocks from the town center so you can shop and go to restaurants without worrying about parking. A light continental breakfast comes with the room. It was still off season so no bar was available. Quiet street even this close to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very Nice Hotel, Clean, Modern wonderful staff. Quiet nights even with a full hotel and parties going on around us. You can walk to the down town area for dining and shopping. The St Regis
is next door for Spa Treatments. The kitchens are beautiful and all the appliances you could possible need. If you are going to stock you kitchen take a cab home if you walk to the grocery because it is all up hill back to the hotel. I would stay again. It was great.

Room Tip: We were by the pool and it was never to loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdkpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Grand Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Grand Aspen

Property: Hyatt Grand Aspen
Address: 415 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1809
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Grand Aspen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Grand Aspen is a Residential property that also rents rooms as a typical hotel would. Keep in mind that as we are not a typical hotel some services are not provided such as room service, or a spa. What is provided is a first class property with beautifully appointed, immaculate rooms in a relaxed, home-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Grand Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Aspen Hotel Aspen
Hyatt Aspen
Aspen Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing