We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good................BUT”
Review of Hotel Lenado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lenado
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The previous reviews are correct, this is a lovely boutique style hotel in a small intimate setting, almost european in style. The rooms are 'homely' and comfortable, bathroom is spacious, clean and has fabulous L'occitane toiletries. Compared to some of the other modern super-luxe places in Aspen which scream 'look at me I have money' this hotel is much more elegant and discreet.
Location is close to main area of town (5 min walk) and 2 min to the ski bus stop and 7-10 min to the Aspen gondola and lift 1.
The breakfast is indeed cooked to order and quite delicious with a good selection of healthy and decadent options. Quality food with fresh ingredients prepared with care and attention to detail.

Now comes the 'but' and I am afraid it is a big but……. the capacity for breakfast is limited to 7 tables but there are 19 rooms in the hotel. There is only one chef who does a great job but nevertheless can only cook so many breakfasts at once. Which means that you need to be at the breakfast table BEFORE the 7.30 advertised start, otherwise you have to wait until someone finishes before you get to eat. And as the aforementioned chef is only one, it takes about 45-60mins for one breakfast sitting to be completed. This means valuable skiing time is being wasted if you have not barged into the breakfast room at 7.20am to claim a spot.

Our first 2 days were filled with such annoyance, to wake up before 7.30 and yet not finish breakfast before 9-9.30 as we had to wait for a spot. On day 1 we were even told that we could not order cappuccino as the chef was too busy to make it! We came to ski and we felt put out to have the best part of the day wasted. For day 3 I vowed that if I didn't get a table at 7.30 I would ask for the breakfast cost to be refunded and we'd go and get breakfast elsewhere. I made it in at 7.25 and claimed the 2nd last table! By 7.30, 3 other couples were turned away to wait for the next available tables.

To make this place 5 stars, the breakfast area must be increased in capacity and the chef given a helper (he really is run around and I don't envy his job). If capacity cannot be added then perhaps provide an option for ordering the night before quick takeaway breakfasts which skiers can grab and eat on the way to the slope.

So in summary, this place is fantastic if you don't mind when you get your breakfast, it is very relaxing and the staff are really lovely and try to do their best. If you are at Aspen to ski and want to get out reasonably early then make sure you are up and in the breakfast room at 7.15 otherwise you'll be out fairly late.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilpea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the location (near the centre of aspen) good. The hot tub provides a great way to relax after a day of skiing or hiking. The rooms can be a bit noisy, but that comes with an older building, and the typical guests will be middle aged or older so a minor issue

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nelis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel was a little gem tucked just off Main Street is ideal for a romantic getaway. From outside it looks a little unconventional, but it opens up into a wonderful vaulted grand room and magnificent fire place. It was more like hanging out in a friends sitting room than a hotel's lobby. The staff were welcoming and friendly, discreet when necessary and always willing to help.

The hotel is walking distance to everything in the core - however parking was a little bit of an issue for us. It is also really close to the bus stops so getting to the hill after breakfast was easy.

The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable (almost didn't want to get out and onto the ski hill the next morning). There was also plenty of space for drying ski gear. The bathroom was large and had a great selection of nice products.

The breakfast was also really good. The ability to order everything off the menu (more than once) really enabled a decent breakfast before a hard day on the hill. The bar is a little small and cozy, so you get to know everyone - and the waiter was a little loud, which broke the ambiance, but he was friendly and willing to help.

Prices were on-par with what one would expect for Aspen; and this was booked day-of arrival. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabathaSoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic hotel, staff friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts are excellent and everything cooked fresh to order. Close to all ski resorts and on the bus route. 4 minute walk into Aspen and close to many excellent restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I had never been to Aspen but my boyfriend had been & highly recommended this place. He was absolutely right! It felt like home, not a hotel. It was charming & cozy. I live in Florida & snow is a privilege for me, so I couldn't wait to ski. Did not want to leave the residence! The staff was so nice, it was like visiting home! I will be back & stay nowhere but here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JujuG8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is a gem in stuffy Aspen. Small and unpretentious but offers renovated stylish furniture, quiet location, excellent cooked to order breakfast at no extra cost, hot tub, friendly bar, and warm common rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times and it has been my favorite lodging in Aspen. The staff is kind and thoughtful, the rooms are comfortable and relaxing, and the location makes most of Aspen available by foot. The breakfast that is included is a great way to start the day and makes the Lenado very economical by Aspen standards. The staff have great suggestions of places to eat, hikes to go on, and are loan out copies of guidebooks. We recommend the Lenado and only wish we could visit more often.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lenado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lenado

Address: 200 S Aspen St, Aspen, CO 81611-1731
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: £68 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lenado 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Aspen Colorado, hotels that embody rustic mountain elegance? The Hotel Lenado is just steps away from Aspen's renowned shops, restaurants and skiing. With nineteen distinctive rooms, this award-winning inn next to Whitaker Park revels in the character that is uniquely Aspen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lenado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenado Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing