We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must location”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Fortunately we were recommended Aspen Square, before our first visit,many years ago.And from that first visit,we have not needed to look for accommodation elsewhere. The location is perfect.Just across the street from the gondola. And a hundred yards away from the excellent supermarket.The haunts of the Nell and the Skybar are just a street away.
The staff(wonderful Gretchen at the concierge)to the room servicing staff are all polite and helpful.I guess it's luck as to what type of room you get,as they are all privately owned and decorated.We have our personal fav.But i'm not telling,we don't want you to book it!
Great amenities(Two large hot-tubs,large outdoor heated pool,small gym.Laundy etc).
Little touches,such as the staff bringing fire wood to your apartment,make this place a cosy and charming place to spend the ski season.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the mountain or the village. Grab the higher floors available. Noise not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    74
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
78
75
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Aspen Square during off-season and were very satisfied with our experience. We got a very nice apartment (Condo 135) at an excellent rate. The appartment had two bedrooms / two bathrooms, a very well apointed kitchen and a lovely living room. We liked the wooden walls and ceiling combined with the modern touch of the furniture. Our condo was certainly one of the better ones - we first saw a one bedroom apartment were we would not have liked to stay: so the experience might vary depending on the chosen room.
The corridors, parking area and elevators are a bit dated but remodelling was ongoing during our stay. The fitness room is located in the cellar and not much to speak of. But it is there and the equipment works.
The location was very convenient: just next to the main shopping and restaurant area and opposite the ski-lifts: it couldn't be better! Staff at the front desk was very hepful and friendly too. Altogether a very pleasant experience which led us to extend our stay by two days...

Room Tip: Condo 135 (two bedrooms) was very beautiful, clean and well apointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren K, General Manager at Aspen Square Condominium Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We appreciate the positive input from this past guests at Aspen Square. We are a condominium hotel, each accommodation individually owned. They all have different decor, running from contemporary to very traditional, and everything in between. We always work to match a guest's favored decor with the accommodation we provide. All are different, and all accommodations are well maintained, well cared for and updated as needed.

We thank you for the positive comments about our staff and our location. This really is a great place to stay, and we appreciate the many return guests we host, summer and winter. We are into a great ski season right now, and people are enjoying their Aspen and Aspen Square stays!

Warren Klug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Aspen Square is great for a certain niche. Of all the unreasonably prices places in Aspen, this is one of the least unreasonable. It's has one of the best locations. The pool and hot tubs aren't bad either. Depending on your customer requirements, that just might do it for you.

However, its got some drawbacks. The rooms are a bit dated. You can see some vestiges of the 70's lurking within their spot improvements. There's a good whiff of the dumpster when you sit near the previously mentioned hot tub. Finally, and worst of all, our place smelled like a kitty litter box.

Now, management did try to clean it up. They washed the carpet and put deodorant down, but then it just smelled like a spring fresh kitty litter box. I guess the previous occupants got a bit rowdy. Again, giving management credit, they did refund us for a partial day out of a 3 night visit.

Would I stay here again? Probably, but if I was entertaining someone with 5 star tastes, I'd look somewhere else.

Room Tip: One bedroom rooms are on the corners of the building. If they get rid of the kitty litter smell, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rat-ta-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarrenKlug, General Manager at Aspen Square Condominium Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We thank this guest for taking time to tell us of his stay experience. Thanks for the positive comments about our location, the propety overall and our guest service!

We were made aware of this guest's concerns with is room. Unfortunately, our carpet cleaning crew mis-scheduled and the carpets in this room were cleaned just before the guest arrival, and were not fully dry when they checked in. Unfortuntely too, we were absolutely full and unable to move the guest to another room, a step we would have taken in a minute if possible. We did all we could to remedy the situation, and we appreciated the guest's understanding and compliments to our maintenance crew. We also reduced the price on the guest's three-night stay. We take any complaints about our accommodations seriously, and we always do our best to respond to guest needs. We appreciate the guest input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This was our first time at Aspen Square but we will be back! Staff is exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Our room was cozy, well decorated and maintained and had all the amenities. Perfect view of town. The location is right in the center of town, with easy access to bus and gondola as well as restaurants and shopping. Nice pool area. Our only complaint was the small bed (we are used to a king at home). Beautiful property!

Room Tip: We were town facing, top floor and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristainco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I've been coming to Aspen for years, usually staying at someone's private home. For the first time this year, I am staying in a hotel for a week. We chose Aspen Square which is right square in the middle of town.... a block to Little Nell ski lift, a half block to City Market and easy walking to all the other attractions downtown (shopping, restaurants, Wheeler Opera House, etc.). The room is spacious, with a seating area, a nice kitchen with a full size fridge, a great bathroom with a tub and lots of storage so you can put all your clothes away, hang them up, etc. Service has been great and its very quiet right now. We're here in off-season, which is heavenly if you like quiet and lower prices in this beautiful spot on the planet! Aspen Square doesn't look impressive on the outside, but its cozy and comfortable on the inside. Did I mention it also has a wood burning fireplace and a balcony with a view of the mountains? Wow...

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the street have a view of Aspen Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren K, General Manager at Aspen Square Condominium Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thanks for the positive comments! They are appreciated. Aspen Square combines a great downtown location with comfortable condominium accommodations and friendly service -- and we are a great place to stay! Thanks for the input, and please come see us again!

Warren Klug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I've just returned to the UK after staying, for the second time in two years, at this excellent, centrally located hotel.

I couldn't have been greeted more warmly. The House Manager made a point of interrupting what she was doing to give me a big "Welcome Back" hug; the General Manager popped out for a chat and to say how glad he was to have me back, and the staff at the front desk were all smiles and grins. There was a nice, informal fruit and cheese reception on the Friday evening. Concierge service efficient and very friendly.

Despite its central location, the rooms were quiet and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. For this computer-less traveller, the two house computers (reserved for guest use) downstairs were an added bonus -- and how pleasant NOT to be charged for the service as Hilton (at least in the UK) delights in doing.

There's no restaurant, but Aspen Square is surrounded by cafes and other places to eat; there's a supermarket across the street, and the Butcher Block, also across the street, does excellent soup.

Will certainly be coming back!

Room Tip: Over the course of a week, I got to sample two different rooms -- both very well equipped and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just returned from a short but sweet trip to Aspen. We loved the 2 bedroom apartment style hotel with many amenities in our room as well as a waterfall pool and two hot tubs. Beautiful grounds
and great employees. Location was tremendous and from our balcony we could see the amazing mountain(gondola) and we were right in the village. Clean , very comfortable and room 119 was perfect for our family. Great kitchen and bath products were fantastic(including scrunchy) even make-up remover! Bag for grocery shopping- Aspen does not provide plastic bags at grocery store so Aspen Square has a reusable one. The store is on the same block. Totally loved our stay but hey hiking etc how bad can it be?!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 34 in Aspen
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Square Condominium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Square Condominium Hotel

Property: Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
Address: 617 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Square Condominium Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly across the street from Aspen Mountain's Silver Queen Gondola, the Aspen Square features comfortable fireplace studio suites and larger condominiums for nightly rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aspen Square Condominium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Square Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing