We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We changed our plan the last minute and decided to spend a day in Aspen. As it was the off season, we were able to book a room the day before through Expedia at a very good rate. We got room 401, a studio with a king bed. While I would not say it is newly renovated, it is not very outdated either. Thye room faces East Cooper Ave but we did not hear much noise, most likely because it was the off season and the area was not crowded at all. Pros: very friendly staff, the room provides nice touches here and there (like nice toiletries, sweets, tea and coffee, extra towels if needed etc), and a very comfortable bed. Most importantly the location is fantastic! We walked everywhere, and there is a supermarket across the street if you feel like cooking instead of eating out. Cons: there is only one elevator and it takes forever! The carpeting inside the elevator as well as on the 4th floor (and I assume the same for the rest of the building) needs to be replaced. The underground parking spaces are tight so it is not easy to get in and out. Overall though, we are very satisfied with our stay despite some drawbacks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything you can really ask for.

Free parking and wifi.
Studio room was a good size, full kitchen, and decor that you expect in aspen (cabin feel).
TV and audio systems were good. Lots of tv channels included

Only issue I had was with the blinds. The previous person pulled them up too far so the cords were too tight to release down. Had to push the blinds up to get some slack for the cords to work.

But other than that one issue this place is a great spot to stay and the value is about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed overnight just recently and we were very happy with the central location and generous size of the apartments. The only criticism is that some of the furniture in the room is too big, partially blocking doorways etc however I believe this is because each room is furnished by the owner etc. The staff were so friendly, highly recommended. Condos are dated however if you can look past this then it is excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renny_payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I like to watch a rugby festival every September in Aspen and last year decided to finally stay overnight to be able to enjoy some cocktails. I chose the Aspen Square solely for its downtown location, and was blown away at all it had to offer.

Packed into a regular sized hotel room was everything I have in my apartment. It offered a full sized kitchen, stocked with nice coffee and tea. The lovely bathroom was similarly stocked with especially nice toiletries. The condo included a living area, balcony, fireplace, and comfortable bed.

We weren't in the room much since we were there for the rugby, but the pool was really beautiful. We spent a couple hours there on Sunday morning under a beautiful blue Aspen sky. Classy green-granite finish, waterfall, great padded lounge chairs. Two hottubs.

I would certainly stay at Aspen Square anytime I was up there overnight, and would love to return to enjoy a full day at the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pool_Afficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have owned a home in Aspen for many years, but this month sold it. For the first time, we needed to stay at a hotel while visiting. I think this may become our home away from home in Aspen.
You must know that Aspen is expensive, not only for hotels, but hugely expensive to eat in the restaurants. The Aspen Square is all condos, from studio to 3 bedrooms, all individually owned and furnished. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen which can sure help a family beat the exhorbitant cost of dining out.
My wife and I stayed in a king studio with fireplace and balconey, #318, which overlooked the slopes on Aspen Mtn (Ajax as it is more properly called). This was a great accomodation complete with a full well equipped kitchen. The wood burning fireplace was nice, as was the balcony with chairs, and the deep Jacuzzi style bath tub.
One special aspect of this hotel is the very central location in the heart of Aspen. The hotel actually occupies a complete city block about 1/2 block from the base of the gondola. The bottom floor has some retail, but also some of the larger units. Because it is a block in all, there is central courtyard which has room for a lovely courtyard with chairs, tables, a very nice pool, loungers, and hot tubs; it is quite lovely and private and a major amenity in space conscious downtown Aspen. Also there is off street and indoor basement level parking included with the condo which is unheard of in Aspen, where one can easily spend $30 a night to valet park your car elsewhere.
Our unit was beautifully furnished with a sparkling granite bathroom. I think the photos on their website do justice to the place.
As we were in "mud season" (or spring off season), the rate was very reasonable and we extended another night at an even better discounted rate. The entrance is right across Cooper St from Mezzaluna Restaurant which is a favorite.
Knowing Aspen as well as we do, I don't think you can go wrong in this hotel. If a particular unit is not to your liking, remember each is individually owned and decorated so ask to see another. This is why the website photos are not of cookie cutter rooms, but rather reflective of the owners' own tastes. We will see you up there for the Music Festival this summer!

Room Tip: some of the units have better views of Ajax ski mountain, ask the staff.. they are very accomdating...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denverrjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed on a last-minute trip over for the weekend. Was happily surprised at the larger than expected studio unit with king bed, queen sleeper, and ample kitchen. Modern white finishes, fireplace, walk-in shower, and even a balcony to take in the free concert downtown!

All employees were very attentive, unit was very clean, nice pool area.

BEST of all, just steps to the gondola.

If I have the opportunity to ski Aspen again, I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ski_bum_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here with my girl at end of Feb. I was familiar with this hotel primarily because of its location but what also sold me was that it had a fireplace. Service was good, housekeeping excellent and the rooms were nice. I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 36 in Aspen
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Square Condominium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Square Condominium Hotel

Address: 617 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: £124 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Square Condominium Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly across the street from Aspen Mountain's Silver Queen Gondola, the Aspen Square features comfortable fireplace studio suites and larger condominiums for nightly rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aspen Square Condominium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Square Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing