We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traditional Ski Lodge with Some Updates and Wonderful Staff”
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Traditional Ski Lodge with Some Updates and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have stayed at the Durant several times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated and cozy, but the location, amenities, affordability and the staff make the place work. Updates include a new deck and hot tub. A very nice continental breakfast is included in the rate. If you want to visit Aspen, and leave with your wallet intact, give the Durant a try.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed, book a balcony room with a fabulous view of Ajax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProRecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    43
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
58
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to Aspen to see Chris Isaac at the Belly Up. We stayed two nights. The room was quaint and comfortable. The staff was great! Friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was great! Excellent coffee, delicious pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. Very nicely done. The only drawback was PARKING!! Parking in Aspen is like trying to park an RV on the streets of New York City! We drove for hours before finally lucking out! Parking is a BIG problem, which is the only drawback to this lovely small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel guarantees you a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked a what was called "junior suite" at Durant, because it was the only room available for the weekend. Obviously, i was deceived by the type of the room, because it turned out to be on a basement level. It was very cold at night, so we decided to lit a fireplace. Didn't go so well because the wood, provided by the hotel, was damp. Hot tub is literally a bucket with water on the porch.The location is nice though, very close to downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms 110-118 are on the basement level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDurant, Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We have 5 rooms on the lower garden (basement) level. 4 of them are Standard rooms and the other is our Mini Suite Fireplace.

I wish you would have let us know you were having trouble getting a fire going. We would have been happy to help you.

Our hot tub is a brand new 2013 Jacuzzi (J365) premium model. Hot tub capacity is 7 people.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I booked reservations with this hotel for a solo bike trip. I had to cancel due to family obligations. Despite canceling 3 weeks ahead of my reservation, they were going to charge me the full amount (for 2 days stay). If you cancel with less than 30 days notice, they will charge you the full amount of your booked stay. With some complaining, I was able to get them to only charge me for 1 day. When I do go to Aspen, I won't stay here!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Hotel Durant is great! You are within walking distance from downtown. The hotel, like most others in Aspen, are small but tremendously enjoyable. Staff was helpful and informative. Will definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This past weekend, we hiked from Crested Butte to Aspen on a 7+ hour hike and the last 45 minutes of our hike was in rain, hail and lightening, but the wildflowers were beyond spectacular! We checked in to the Hotel Durant looking forward to a hot shower, but instead got hot water and then cold. Ug! Our room was so tiny that to get in the bed, my husband had to climb in from the bottom and I had to turn sideways to make it into the bed. We had to sleep on the very edges of the queen size bed, otherwise we would roll into each other - cheap mattress. The carpet was filthy with stains, the furniture chipped and the bathroom small. We complained to the management the next morning and he told us the carpet stains just happened and the mattress was new - what a lie! If they had been pleasant and honest with us, I would not be writing such a scathing report. We had encouraged friends to stay there and their experience was identical to ours. The only positive was the location and the gal when we checked in was delightful. But, other places are available at the same prices. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkjkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDurant, Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Rkjkey,

We are sorry that your experience at our hotel was not positive.

Unfortunately, yes there was a stain on the carpet in your room. We were aware of it had already had a professional carpet cleaner attempt to remove it with no success. The following Monday the stain was cut out and replaced with new carpet.

After double checking our records, we can verify that our mattresses were purchased towards the the end of 2010. While they are not brand new, they are newer. We feel that they are of high quality and were certainly not cheap.

We take great pride in treating all of our guests with with courtesy and politeness.

We are sorry that you felt we were not being honest and pleasant with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June for two nights. Great location , can park here and walk any where else in Aspen. I found Brian and Linen to be very helpfull. This was the third time we stayed here. Comp breckfast here too was very nice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgePol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing