We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights over New Year in two rooms on the third floor in this newly renovated Hotel. Very fresh and nice (a tiny bathroom in one of the rooms, but not a big deal).
Location is perfect, a short walking distance to the main Ski Shuttle Bus Station. In the afternoon all Ski Buses stop at Lift 1 in "Aspen Mountain" which is right in front of the Hotel.
A continental breakfast is included with fresh bread and cakes from the bakery, and complementary wine, cheese and cookies in the afternoon.
Cynthia and Brian were welcoming, super friendly and very helpful to us.
I truly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    40
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
55
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Refurbished in December 2013, the hotel is presented at a very high standard. Location in our view is unbeatable, close to restaurants, bus stop and a short walk to the gondola, but in a very quiet spot. Service was terrific - thank you especially to Daniel, Cynthia and Brian - and we found the stay to be excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one on second and one on third, both were just refurbished to an excellent standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLW_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

They have fully renovated the hotel inside and outside. Really fantastic job guys! New rooms, new lobby, new jacuzzi just all is new and really remodeled with an eye for the details.
Complementary happy hour wine and cheese and a really good breakfast as well as
the warm welcome and friendliness of the employees contribute to just a fantastic stay the week before xmas.
Highly recommend to book this hotel if you are looking for an amazing experience in Aspen - almost impossible to get a higher value for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
490 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would have given this hotel an EXCELLENT rating if not for the out-dated-ness...WHICH is going away.....renovations started the day we left!!

First of all, we booked this hotel for a JUNE date, and had to cancel. Despite the 'no-refund' policy, Brian told us we could use our deposits towards a future stay.,,,,which we did. He then bent over backwards to fit us in on the last night, AND even upgraded our rooms!

The gal upon arrival was so friendly and knowledgeable, and our rooms were fine! What is soooo great about this hotel:

Location, location, location...........walking distance to EVERYTHING!!!!
Beds were comfy, everything worked, fabulous shower (albeit bathroom a bit small, but???)
Didn't try the outside Jacuzzi, but others were enjoying it.
Rooms with balcony had great balconies...new, trex, with lots of room.
NOT pretentious....just down-home GOOD!

In the morning, spent some time talking with another staff member..........again super-friendly, and knowledgeable!

I would go back to this place AGAIN and AGAIN! I never met Brian, owner, but everyone had great things to say about him, as well. I can't wait to see their renovations, and visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have stayed at the Durant several times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated and cozy, but the location, amenities, affordability and the staff make the place work. Updates include a new deck and hot tub. A very nice continental breakfast is included in the rate. If you want to visit Aspen, and leave with your wallet intact, give the Durant a try.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed, book a balcony room with a fabulous view of Ajax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProRecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to Aspen to see Chris Isaac at the Belly Up. We stayed two nights. The room was quaint and comfortable. The staff was great! Friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was great! Excellent coffee, delicious pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. Very nicely done. The only drawback was PARKING!! Parking in Aspen is like trying to park an RV on the streets of New York City! We drove for hours before finally lucking out! Parking is a BIG problem, which is the only drawback to this lovely small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel guarantees you a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked a what was called "junior suite" at Durant, because it was the only room available for the weekend. Obviously, i was deceived by the type of the room, because it turned out to be on a basement level. It was very cold at night, so we decided to lit a fireplace. Didn't go so well because the wood, provided by the hotel, was damp. Hot tub is literally a bucket with water on the porch.The location is nice though, very close to downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms 110-118 are on the basement level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDurant, Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We have 5 rooms on the lower garden (basement) level. 4 of them are Standard rooms and the other is our Mini Suite Fireplace.

I wish you would have let us know you were having trouble getting a fire going. We would have been happy to help you.

Our hot tub is a brand new 2013 Jacuzzi (J365) premium model. Hot tub capacity is 7 people.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#13 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing