We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Culver City, California
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My friends and I have been staying at this hotel the same week each year for the past five years. This last visit during the week right before Christmas was made even better with the surprise of a newly renovated hotel. They did an amazing job updating and modernizing the place! Outside, a brand new deck and Jacuzzi (which we were the first to use). Inside, the contemporary, but still very comfortable furnishings in the lobby lounge and breakfast areas kept me inside two days out of eight just reading and hanging out. The bedrooms are fitted with both tasteful and practical touches. Adding storage under the super cozy beds was genius!!

The renovations are great, but what makes this a home away from home is the attitude of the staff. Brian and everyone there are amazing; warm, welcoming, and always willing to go out of their way to help. The continental breakfast and wine and cheese hour during winter a plus!

Add to this the value and location and this hotel can't be beat! I will continue to go back when visiting Aspen with friends.

Please note that the photos of the hotel on the date of this review are pre-renovation and don't do the place justice any longer. Hopefully they will update them soon!

Room Tip: Loved my upstairs room with a balcony and view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    40
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
55
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during Christmas week. WHAT A LOVELY SURPRISE! A last minute oasis for a much needed rest. In the heart of town, walk to everything! The room was ABSOLUTE perfection. I had a view of the mountains from my balcony. My room was exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable. The shower was perfect and clean as a whistle. The linens are high quality, as well as the pillows. I did NOT want to leave!
Everyone was welcoming and the continental breakfast was perfect with many choices.
Oh, yeah...there is a fireplace in the lobby with a crackling fire, wine in the afternoons and a hot tub (which I sadly did not partake of)...great place will definitely GO BACK SOON!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Seven months before our trip we booked, through Expedia, a room with two double beds at the Hotel Durant. In the month before we went, we re-visited the booking and added a second room so that we all had our own bed. Just as well we did, as on arrival we found we had been allocated a King Bed in one room and a queen room in another, far from what was originally bought. I appreciate that the allocation is at the Hotels discretion, but why would we buy a room with two double beds? Simple, we had 2 adults and two small children and 1 adult planned with i child in each. The hotel was recently fully renovated and is really suited for couples, not children. The phones were like a prop on a set, not connected. The Hotel suited our needs and was comfortable et cetera with a basic free breakfast and a small spa on the deck. The only tip I would make would be to confirm the bedding configuration required and make it a condition of the booking, then ask for a confirmation to be sent to you. At about $300 per night, per room, they could have at least informed us what allocation had been made.

Room Tip: Have the hotel confirm your bedding configuration ( if it matters to you). The higher floors (not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights over New Year in two rooms on the third floor in this newly renovated Hotel. Very fresh and nice (a tiny bathroom in one of the rooms, but not a big deal).
Location is perfect, a short walking distance to the main Ski Shuttle Bus Station. In the afternoon all Ski Buses stop at Lift 1 in "Aspen Mountain" which is right in front of the Hotel.
A continental breakfast is included with fresh bread and cakes from the bakery, and complementary wine, cheese and cookies in the afternoon.
Cynthia and Brian were welcoming, super friendly and very helpful to us.
I truly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Refurbished in December 2013, the hotel is presented at a very high standard. Location in our view is unbeatable, close to restaurants, bus stop and a short walk to the gondola, but in a very quiet spot. Service was terrific - thank you especially to Daniel, Cynthia and Brian - and we found the stay to be excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one on second and one on third, both were just refurbished to an excellent standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLW_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

They have fully renovated the hotel inside and outside. Really fantastic job guys! New rooms, new lobby, new jacuzzi just all is new and really remodeled with an eye for the details.
Complementary happy hour wine and cheese and a really good breakfast as well as
the warm welcome and friendliness of the employees contribute to just a fantastic stay the week before xmas.
Highly recommend to book this hotel if you are looking for an amazing experience in Aspen - almost impossible to get a higher value for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
491 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would have given this hotel an EXCELLENT rating if not for the out-dated-ness...WHICH is going away.....renovations started the day we left!!

First of all, we booked this hotel for a JUNE date, and had to cancel. Despite the 'no-refund' policy, Brian told us we could use our deposits towards a future stay.,,,,which we did. He then bent over backwards to fit us in on the last night, AND even upgraded our rooms!

The gal upon arrival was so friendly and knowledgeable, and our rooms were fine! What is soooo great about this hotel:

Location, location, location...........walking distance to EVERYTHING!!!!
Beds were comfy, everything worked, fabulous shower (albeit bathroom a bit small, but???)
Didn't try the outside Jacuzzi, but others were enjoying it.
Rooms with balcony had great balconies...new, trex, with lots of room.
NOT pretentious....just down-home GOOD!

In the morning, spent some time talking with another staff member..........again super-friendly, and knowledgeable!

I would go back to this place AGAIN and AGAIN! I never met Brian, owner, but everyone had great things to say about him, as well. I can't wait to see their renovations, and visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#13 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing