We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful affordable place”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful affordable place”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

perfect location, affordable and clean and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnasserj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Drnasserj,

Thanks so much for your nice coments, we really enjoyed having you and we look forward to your next stay with us in Aspen!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    184
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
129
217
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel Aspen, thinking this place was really nice. The location is great; however, the rooms are small, and you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to you. The pictures of the hotel are fabulous online, but are not a good representation of the hotel in reality. The hotel brags about the new pool...where is it? If the pool is such a big deal, then why is it not promoted within the facility? I am extremely disappointed in the lack of sound barrier throughout the hotel. This was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Shelly 6988,

Fist, my apologies to you if any of your stay was not up to your expectations,. While I appreciate your comments and will do everything I can to ensure your satisfaction I would like to clarify a couple items in your review. All of the photography on our website and advertising is 100% genuine and not enhanced in any way. Also, our pool and spa area occupies almost a third of our entire property and was completely renovated last summer. The pool is located centrally on the property and our lobby and breakfast area both overlook the pool area, It is clearly shown on the hotel information sheet given to each guest at check in. I'm disappointed you could not find it easily and were unable to enjoy it..

While it is true that we are a small iBoutique lodging experience and the intimacy of the hotel is generally well received by our guests, I again apologize if you did not find it to your taste.

I greatly appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns,

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Hotel Aspen was great! We spent two nights here, and enjoyed a warm, fairly hearty free breakfast, watched a couple of free DVDs, and were very happy that our loyal companion (our dog) was able to join us. The rooms were pretty big--we had two queens plus a little sitting area with a table, and a kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and sink. The bedding was pretty nice with the comforter covers that are made of sheet material so they can be washed easily. My only complaint was that the beds themselves weren't very comfortable. I found them to be a bit hard for my liking, but if you like a firm mattress, then you should be ok.

The location is great, so close to downtown Aspen with all of the shops and restaurants, and although we went in the fall, it is very close to the ski mountain as well. They also have a heated pool and hot tub, which is so nice for apres ski!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtravelerDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear avidtraveller DM,

Thanks so much for your review and feedback, we appreciate it! We do offer Serta luxury double pillow top mattresses and many of our guests comment on their comfort, but I apologize if you did not find them to your taste. The sheet material you mention is 300 thread count Egyptian cotton and we use 100% hypoallergenic down in our duvets and pillows. We hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future.

Thanks again,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We spent two nights here this fall. The staff is friendly and helpful with info on food, hiking, activities,etc. They remember your name, accomodate your needs. I love the remodel--it has a contemporary feel and as others have said, the beds are great. Michael at the front desk is a doll!

Room Tip: pool side was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbtgfdapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Gbtgfdapple,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and great feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll make sure Michael get's recognized for his great service. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed at The Hotel Aspen recently for 5 nights. The newly updated room was very nice!!!! The beds were actually more comfortable than our own!!! Full breakfast was a big plus and was very good! The pool and patio are beautiful! The staff very helpful and friendly! Located within walking distance of downtown was also a plus...............I can't rave enough about this place. We had a great stay at reasonable prices!!! Thank you sooo much!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Judie P,

You are sooooo welcome! We're glad that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay, we'll look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Aspen!

Thanks,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is located a few blocks from the pedestiran mall in easy walking distance. Located right off of Highway 82 and free parking makes it very nice. The layout is not what I expected, the hotel is garden style with your room door opening to the outside elements. The decor was very classy and my girlfriend and I both agree that we've never slept on a more comfortable hotel bed... it even beats our bed at home! The room we stayed in (121) was set up like a studio apartment with a small kitchen and closet. The bathroom has been remodeled and looks great, the counter top is a little big for the bathroom size though, the door nearly hits it. The free breakfast was also the best I've ever seen at a hotel in this price range. You get more than you pay for here.

Room Tip: I would choose a room located along the inside courtyard, they're best sheltered from the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toneslider12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Toneslider12,

Thanks for your great comments and feedback, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Definitely adequate for a base if you are going to be out most of the time. It's older but had a recent facelift with paint and new beds and carpets. There's no getting away from the thin walls and dated motel architecture. Air conditioning is a noisy machine in the wall. Pool looks nice but is right next to the main road over the fence. It is very central but ask for a room away from the street or you will be staring out on the sidewalk from your bed. If you don't want to spend 'Aspen $'s' for something more 'Ritzy' then this will do just fine. I was expecting better so won't be back at this spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Palm Pirate,

Thanks so much for your candid review and feedback, we certainly appreciate the time you took to write.

Our many, many positive reviews should demonstrate to Tripadvisor readers that Hotel Aspen presents a tremendous value in an expensive area of the world, Granted we are not the "Ritz", but we have spent close to a million dollars updateing our entire hotel and our prices are usually less than half of our 4 diamond competitors. We include a full breakfast, complimentary wireless, free parking and complimentary airport transportation. All of our A/C units are brand new, and every guest room, the entire exterior and pool area have completely renovated. While some properties may have a more secluded location most of our guests appreciate our great central location that is walking distance to everything that Aspen has to offer.

Thanks again, and safe travels.

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing