We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Family Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Aspen this past weekend. As a family of 4 (two adults, two toddlers) finding an affordable and nice hotel in Aspen was important to us. I booked online (and saved money) so I knew I had the affordable part down (some hotels in Aspen are over $300 night and we got this hotel for $120 night). When we arrived, the girl at the front desk was swamped but very friendly to us. She even upgraded our room upon request to a more suitable room with a better view (and had the pack/n/play immediately moved over). We very much appreciated her level of service and obvious customer service skills. Unfortunately, our other dealings at the front desk were with a very unfriendly and rude man. Both interactions with him left us feeling slighted. Too bad the young girl didnt work more often. However the rest of our stay was nice. The hotel has a heated pool and our toddlers enjoyed that a great deal. The contenential breakfast was very nice - cereals, toasts, donuts, as well as, hot foods like eggs, bacon, and waffles. The room itself had a great view off of the balcony. The hotel is a bit old but the room overall was nice. The bed however was way too soft. And feather pillows only. Oh and it had a window air conditioner - noisy. Remember, this is a $120/night room - dont expect the Ritz. However it does have a fridge and microwave. So all in all we'd come back and stay in this hotel again. Its a great deal for Aspen. Plus there's a nice park right behind the hotel - perfect for young kids.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor - we were in room 323 and the views are great from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Rillin,

Thank you so much for the detailed and balanced feedback. While I am pleased that you had an overall pleasant experience I do aapologize if any interaction with my staff was less than expected. I will share your feedback with my team and use it as a training tool to better our guest service. I hope that you will consider us for your travels on a future stay in Aspen.

Regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    178
    55
    23
    9
See reviews for
119
211
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Zion,Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Aspen and we would highly recommend it. Noel and Kyle were always helpful and always had a smile on their faces whenever we were around. They had great advice on what to do or where to eat and also in giving us directions around the area. If ever in the area again we definitly would stay here.Noel and Kyle each deserve a pat on the back for their excellent service.They are the reason for the excellent ratings. I would also like to say that the staff in the breakfast bar and the cleaning service also deserve kudos for jobs well done.This hotel is clean and the breakfasts leave you stuffed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hi Donita C,

I appreciate the time you took to write your review and leave such nice comments, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to catch up with you on your next visit!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We came out to Aspen to have a relaxing get-away over the long weekend. This hotel certainly helped make our trip a pleasant one. We were in a King Delux room on the 3d floor - very quiet and no noise from neighbors or traffic. Our balcony was on the back of the building and private with an excellent view of the mountains. Parking was free and plentiful during this time of year, and the hot tub and poolside were very enjoyable. Breakfast was fine - we had an issue having food re-stocked one morning, but otherwise the food was good and there were a lot of choices. We had consistent internet connectivity, which helped us meet business obligations while we were away from the flagpole. The bed was comfortable, and the bedding was high quality. We could walk everywhere downtown, and were able to have access to several trailheads for hiking. We will certainly stay here again next time we come out to Aspen.

Room Tip: Ask for room 328 - delux king room set apart from all others. You will have a private balcony, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Nattitude,

Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. Come back and visit again soon!

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Everything perfect, good service; clean big rooms. Hot tub in balcony is just awesome. Location is 5 mins walk from mail shopping area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Szak5,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we hope you come back and see us soon!

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Aspen from December 19-23, 2011. The hotel rooms were comfortable and affordable. The hotel is conveniently located on the bus lines to all the slopes and a few minutes walking to downtown Aspen. The hotel served hot and cold foods for both breakfast and apress and beer & wine during apres ski hours. The hot tub next to the pool was excellent after a day of sking. We would definitely stay again the next time we're in Aspen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear June L,

Thank you so much for your positive review and reccomendation. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you're looking for a well-located pet-friendly hotel that doesn't charge a fortune in Aspen - look no further. The Hotel Aspen is a few blocks from all the action . We were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely pool area with a nice clean hot tub. Apres ski spread was nice with hot wings, a variety of cheeses and free beer and wine. Breakfast was hot and varied - everything from pastries to eggs, sausage and potatoes. The view of the ski slopes from the Breakfast room was awesome! Our room was modern and crisply clean and the helpful service was much appreciated.
Our pup's "needs" were fulfilled by a nice park across the street - complete with doggy clean up bags (thanks to the City of Aspen for that!) and the Rio Grande Trail was a short walk from the property.
We'll definitely keep the Hotel Aspen on our "favorites" and look forward to returning next summer.

Room Tip: There's no elevator to the 2nd floor so keep that in mind if you are travelling with a pet that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear StevenDenise,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am so pleased you had a great time with us and took advantage of all of our wonderful amenities. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Aspen!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Returning for the 2nd year because of an excellent all-round experience. We experienced an issue, not of the hotel's making, which was very rapidly and appropriately dealt with by the General Manager. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for allowing us to work with you to insure a great stay with us, and for the time you spent sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We look forward to your next (and 3rd) vist with us!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.0 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing