We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep in your car instead!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sleep in your car instead!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have been traveling to Aspen, Colorado for a decade. This is the worst hotel in Aspen in my opinion. The room was dark and dank. The mattress was so saggy and soft it was like sleeping in a hammock. The air-conditioner was so loud it kept me awake whenever it clicked on during the night. The breakfast offered was inedible. I will say the staff tried their best when I made a specific request (like shampoo etc.), but that was the only good point. I checked out as soon as I could the next day. I travel a great deal in the U.S. and overseas. This was one of the worst places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Evelyn C,

I appreciate your candid feedback and I am truly sorry if your stay was not satisfactory. I am disappointed that i could not assist you in person while you were with us, but I would appreciate an opportunity to try and make things right for you. Please feel free to contact me at jeff.bay@hotelaspen.com and I will personally address your concerns.

Regards, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    179
    56
    23
    9
See reviews for
122
211
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was very disappointed when we arrived. The hotel was updated at some point as you can see in the pictures they provide online photos to make it look a much nicer.The room was very dark and depressing . If you are traveling with a family of 4 the rooms are not equip for it. Bathroom is very small and the kitchenette was not function-able. Refrigerator was to small to put small bottles of waters. They do not have elevators. Breakfast was ok. I found it to be overprice and very disappointing. Unfortunately we pre-paid for 3 nights when I expressed my disappointment to the management and asked to leave early and be refunded they said no. We left anyway and lost 300.00 I find this very unethical as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dao O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Dao O,

I appreciate your candid feedback and I am truly sorry if your stay was not satisfactory. I am disappointed that i could not assist you in person while you were with us, but I would appreciate an opportunity to try and make things right for you. Please feel free to contact me at jeff.bay@hotelaspen.com and I will personally address your concerns.

Regards, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed there for a week, while I was in Aspen for a conference (and some skiing).

The rooms are very nice and clean, but the hotel is extremely overpriced otherwise. The staff cannot deal with any unexpected situations (like having to print a paper bill). The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aspen on May 31, 2014. The hotel is very clean and just a couple blocks from the heart of downtown. We asked the staff for recommendations for dinner and activities that could include our 15 month old. They were more then happy to help. The complimentary breakfast did not disappoint either. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms at Hotel Aspen are very nice. I have stayed at this hotel twice for summer business trips. The staff helped move boxes and assisted with taking deliveries. The rooms are a good size, the bed is super comfortable. The bathroom is VERY small but it is nice to have a mini-fridge in the room. The pool is very nice. Breakfast is included and has a wide variety of good food. It isn't located in the heart of Aspen but it is only a short, easy walk away. Free parking is nice as well. Good hotel, good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Aspen April 1 2014 for four nights. It worked great for me and exceeded my expectations. It was affordable which is rare for Aspen and they really took care of us. On my arrival at Aspen airport, the airport greeter phoned them and had them send their free car to pick me within minutes. The friendly driver told me of the hotel amenities and needed info for commuting to skiing. On arrival he told me to skip check in and go up to the common room above the lobby to catch the end of apres hour and get a free drink and some food. That was great, I was starved and it was an unexpected treat and great welcome. When I was done they'd already put my bags in my room. I had one of the 4 budget room on the ground floor facing the side street and at first I wasn't thrilled with that spot but it worked out great as it was quiet and so convenient not having to carry my skis and boots more than a few yards to whole trip, nor up any stairs. The common room was a great meeting spot for me and my other family members who were in another room in the pet-friendly area. There was a hot breakfast in that room each morning and the morning news on a big tv. it was a great way and place to start and end the day, I went to breakfast early in my pjs and stared with my morning coffee, then on to my oatmeal, the news, meeting my family, talking with other skiers, looking at the beautiful view and fireplace, Same at apres - free wine, beer and plenty of food including hot entree and homemade chocolate chip cookies everyday. I felt like I was sort of in a B&B on the European meal plan! Great way to return from skiing, eat sometihing, relax, socialize, and not feel pressured to hurry out every night for an overpriced dinner in downtown Aspen. The place is not fancy but yet upscale. It looks like they took an old motel and added a nice lobby and common area. the rooms were about best western size but totally renovated by some tasteful detail oriented persons who put in plush big beds with great linens, towels, totally tricked out bathrooms, great tvs, full cable and wifi in rooms. Rooms had older kitchenette with mini refrig, sink and micrwave and Coffeepot daily stocked with coffee, All in all, .just what was needed. No way can you best the location, two blocks from the main drag of downtown, and ski shuttles right on the corner of the building, arriving every few minutes. You couldn't ask for a more comfy stay in Aspen. But, I'm not the type who needs big name frills and pampering, just good value, convenience, comfort and some snacks! Centerpiece of the hotel was a sparkling heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi which most of rooms looked out on. Nice apres experience there too.I'll be back next time. If the managers and staff are reading, thank you for a great stay, and thanks for the snow!!! I was expecting winter in April, but you provided it!!! Eden M.

Room Tip: I noticed there were some with enclosed patios. I'd probably for one of those next time. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and the staff was very helpful. Someone helped us with our bags. We used their wifi. They gave us directions to a couple places. Like the hotel and check in on Facebook for freebies in town. Microwave and fridge and newly renovated room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Dear Chris D,

Thanks for letting us know that we're doing a great job, hopefully next time it will be even better!

Regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing