We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall, great experience”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We loved the location of Hotel Aspen, right in downtown within walking distance to restaurants and shops. The breakfast and apres' ski wine and cheese was fabulous, the great room had a wonderful view of Aspen mountain and a cozy fireplace. Great hot tub and pool and the hotel was clean. The free shuttle to Snowmass was convenient, quick, and picked us up right outside the hotel. Our only complaint was the temperature in our room. When we arrived, our room was very cold, it seemed that the heat wasn't on at all. And then, after they turned on the heat, it got so hot at night that we had to open the window and even the door to get some air into the room. It felt like a sauna. And there wasn't anyone at the front desk to help us. So we barely slept that night, which is not a good feeling. When we mentioned it to the person at the desk in the morning, they seemed indifferent. We still loved our stay, and would go back to Hotel Aspen, but I would ask about heating issues before we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skigirlMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

Located maximum 100 meters away from the free shuttles buses to any Aspen ski area, this hotel is great value for a skiing family. 5 of us fit comfortably into a Fireplace suite. The downsides: lack of drying facilities for ski boots and equipment and some noice from Main Street (not in bedrom). Beyond that; go for this hotel! We would go again. Spacious room, great breakfast, warm swimming pool and steaming hot tub, separate ski lockers, friendly and service oriented staff, walking distance from shops and restaurants for our 6-year old, and walking distance from lifts for our teenagers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LargefamilyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The bed was very comfy, room was clean, TV was quality, and it was nice to have the mini fridge, microwave, and sink / kitchen space. There local grocery store, which is like a mini Whole Foods, is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There is also a pharmacy a couple of blocks away. Great location. The ski shuttles to Snowmass, Buttermilk, Highlands stop right in front of the hotel. Unlike another poster, I was very satisfied with the apres ski buffet. No, they didn't serve Veuve Cliquot and baked brie, but there was a good selection of food (cheese, veggies, nachos, fruit, etc.) and drink (beer, along with 3 or four varietals of Yellow Tail wine). The breakfast buffet also had a lot to choose from, from waffles to cereal. A typical continental breakfast. I didn't go in the pool or hot tub, but they looked very inviting. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, and I appreciated that since I was traveling alone. The only 2 negative comments I have were that I could hear the people upstairs in the morning when they were clonking around in their ski boots, and the complementary hotel shuttle was not available to take me to the airport at 5:45 am. The front desk associate called me a taxi, and the driver was late and charged me a ridiculous fare. I would definitely stay there, but make sure to call your own taxi if you have to leave early for the airport!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
Thank Yogini8PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. In the last few years, they re-decorated the rooms and raised the rates a bit. The hotel is a good value for Aspen if you can get a reasonable rate (we paid $211) but it really is a budget hotel. The location is good--about 3 blocks down main street from the Jerome Hotel. You can walk into town which is a plus because parking is scarce in Aspen. The beds were comfortable but our room was looking tired and the safe, heat lamp and bathtub drain were broken. We skipped complimentary breakfast and apres ski spread because of the quality (lots of carbohydrates and salty food) but for a family on a budget it would be nice. The bed and linens were comfortable. I would also look at the Aspen Meadows which is often around the same price but not in walking distance to town. The rooms are larger and the setting is nicer. But if you want a comfortable bed in a decent location (on the edge of town) this is a good option.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The photographer for their website is amazing as this place isn't nearly as nice as the photos would lead you to believe. It's really an old school motel that got a little face lift with nice beds, good sheets, bathrobes and some flat screen televisions. If the price had been better, we'd have had no issues, but at $300 a night plus stupid charges like "resort fee" - really? We just felt that we had substantially overpaid for what we got.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2010

Dear Pamelai7,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for taking the time to let everyone know of your experiences. We at Hotel Aspen take great pride in our hotel and take your feedback seriously. We have spent over one million dollars in improvements at the Hotel Aspen in the last 2 years including complete guest bathroom renovations, carpeting, paint, new furniture, flat screen LCD TV's and DVD players, I Pod alarm clocks, new mattresses and luxurious high thread count linen. In addition, we also feature daily full breakfast, daily Après Ski reception with appetizers, beer and wine, wireless Internet access, private airport transportation, 3 daily newspapers, ski lockers, organic coffee and tea, pool and hot tub, all of which are included in the nominal 3% resort fee. We feel this is an excellent value for our guests and is far above what our competitors offer.

You also mentioned that you felt the rate you paid was not equitable to the product received, but a quick rate comparison of hotels in the Aspen area for a similar room in March shows us to be at least 20% less than almost any other hotel that offers as many amenities and features.

Again, thanks for your comments and we will endeavor to take these into consideration as we make even more improvements to our hotel and guest service in the future.
Best regards,
Jeff Bay C.H.A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The room was very nice, we had a separate little living room which was great for getting your ski gear on or off without messing up the room. The dark wood floors added a sophisticated element and mini kitchen was a great plus. The breakfast & après ski was much more than I could of expected- delish! The staff was uber friendly & helpful and they set up an unbelievable day of dog sledding on our behalf. I can't say enough about the location; the buses to the different mountains are directly in front of the building and hotel is directly in town. Everything was so easy and I will be back every year. Big thumbs up. Thanks go to Hotel Aspen for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The staff at the front desk are helpful, the location of the hotel to downtown is nice. That's the good news. The breakfast is weak at best, the breakfast staff is not very friendly, and not service oriented. The bedrooms are poorly lit and difficult to control the temperature. Not a terrible place, but it's definately weak. I wouldn't recommend it to friends and the next time we go to Aspen we'll be sure to find a better place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMaker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: £99 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing