We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Luxury Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Summer Luxury Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent a long weekend with my girlfriend at The Sky Hotel in Aspen. This was probably the nicest / coolest hotel that I have ever booked (I felt right at home there), the place has a great location right off of downtown, a block from the gondola and near non-paid parking. I'll come right out and say it.... you are going to pay good money to stay here, and the rooms might be a bit small (but if you are staying in the room you are missing the point of being in Aspen).
What made my stay want to endorse this hotel was the customer service, from the amazingly attentive concierge (who will help book your trips/dinners and have a schedule for you upon checking in) to the cleaners who not only make your bed in the morning but will have made it again at night! The hotel itself is quite interesting, awesome hot tub, DJs, wine nights, and a really good restaurant (also quite expensive, but get the tacos if you go). If you are going to stay here, don't look for the value as 400/night is pretty steep, just think of treating yourself for a nice vacation (a really really nice vacation) as this is exactly what this hotel will give you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    142
    66
    36
    36
See reviews for
68
178
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a very well run property. The proximity to the lift is fantastic. All of the employees were great. The use of bikes for free was a real treat. The only reason that I did not give this hotel 5 stars is that the room sizes are on the small side. I met the owners and they appear to genuinely care about their guests. All of this made for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbonsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in Aspen, CO at the Sky Hotel for 2 nights for our 1 year Anniversary. The hotel is in a great location in Aspen.
We had requested a mountain view room on an upper floor of the hotel. We also requested for no additional charge a bottle of wine for celebration. All these accomodations were met by the Sky Hotel, which was very nice. The only bad thing about the requests was that a "mountain view" wasn't exactly a good view (you could only see Aspen mountain standing on the corner of the balcony).
The lobby is nice. The rooms are VERY small. They need to do some updates on things. walking through the halls/room/stairwell/elevator, I was noticing that all of the woodwork was painted over and looked as though there were 20 layers of paint (kind of looked tacky and cheap). The bathrooms need an update, they were all white with come blue accents and looked very plain.
The 39 degree lounge was nicely decorated. We were not impressed with the drinks and food. Our burger was very underdone, the pretzel was hard, etc. We tried multiple things and were all dissapointing. It took servers a long time to get to us and round again with only about 10 people in the bar.
The staff was nice and attentive. Not much staff around when we were there.
Summary:
We just felt that the overall, general experience we had was disappointing for spending $400 a night. We had never been to Aspen before and expected more. We went and had drinks and ate all over town that weekend and The Little Nell, Hotel Jerome, St. Regis was what we expected of Aspen, and Sky Hotel fell short all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen198484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Staff couldn't have been nicer, but then there was the noise from the delivery trucks. Lovely wine tasting and nibbles in lobby at 5 pm, but then there was the screen door that kept falling off its track. Good sized suite but the desk was in the bedroom, not the sitting room.You have to like or ignore the bizarre décor. I agree with reviewer who suggested getting a room on the mountain/Little Nell side of the street. Basic location on E. Durant is very convenient; right in town.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that face Spring Street or the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not aware of it except that towels could be re-used. Very dog friendly, however.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueeMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small but well appointed. Staff was excellent, great pool bar and all of our meals were good. Free bikes if you want to bike, and the location is as good as it gets. Would stay here again for the staff alone. Thanks Sky!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chandler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Great location! Great value! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Love that they are pet friendly. Within walking distance to downtown shopping area and the pet friendly silver queen gondola. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slag_jme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a harrowing time reaching Aspen with missed connections and lost luggage but the people at Sky went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. They gave us unlimited supplies of the essential toiletries and some very good advice on affordable shopping. As you can imagine, the latter is a little tough in Aspen.
The room was cosy and comfortable. It was quiet even though it was right above the pool. We had free internet in the room as we enrolled for the Kimpton loyalty program. This was really useful for us as we had to constantly be in touch with the airlines trying to trace our bags.
There was a lovely coffee maker in the room. A hair dryer and best of all an iron. we used this so much as we were constantly recycling clothes till our luggage came in!
The Sky is located on a little corner of town but has great access to the beautifully laid out galleria-style Aspen shopping area. It's hardly a 2 minute walk to the wonderful delights of glittering displays and eateries.
We only had breakfast at the hotel on the last day. It was average. Better to walk a little and grab a more hearty one at the nearby places such as The Big Wrap. We did, however, end up at the bar for very late night drinks with friends and they were nice enough to keep the fire going for us till much later than closing time. The sitting area besides the pool is perfect for a nightcap!
A special word for the guys who run the shuttle service for the hotel. They were fantastic! Full of practical advice and always ready to help.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms facing the mountain side. Much quieter and definitely great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegRathee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing