We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had to cancel a trip to Aspen last year for medical reasons and the hotel gave us one year to use the pre-paid vacation -- that was the first of many outstanding customer service experiences! Gerry picked us up very late at the airport and when we discovered most restaurants were closed, he graciously offered to drive us around town so we could get some dinner; this included sight-seeing and recommendations on things to do and places to eat. Chris was the desk clerk who checked us in and was extremely helpful and friendly that night and on subsequent days when we needed directions and help with reservations. Actually, the entire staff was friendly and helpful and our suite was perfect, especially the amount of space and views of the mountains. We did not bother to rent a car as everything was in walking distance and we always had the shuttle if we needed a ride.
There are wonderful restaurants and shops and outstanding hiking in this area and the people in Aspen are much more laid back than the East Coast, probably because of the great weather and small town atmosphere.
We had a spectacular jeep tour up to Taylor Pass with Blazing Adventures and our guide, John Bokram was outstanding with a plethora of facts about the area and a great sense of humor.
This is a dog-friendly town, too which gets extra points on our favorite places to go list.
Best restaurants: Jimmy's, White House, L'ostaria

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view of the mountains, 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Fresh water with cucumber and lemon at the front desk & reusable glasses, recycling bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 350shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks so much for the stellar review. We are so happy to that you were able to make it to Aspen to enjoy everything that is here. Our team works hard to be the local experts so its great to hear that we were able to show you some of the best that Aspen has to offer. We can't wait to have you return to Aspen again soon and stay with us here at the Sky Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    142
    66
    36
    36
See reviews for
68
178
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was invited by my friend to visit Aspen, of course...never been, heard so many wonderful things about it! Hiking, biking, and fly fishing was amazing. The views and weather magnificant, but save yourself the agony of going to the Sky Hotel! I didn'T want to complain to my friend who graciously invited me, but by the second day in we were both in agony. The rooms, so small for the rate, ? The noise level was from hotel guests, and the parking lot. There are really no well located rooms on this property. The hotel does not have a restaurant, rather a bar "39 Degrees", which is dark, and dirty. The staff themselves seemed like they were in agony. Fod was good when we finally did get it 27 minutes after our order with aoplogies as a side order, without condements, water service. The pool scene was disgusting, open to the public, and occupied by trash. I could not read a book, relax in a lounge, or take a swim in the pool. It is a spring break, it is a shame, it was AGONY!

When we asked to speak to the GM or someone regarding the situation, we were told, "They are all out bicycling, training for a race." Really! No wonder this place is a mess!!!! What kind of business are they running?!

The hotel's decor is funky and fun. Staff pleasant, bellman could not be more helpful, as well as concierge.

There are lovely hotels in the area that have compatible rates, and much to offer: Limelight, The Gant, Aspen Square.

I was surprised this is a Kimpton property.

Room Tip: There are no god rooms on this property. You are always exposed to noise of one kind or another. R...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice they took care of these practices. I saw the waitress separating garbage for recycling.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I am very satisfied with this hotel. It’s elegant and walking distance to downtown Aspen. It’s not cheap, but nothing is in Aspen. In addition, valet parking and in-room service will boost your final bill up. You need valet parking since there is no parking except valet, and it costs you 26 bucks per night. Very nice pool and outdoor sitting area. The hotel restaurant is called 39° Lounge. I did not use it, but it looked good On the plus side, they gave us a free upgrade to a junior suite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is great. We parked our car on Friday night and never had to use it till we left Sunday. We were able to wlak everywhere, and they also have a shuttle readily avaialable. We particularly liked Jared - he was great between driving us, giving us restuarant advice and helping us overall. The entire hotel staff were great. We also got passes to the local gym, and each morning took a nice walk there and had a great workout. One morning, we followed this with breakast outside on the hotel's pool patio with our friendly waiter Andrew.
The room was nice with a terrace too.
And best of all, our dog had a great vacation too. SHE LOVED IT. Except, she was afraid of the elevator. Other than that, a great time was had by all including our 4-legged friend.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthego2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent a long weekend with my girlfriend at The Sky Hotel in Aspen. This was probably the nicest / coolest hotel that I have ever booked (I felt right at home there), the place has a great location right off of downtown, a block from the gondola and near non-paid parking. I'll come right out and say it.... you are going to pay good money to stay here, and the rooms might be a bit small (but if you are staying in the room you are missing the point of being in Aspen).
What made my stay want to endorse this hotel was the customer service, from the amazingly attentive concierge (who will help book your trips/dinners and have a schedule for you upon checking in) to the cleaners who not only make your bed in the morning but will have made it again at night! The hotel itself is quite interesting, awesome hot tub, DJs, wine nights, and a really good restaurant (also quite expensive, but get the tacos if you go). If you are going to stay here, don't look for the value as 400/night is pretty steep, just think of treating yourself for a nice vacation (a really really nice vacation) as this is exactly what this hotel will give you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a very well run property. The proximity to the lift is fantastic. All of the employees were great. The use of bikes for free was a real treat. The only reason that I did not give this hotel 5 stars is that the room sizes are on the small side. I met the owners and they appear to genuinely care about their guests. All of this made for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbonsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in Aspen, CO at the Sky Hotel for 2 nights for our 1 year Anniversary. The hotel is in a great location in Aspen.
We had requested a mountain view room on an upper floor of the hotel. We also requested for no additional charge a bottle of wine for celebration. All these accomodations were met by the Sky Hotel, which was very nice. The only bad thing about the requests was that a "mountain view" wasn't exactly a good view (you could only see Aspen mountain standing on the corner of the balcony).
The lobby is nice. The rooms are VERY small. They need to do some updates on things. walking through the halls/room/stairwell/elevator, I was noticing that all of the woodwork was painted over and looked as though there were 20 layers of paint (kind of looked tacky and cheap). The bathrooms need an update, they were all white with come blue accents and looked very plain.
The 39 degree lounge was nicely decorated. We were not impressed with the drinks and food. Our burger was very underdone, the pretzel was hard, etc. We tried multiple things and were all dissapointing. It took servers a long time to get to us and round again with only about 10 people in the bar.
The staff was nice and attentive. Not much staff around when we were there.
Summary:
We just felt that the overall, general experience we had was disappointing for spending $400 a night. We had never been to Aspen before and expected more. We went and had drinks and ate all over town that weekend and The Little Nell, Hotel Jerome, St. Regis was what we expected of Aspen, and Sky Hotel fell short all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen198484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing