We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal experience! Excellent service would be and understatment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Phenomenal experience! Excellent service would be and understatment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just stayed here over the weekend for two nights. Me and a few of my buddies drove over here from San Diego for the weekend and the stay was phenomenal. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were spacious and accommodating, and the pool and bar area was right on point. What got me was that the whole staff was very very helpful. They knew where all the local hotspots were along with what activities to do at that specific time. I would specifically like to thank Chelsea and Tara from the bar, Zachary from the front desk, and Chris from the Valet. All of them played an important role in making this stay memorable. After a day of snowboarding the pool and jacuzzi was what we needed. Chelsea our server did an amazing job at getting our drink and food promptly. Zachary who was the overnight front desk was very helpful on helping us find food in the late night hours. Tara was very helpful and informative with where to go and what to do, and Chris showed us where certain places we needed to go to along with giving us a ride to an amazing lunch spot (The White House). Overall I couldn't ask for a more perfect trip than the one provided by this hotel. Two thumbs up and thank you Kimpton!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    142
    67
    36
    37
See reviews for
68
178
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very old hotel with exterior entrances. Kimpton Hotels did a renovation on the sleeping area of the room which looked ok but they forgot the bathroom which was dated with an old style brick floor that was coming loose.
The hot tub and pool area is open to the public with drunk and obnoxious local ski bums using the hot tub and pool area and with us as a paying guest paying $500 a night we couldn’t use the hot tub when we wanted to because it was packed with these individuals. I complained to the Front Desk and asked to speak to the General Manager but amazingly he was in a meeting every time I tried to speak with him. The Front Desk agent told me I should try using the hot tub at a different time because afternoons are always busy with locals using the facilities and that it has always been the hotel policy to allow this.
Apparently Kimpton Hotels doesn’t want paying guest using the pool area and are more concerned with selling alcohol to the locals who take over the space.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a mountain view room because the site lines are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tziarnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We've done a lot with our building and we hope to update the bathrooms and room product soon. Also sorry you didn't feel you could get into the hot tub area. We have become quite popular with a wide range of guests and unfortunately we have limited space. Also, I'm very sorry I wasn't able to speak with you during your stay but hopefully we will have the opportunity to meet in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stay on the 3o. Floor facing the street!
Room is very small almost didn't fit my boots and the helmet ! Your not very welcome by the staff.
I won't go back ever again !
The maids were a pain, knocking at 8:30 am, sleeping was a challenge !
If you want to eat dinner or snake go to the hotel across the street!
Very expensive!
Right at Aspen slops!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izabela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the location and the Apres Ski opportunities. Thanks for the feedback and we'll continue improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa monica,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Spend the extra money and stay somewhere decent. Rooms are tiny, the bathroom is horrible and the people behind the front desk are rude and unhelpful.
Our room wasn't clean until almost 3:30pm so after a long day so skiing you can sit in the lobby and wait for your room to be cleaned. And I'm not talking about the day of check-in...we've been here for 2 days.
If all you care about is a party in the bar...this hotel is for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We wish we could change the size of our rooms, but we will definitely work on the perception of our desk clerks to be more friendly. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The staff were awesome, the suite is incredible. Highly recommend this place, it's more happening then the old boring hotels such as viceroy and little Neil.
The staff put an extra effort to make our stay memorable in a high season. I am defiantly staying there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We're so stoked that you enjoyed everything. Can't wait to have you come back and stay with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is in the middle of Aspen, at the base of Ajax. Great accommodations, amazing bar/apres ski and it has everything you need for a perfect Aspen vacation. Breakfast was really good in the mornings. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. Alan Cardenas made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dargueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
So awesome that you enjoyed everything. Can't wait to see you back at the Sky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

great location with fantastic service. Staff is friendly and will know your name by the time you check out. I think this is by far the best hotel for your pets. No additional charges, dog beds, bowls etc provided as needed. If your pooch acts up, they have protocol in place. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and it is always an enjoyable experience. Pool and hot tub are heated year round so its great for kids or those looking for a cool apres scene. We always stay in the one bedroom suite which is perfect for business and pets. There is space for everyone to spread out.

Room Tip: they have both interior and exterior entry rooms. Interior are typically smaller. We prefer the 1BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR2655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Sounds like everyone had a good time. We love dogs and so glad you could bring the pooch with you. Can't wait to see you back again. Thanks for the tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
1.3 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing