We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great after ski bar and heated pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great after ski bar and heated pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Did not try the hotel but i go there after skiing often for simple reasons: close to the slopes and access to the heated outside pool and jacuzzi if you consume just a drink. They have starters as well. The bar inside is super trendy and crowded so i avoid it and stay in or very close to the water outside. Oh, i tried as well the buffet breakfast (available for non guests): good quality, not cheap but worth it ... And again access to pool :).

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Awesome that you enjoyed the pool and bar! We can't wait to have you come visit us again and try out the hotel rooms along with the pool and lounge scene. It's going to be even more awesome next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    142
    66
    36
    36
See reviews for
68
178
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is fun and casual hotel in the best part of town. Ski in Ski out !!!!! It has one of the best Apres SKI with DJs and fun parties. The rooms are small and a bit old. All the staff is great !!! Good bad, BAD restaurant ! But don't worry all the good restaurantas are a few blocks aways.

Room Tip: All rooms are small, it looks like an apartment building was converted in to a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay and the party. Sorry you didn't enjoy the lounge. Let us know how we can make it better and can't wait to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Sky Hotel offers the best overall hotel experience in downtown Aspen. The vibe is much more hip and trendy than the posh Little Nell next door, and hosts perhaps the best apres-ski in town. The room are nicely appointed and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank marclippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Sky Hotel is the way to go in Aspen! Perfect location, great bar/apres scene, pool/hot tub, and well-appointed rooms. However what really makes this hotel is the service. The staff will go out of their way to help you have the best possible trip, and that really makes a difference! The concierge helped us organize our reservations and activities, and they were great! David at the front desk is so helpful, and all the valet guys were so nice to drive us to dinners and pick us up. Also they provided some great lunch and bar recs! The rooms are extremely clean and the linens were high quality. The bar and pool area is so much fun. The food is excellent (best hot pretzel!) and drinks are great. Again, the service at the bar was top-notch. The ski shop inside the hotel was converted this year from an Aspen Sports to a Four Mountain Sports- this was key. Four Mountain Sports offers ski valet to any mountain, so there is no carrying skis to Snowmass or Highlands. For a small charge you are able to switch your skis daily/as needed depending on the conditions. The guys at Four Mountain were SO great- it was like having a ski sommelier. All in all this is the best place to stay in Aspen- thank you again Sky Hotel for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just stayed here over the weekend for two nights. Me and a few of my buddies drove over here from San Diego for the weekend and the stay was phenomenal. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were spacious and accommodating, and the pool and bar area was right on point. What got me was that the whole staff was very very helpful. They knew where all the local hotspots were along with what activities to do at that specific time. I would specifically like to thank Chelsea and Tara from the bar, Zachary from the front desk, and Chris from the Valet. All of them played an important role in making this stay memorable. After a day of snowboarding the pool and jacuzzi was what we needed. Chelsea our server did an amazing job at getting our drink and food promptly. Zachary who was the overnight front desk was very helpful on helping us find food in the late night hours. Tara was very helpful and informative with where to go and what to do, and Chris showed us where certain places we needed to go to along with giving us a ride to an amazing lunch spot (The White House). Overall I couldn't ask for a more perfect trip than the one provided by this hotel. Two thumbs up and thank you Kimpton!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very old hotel with exterior entrances. Kimpton Hotels did a renovation on the sleeping area of the room which looked ok but they forgot the bathroom which was dated with an old style brick floor that was coming loose.
The hot tub and pool area is open to the public with drunk and obnoxious local ski bums using the hot tub and pool area and with us as a paying guest paying $500 a night we couldn’t use the hot tub when we wanted to because it was packed with these individuals. I complained to the Front Desk and asked to speak to the General Manager but amazingly he was in a meeting every time I tried to speak with him. The Front Desk agent told me I should try using the hot tub at a different time because afternoons are always busy with locals using the facilities and that it has always been the hotel policy to allow this.
Apparently Kimpton Hotels doesn’t want paying guest using the pool area and are more concerned with selling alcohol to the locals who take over the space.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a mountain view room because the site lines are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tziarnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We've done a lot with our building and we hope to update the bathrooms and room product soon. Also sorry you didn't feel you could get into the hot tub area. We have become quite popular with a wide range of guests and unfortunately we have limited space. Also, I'm very sorry I wasn't able to speak with you during your stay but hopefully we will have the opportunity to meet in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stay on the 3o. Floor facing the street!
Room is very small almost didn't fit my boots and the helmet ! Your not very welcome by the staff.
I won't go back ever again !
The maids were a pain, knocking at 8:30 am, sleeping was a challenge !
If you want to eat dinner or snake go to the hotel across the street!
Very expensive!
Right at Aspen slops!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izabela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the location and the Apres Ski opportunities. Thanks for the feedback and we'll continue improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing