We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it suits you, i can't think of a better place in Aspen.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If it suits you, i can't think of a better place in Aspen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

The Sky Hotel in Aspen is a great place to stay. It is perfectly located slopeside. The lobby decor is....borderline tacky, BUT in a very likeable way. It's sort of retro-70's meets Park Avenue if Park Ave. were in South Beach. The bar is spacious and perhaps could be decorated a bit cozier, but because it's usually buzzing with people, you wouldn't even notice this. The food at the bar is quite good and moderately priced. The heated pool, just outside the bar, is the perfect temperature and well worth a dip - as long as you can pull off the complimentary animal print robes (which will keep you cozy on the way back to your room). Oddly, a trip to the pool presented the only glitch in our trip (the robe in my closet - that i had never worn - had an old tissue in it and when asked, the front desk forgot to bring a new one out to me at the pool. They also forgot to bring us slippers - but the stone walkways are heated, so everything worked out just fine).
The rooms are very comfy with a great mini-bar and neat ammenities. I'd imagine at the very least, the bathrooms will get a make-over soon. They are very clean and ample in size, but the design falls short of the designer style of the rest of the hotel.
I have stayed at The Sky twice once on my own as a single 30-something, and the 2nd time with my boyfriend. Both times I encountered helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed a quiet, cozy room (very comfy bed) with a nice balcony - and on the 2nd trip - an in-room gas fireplace. Both times I stayed in an 'interior' room, they also have exterior entrance rooms. There are a few nice hotels in Apsen, but if you want a stylish atmosphere, that's not pretentious, a perfect location, fabulous L'Occitane toiletries and to be 'in the center of everything Aspen' - stay at The Sky and you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — the first time, the price because it was hi-season - which is fine, but you can NOT cancel within 30 days - it is a 100% penalty. The 2nd trip it was the beginning of the seaon and incredibly reasonable.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    142
    66
    36
    36
See reviews for
68
178
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

This was our 2nd stay at the Sky, our first during the winter. The rooms are trendy and have been remodeled. I love the eclectic mini bar options, you'll see what i mean! The staff is very friendly and the complimentary transportation around town and to the airport are very nice when it's cold outside. If it happens to be a nice day, you can easily walk to all destiniations in the downtown area. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Aspen Mountain gondola and one more block to the bus station if you're skiing elsewhere as we did. The hotel offers a nightly wine hour which we took advantage of every night. You can sit in the trendy lobby and people watch with your glass of wine or hang out in the 39 Degrees bar for more action. The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast Fri - Sun on our trip although this might be seasonal? It was a full buffet plus omelette and pancake stations. I really can't think that i'll ever want to stay at another hotel in Aspen. If you're looking for a centrally located hotel that is not overly expensive, this should be your first choice.

  • Liked — Small, trendy hotel in a convenient location
  • Disliked — Climbing steps with luggage
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnielass0093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

A friend suggested we give the Sky a try, which we did with some reluctance as I remembered this hotel as a dirty, old, and uncomfortable place. The location is great (right next to the Little Nell at the base of Ajax), but the interior was just dreadful.

Wow, what a change!

Same shell, different interior. Modern, clean and very hip. Rooms are tight but nicely appointed. The conference rooms are great, especially the glass one just above the lobby. And the Sky Bar is one of the best spots in Aspen to hang out, with wonderful couches and a huge bar.

Might just be a good place for a Kasidie takeover some day!

  • Liked — Hip design, friendly staff, excellent mountainside location
  • Disliked — The exterior is still a bit worn looking
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kasidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Great rooms, excellent decor and service. Very clean too! The front desk knew exactly where to go to dine and was extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The complimentary car service to and from the hotel was a great plus! It's very trendy & fun and not as stuffy as the others.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank marcossss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

I needed a place in town so I could get to the start of my Ride for the Cure event early in the morning. This hotel was perfect! In town, tucked up against the ski mountain, I was at the start line in 3 minutes by bike. Nice pool scene after a long ride was a great way to end the day. The town was not as full of tourists as in the middle of summer but the comtemporary bar/lounge there was full of good looking people on Saturday night, Beds were great, bathroom was spacious and the free wireless helped me confirm my start time on the internet. A sleek hotel in a great location with friendly staff, I'll be back for another stay!

  • Liked — Location and Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeorgioVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

Stayed here on our honeymoon and wished we had stayed at the little nell. Hotel is nice and is different - bar very trendy and not really what we wanted after skiing. Too much looking up and down going on.

Room was ok and bed very comfortable but bathroom basic. Nice walk in wardrobe but we had to keep our curtains closed becuase we were on a corridor.

To call this ski in ski out is a slight exagerration but it is no hassle to walk an extra 2 minutes. Ski storage is great though and skiis are out and ready for you every morning.

Reasonable gym which is open 24 hours which is nice as means could go to the gym early and stilll be on early lifts.

Hotel is well located but with hindsight this was trying to be too boutique for us and didn't quite do it.

  • Liked — The warm afternoon cookies
  • Disliked — snotty bar scene
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Graburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

I just spent Labor Day weekend at the Sky with my best friend. After reading some of the bad reviews, I had been nervous about my stay. We had the greatest time! The staff was amazing (special thanks to Steve and Alan), the rooms were nice & always clean, and the scene was fun. perfect for people looking to have a good time! We are definitely coming back next year.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LizF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing