We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aspen Meadows Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Of course they say never say never, and actually we might consider it in the winter, so I should say "never again in the summer." This property is well maintained even though it was built in the 1950's. The suites are roomy even though we only had a shower and no bathtub, but the outside appearance of the hotel is anything but picturesque as it was built in German style and the building look like my old elementary schools. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the shuttle bus was great. There are two reasons that my husband and I want stay there again in the summer. #1 is no air conditioning. We were there last week (July 2014) and temps were near 90. There are signs in the room indicating you should keep windows open (no-brainer) and South facing shades closed, which we did. We still found it so hot that it was difficult to sleep at night. When we would return from dinner in the evenings we would find the interior of our room warmer than the outside air. We were there to attend an on property business function and my husband indicated all the attendees were complaining about lack of sleep due to the heat. #2 reason not to return in the summer is the swimming pool. It is a 3 lane lap pool and local people with memberships were having to wait their turns to swim laps while children were anxious to get in the pool and couldn't. Speaking of children, noise is another issue when sleeping with windows open. Early in the mornings we would be waken by loud housekeeping or maintenance workers talking outside and later in the day you could always hear families with children just outside your window so it wasn't very peaceful. On the positive side, decor is on the contemporary side and tasteful and as I said, staff is very friendly so maybe a good place for winter travel.

Room Tip: Not sure as we were in a room in the 400's and we found it very noisy with the windows open and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Rebecca317,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. The Bauhaus aesthetic of our property can be an acquired taste. Although you didn’t appreciate the exterior design, I’m glad you liked the interior! I’m so sorry that you had trouble sleeping. It’s typical that the nights cool down significantly but that was evidently not the case during your stay. We are in the process of adding solar shades to our guest suites in hopes that they will deflect the warm sunlight and decreases the rooms’ temperature. Thank you for your feedback. I do sincerely hope that you’ll return in the winter!

Jud Hawk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Aspen Meadows Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Yes, the Aspen Meadows is a bit off the beaten path, but that's part of its appeal. I tagged along with my husband, who was there for a conference, and took full advantage of the resort's location. There's access to the beautiful Rio Grande walking/biking trail, and from there, to lots of true hiking trails, via a smaller trail right on the property. The music tent is adjacent to the resort. And downtown Aspen is an easy walk (or free shuttle ride) away. Rooms are unusually spacious, with a suite-like feel (separate sitting area, fridge, microwave, sink), clean and well-appointed. Beds are comfortable, bath is updated, everything was very clean. Being away from downtown meant sleeping with the windows open and enjoying the fresh (quiet) Aspen air. Plato's restaurant has a nice menu and good food, if at Aspen prices. A more extensive menu would be nice, but there are plenty of other restaurants in town. Buying breakfast items at the supermarket and eating in the room helped with sticker shock. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sandy L,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Hearing from our guests is always a treat. Thank you for the lovely review and we hope that you will consider visiting again soon!

Jud Hawk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The setting is unique with beautiful mountain views, large suites, great service, and walking distance to both hiking trails as well as downtown Aspen. We were lucky to learn at our arrival that the actual music tent for the Jazz Festival was on the grounds (which are extensive). We ate at several of the restaurants on site to avoid the crowds of Aspen during the Food and Wine Festival and were pleasantly surprised with extremely good service and food. Our balcony faced the mountains with great views and exposure. We especially enjoyed having a coffee maker, microwave & mini refrigerator all in our suite. It was stocked with complimentary bottled water, which doesn't seem to happen much anymore. The fitness center was very well equipped and also had a view of the mountains as did the pool and spa. We are going back next year since it was such a nice vacation getaway! note: two very minor negatives (no a/c -- though not probably ever needed much) and the room and bathroom lighting was a bit too energy efficient as it was a bit dark to see at times.

Room Tip: Our Mtn view room had incredible views, but with cart paths in front it sometimes became a bit noisy...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear SheilafromDanville,

Thank you so much for choosing the Aspen Meadows Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you have plans to return next year! The Benedict Music Tent is an amazing added bonus for our summer guests as one can picnic outside on the listening lawn (at no cost!) and soak up the music just minutes from your guest room. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as our guests again soon!

Jud Hawk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a wonderful place in a fabulous location. The rooms are amazingly airy and open-- makes you really want to get outside which you must do. Access to easy trail right on the property. Bikes also available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPtc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear TPtc93,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back at the Aspen Meadows again soon!

Doug Crawford
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, a bit off the beaten path in Aspen. But, that is not what makes it so amazing. The staff is so well trained and they treat you like royalty. The food is outstanding -- always delicious and fresh. We've been holding our annual meeting there for 17 years and we LOVE it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Eileen,
It is a pleasure to host your annual meeting at Aspen Meadows each year.
Thank you for sharing the kind words about our staff and our food offerings.
I look forward to seeing you again next June!

Doug Crawford
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Aspen Meadows Resort is in close walking/biking distance to downtown Aspen surrounded by nature with beautiful fews to the mountain areas. The Resort is surrounded by a number of hiking/ walking/ biking trails. Bikes are available at the Resort. The rooms are very clean, nice and large and has modern furniture, a desk area and a separate sleeping and sitting area. In addition, the rooms are very quiet and all you hear are the noise of nature. Internet access is fast and reliable. The Resort staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient.

My hair dryer was broken and within minutes of informing the front desk it was replaced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Elke S,

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the excellent review. We appreciate it and hope that you’ll be back to visit again soon!

Jud Hawk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at the Aspen Meadows Resort as part of an Aspen Institute Program. The setting is spectacular - with nearly 360 degree views of the Rockie Mountains and a nearby running stream providing a relaxing backdrop. Although there is a 15-20 minute walk into Aspen itself, the walk is also spectacular, part of a beautifully maintained trail system that is at the doorstep of the resort. The resort is not retro 1970s decor as much as authentic 1970s decor - the buildings and rooms, while in immaculate condition -- look like they have not changes in their style since their original construction. I found the 1970s theme appealing, although the heavy Corporate influence - indicated by the names of all the buildings -- is a bit much. Pretty good fitness center, a lap pool (not designed for kids from my view) are also good amenities for adults. The restaurant serves good portions of very healthy food, locally sourced when possible. Ultimately, I like the quiet of not being directly next to town, while still feeling close by.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the end of the buildings - there will windows on three sides. This is spec...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geonat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear geonat1,

I’m so glad you enjoyed our accommodations! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. I hope that you’ll consider staying with us again, and next time for leisure!

Jud Hawk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
1.0 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows Resort

Address: 845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#5 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#9 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £119 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Meadows Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 sweeping acres, 98 spacious guest suites, award-winning dining and truly spectacular views, the Aspen Meadows Resort is an unforgettable, Aspen gem. A Dolce Hotels & Resorts destination, and home of the Aspen Institute, this classic, Bauhaus-designed resort boasts 22,000 sq.ft. of meeting and event space plus fabulous amenities such as free downtown and airport transportation, 24 hour front desk service, 3 onsite dining options, expansive health club, outdoor heated lap pool and hot tub, spa services, 6 tennis courts (seasonal), complimentary seasonal bike and snowshoe rental and 24 hour business center. In-suite amenities include LCD flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, wet bar, pull out sleeper sofa, working spaces, separate living areas, balconies or patios and plenty of natural light with floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspen Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Hotel Aspen
Meadows Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing