We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Not Very Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aspen Meadows Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen
1 review
“Nice Rooms, Not Very Accommodating”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Be wary of hidden fees. You know those basic amenities like pools and wifi that are standard with every hotel? You will get billed a "resort" fee at the end of your stay for these. Rooms are great, but the grounds were very underwhelming and really unappealing. The staff wasn't accommodating for us to extend our stay either. If this was $100 cheaper per night, I would give it a better review, but it's just not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Caitlin,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry we were sold out and unable to accommodate your request to extend your stay. Our $18 nightly Resort Services fee is sometimes easily missed on various online travel agent sites. As you mentioned, it covers our resort amenities like use of our pool and property wide Wi-Fi. In addition, it includes access to our Health Club, tennis courts and equipment, bicycle and snowshoe usage, covered parking, 24 hour town and airport shuttle service, as well as in room bottled water and nightly s’mores in the winter. I hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities during your stay.

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    194
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
169
261
32
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed at the Aspen Meadows the past three summers as a result of my involvement with events at The Aspen Institute. Great architecture, service and location. It is a true hidden gem, I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ted S;
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your review of Aspen Meadows and for sharing your enthusiasm to return each year.
Doug Crawford
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent experience while staying at the Aspen Meadow Resort and will come back! Beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, studio apartment size rooms and super comfy beds! Rooms are on the higher end, but competitive pricing is occasionally offered.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KirstenDugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear KirstenDugan,

We’re delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review with us and fellow travelers. We often share our best offers right here on TripAdvisor. We hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon!

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Meadows is the perfect spot for the nature lover seeking easy access to trails. The rooms are large and comfortable, without being over the top luxe. The site is quiet yet next to the music center. The restaurants and catering are very high quality and meet any dietary preference.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Shirley N,

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful review. Please come back and visit again soon!

Doug Crawford
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Meadows is a Herbert Bayer architectural and landscape gem. Famed Aspen Music tent on the grounds; first rate fitness center with 25-meter pool; excellent restaurant; located in the west-end of Aspen, adjacent to the Roaring Fork

Room Tip: no bad rooms; larger rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citycite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear citycite,

Thank you for being our guest and for the excellent review! We hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Of course they say never say never, and actually we might consider it in the winter, so I should say "never again in the summer." This property is well maintained even though it was built in the 1950's. The suites are roomy even though we only had a shower and no bathtub, but the outside appearance of the hotel is anything but picturesque as it was built in German style and the building look like my old elementary schools. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the shuttle bus was great. There are two reasons that my husband and I want stay there again in the summer. #1 is no air conditioning. We were there last week (July 2014) and temps were near 90. There are signs in the room indicating you should keep windows open (no-brainer) and South facing shades closed, which we did. We still found it so hot that it was difficult to sleep at night. When we would return from dinner in the evenings we would find the interior of our room warmer than the outside air. We were there to attend an on property business function and my husband indicated all the attendees were complaining about lack of sleep due to the heat. #2 reason not to return in the summer is the swimming pool. It is a 3 lane lap pool and local people with memberships were having to wait their turns to swim laps while children were anxious to get in the pool and couldn't. Speaking of children, noise is another issue when sleeping with windows open. Early in the mornings we would be waken by loud housekeeping or maintenance workers talking outside and later in the day you could always hear families with children just outside your window so it wasn't very peaceful. On the positive side, decor is on the contemporary side and tasteful and as I said, staff is very friendly so maybe a good place for winter travel.

Room Tip: Not sure as we were in a room in the 400's and we found it very noisy with the windows open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Rebecca317,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. The Bauhaus aesthetic of our property can be an acquired taste. Although you didn’t appreciate the exterior design, I’m glad you liked the interior! I’m so sorry that you had trouble sleeping. It’s typical that the nights cool down significantly but that was evidently not the case during your stay. We are in the process of adding solar shades to our guest suites in hopes that they will deflect the warm sunlight and decreases the rooms’ temperature. Thank you for your feedback. I do sincerely hope that you’ll return in the winter!

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Yes, the Aspen Meadows is a bit off the beaten path, but that's part of its appeal. I tagged along with my husband, who was there for a conference, and took full advantage of the resort's location. There's access to the beautiful Rio Grande walking/biking trail, and from there, to lots of true hiking trails, via a smaller trail right on the property. The music tent is adjacent to the resort. And downtown Aspen is an easy walk (or free shuttle ride) away. Rooms are unusually spacious, with a suite-like feel (separate sitting area, fridge, microwave, sink), clean and well-appointed. Beds are comfortable, bath is updated, everything was very clean. Being away from downtown meant sleeping with the windows open and enjoying the fresh (quiet) Aspen air. Plato's restaurant has a nice menu and good food, if at Aspen prices. A more extensive menu would be nice, but there are plenty of other restaurants in town. Buying breakfast items at the supermarket and eating in the room helped with sticker shock. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sandy L,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Hearing from our guests is always a treat. Thank you for the lovely review and we hope that you will consider visiting again soon!

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
1.0 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#2 of 34 in Aspen
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.8 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 34 in Aspen
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows Resort

Property: Aspen Meadows Resort
Address: 845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#5 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#9 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Meadows Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 sweeping acres, 98 spacious guest suites, award-winning dining and truly spectacular views, the Aspen Meadows Resort is an unforgettable, Aspen gem. A Dolce Hotels & Resorts destination, and home of the Aspen Institute, this classic, Bauhaus-designed resort boasts 22,000 sq.ft. of meeting and event space plus fabulous amenities such as free downtown and airport transportation, 24 hour front desk service, 3 onsite dining options, expansive health club, outdoor heated lap pool and hot tub, spa services, 6 tennis courts (seasonal), complimentary seasonal bike and snowshoe rental and 24 hour business center. In-suite amenities include LCD flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, wet bar, pull out sleeper sofa, working spaces, separate living areas, balconies or patios and plenty of natural light with floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aspen Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Hotel Aspen
Meadows Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing