We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice small hotel in Aspen”
Review of Hearthstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hearthstone House
Ranked #2 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice small hotel in Aspen”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in the HearthStone House while on a bicycle trip with the Bicycle Adventure Club. The hotel is very nice, friendly staff, very accommodating to our bicycles and close to downtown Aspen. The price was reasonable, especially for Aspen. They did a nice happy hour with wine and cheese.

Room Tip: We were in room 10A, downstairs. It was very large and comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgengstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I was in Aspen for business and Hearthstone House was a welcome retreat in between meetings and events. The building and (small) grounds are serene and private, the rooms well-appointed and comfortable (hooray for the Aveda products, which just added to the serenity). The staff was friendly and helpful, whether it was to lend a hair dryer, iron, band aid, or toothbrush (apparently, I forgot to pack many things), or to offer advice on local restaurants or hiking trails. And the breakfasts were delicious with fresh pastries (not out of a package), bagels, waffles, and eggs-to-order. The final perk: bikes on the premises, which you can take out (free of charge) for the day. I only hope that I find myself in Aspen again some day, so that I might stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likestotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Personalized attention, great views, vicinity to downtown and a nice aprés make this boutique hotel a standout in a strong market.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelfaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I liked the architecture because it was different. It was small place but that made it cozy. It had a hot tub, free bicycle use and the breakfast was AWESOME. It was NOT a continental breakfast but full blown and the custom cooked omelets were heavenly!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is a wonderful B & B in Aspen within walking or biking distance of everything we
wanted to do. It's a Frank Lloyd Wright building and it has been very well-maintained.
Scott, General Manager, and Shannon, were friendly and very knowledgeable about
restaurants and things to do in Aspen and the surrounding area. They serve a
great breakfast and have wine and cheese in the afternoon for guests. The communal
gathering room is large and very comfortable and inviting. The Hearthstone, itself, is in
a residential area and has a beautiful front lawn. We had a queen room on the backside
of the B & B which is quieter because it's not directly facing the street. The room was
more than adequate and very comfortable. This is a place we hope to return many
times.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradolovers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I met my friends there to celebrate their anniversary. What a pleasant experience. The staff was more than friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make it a memorable stay,
This is a small bed and breakfast hotel within walking distance to everything in town.
They have a great breakfast including made to order eggs and wine and cheese in the afternoon. This makes it extremely affordable.
The GM Scott recommended a few hikes that were well within our ability as well as
other activities. He even got tickets to the Jazzfest for our son who showed up for the weekend. Outstanding service!
The front desk staff, Shannen(sp) and Jessica were also very helpful and knowledgeable about everything to do in the area.
All in all a wonderful, reasonable great place to stay. Great jacuzzi also!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelA322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Small inn 2 blocks on Hyman @ Aspen (on a bus route which runs all night!) Cosy room and personal touches such as having eggs cooked to order for breakfast, bikes available to explore the town, library of books on the second floor lounge/breakfast room balance some of the other issues with this inn. Note there are steps down from the street then stairs back up to the second floor rooms. So if you have a lot of luggage or have mobility issues, this may be important to you. The pool on their website looks huge, but it's actually a very small (very hot) jacuzzi - which people hang out until late so that can disturb your sleep if facing that side. As there is no A/C we would have kept the windows open for the cool night air, but the noise of the bus route on this street and the conversations of the jacuzzi users and smoke wafting in from those banished to the smokers bench outside our window precluded this option. I would return, but would need a room away from Aspen/bus route side and upstairs away from the jacuzzi/smokers area. Due to their draconian cancellation policy (<30 days notice, NO refunds) we only made our reservation the day of our arrival. I knew there'd be availability as it's summer, not a weekend and no music festival was on. We did know about the limited off-street parking and were able to nab the last space, so didn't move the car until we left.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.9 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Property: Hearthstone House
Address: 134 E Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing