We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIND”
Review of Hearthstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hearthstone House
Ranked #2 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been going to this inn every ski season since 1999. It is a historical property built in downtown Aspen, so you can walk to everything. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful plus they serve a full breakfast in the morning and then wine and cheese in front of the fireplace every afternoon. One of the wonderful things about this inn, are the guests. The same people come back year after year, and you look forward to seeing them. It is not a large place, there are only 20 something rooms and that is part of the charm. It is like having your own house in Aspen. When you sit in the living room and look out the picture windows, you are facing right up to Aspen mountain and it is very beautiful. I can't say enough good things about this place. We look forward to coming here every single year. It is one of our most favorite vacations!

Room Tip: rooms in the back of the house are larger, also try not to get a room facing the walkway coming int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What can I say, awesome staff, clean rooms, fabulous breakfasts, good location and unbeatable value. I stayed there for a week with my girlfriend and was our first time to Aspen. Upon booking we were a little hesitant because it was one of the cheeper packages in Aspen, however the Heathstone House far exceeded our expectations. The location was good, being only across the road from the bus stop which takes you to Snowmass and Highlands. About two blocks from the Aspen lift, it isn't he closest hotel to the lift at Aspen but it is far from the furthest and significantly cheaper as well (location prob 4/5). The room which we stayed in had a spa bath in our en-suite and I believe was one of the bigger rooms at Hearthstone (must have been the luck of the draw).

In the brochure Hearthstone advertised daily continental breakfast. To our surprise they had a chef each morning to cook your eggs whatever way you liked. Throughout the week we had our eggs scrambled, fried, plus omelettes and mexican huevos rancheros! This was in addition to full continental breakfast and waffles. Likewise the apres wine and cheese every afternoon/evening in front of the fire was superb.

However I think what made the stay so great was the staff. All four staff that we met were fabulous, whether it was shovelling snow so my girlfriend wouldn't get her new boots wet, recommending the best places to eat, or even acting a guide for a half day skiing on their day off, the staff were very friendly and really made our stay enjoyable.

I will have no hesitation in heading back there......hopefully quite soon.

Hannah & Dave
Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: We had a spa suite. Think this was just good luck because we didn't pay any extra. I believe tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have been visiting the Hearthstone House since finding it 10 years ago. This is our favorite fall getaway - something we really look forward to each year. The B&B is situated within easy walking distance of so many great restaurants. There's plenty to do nearby regardless of what time of year you visit. The rooms are clean & comfortable, the breakfasts are good and the wine & cheese each afternoon is both relaxing and a great opportunity to socialize with other guests. The entire staff is simply fantastic and always willing to do anything to improve your stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Thanks, Shannon, for a great stay. You were very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening, your dinner suggestions were great and breakfast was yummy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nice friendly motel within walking distance of just about everything. Our room was clean and comfortable but not upscale or fancy. Fairly spacious with a comfortable bed. It was a little noisy as it was on the corner and faced the street. Great common area; living room and breakfast area. Excellent breakfast! Emily made eggs to order with fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and everything else. Do it yourself waffles. Emily, Nick and Shannon were great and helped us with area recommendations, hiking and restaurants. Free wine and cheese available every night. Nice small hot tub out front in the lawn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Scott, Shannon, Walker and Emily-Can't believe it has been an entire week since spending a fabulous week's vacation in Aspen at your wonderful B&B. Your hospitality can not be matched and we can't wait to return next year. Thank you for your wonderful breakfasts, entertaining happy hours and suggestions of hikes, bike rides and fabulous venues for dinner! The amenities were superb and you handled our large group with ease! See you next July!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wingman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in the HearthStone House while on a bicycle trip with the Bicycle Adventure Club. The hotel is very nice, friendly staff, very accommodating to our bicycles and close to downtown Aspen. The price was reasonable, especially for Aspen. They did a nice happy hour with wine and cheese.

Room Tip: We were in room 10A, downstairs. It was very large and comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgengstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aspen
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.9 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
7.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Property: Hearthstone House
Address: 134 E Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing