We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Aspen”
Review of Hearthstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hearthstone House
Ranked #2 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Having not been to Aspen before, it was fantastic to have a super and helpful staff. Very friendly and steered us in the right direction for dining and skiing. My only complaint is that the walls are pretty thin and the room we were in was a little small, but for two people it worked just fine. All in all, we would stay again - you can't beat the location, the free breakfast, the friendly staff, and the B&B feel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djjazzytiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been going to this inn every ski season since 1999. It is a historical property built in downtown Aspen, so you can walk to everything. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful plus they serve a full breakfast in the morning and then wine and cheese in front of the fireplace every afternoon. One of the wonderful things about this inn, are the guests. The same people come back year after year, and you look forward to seeing them. It is not a large place, there are only 20 something rooms and that is part of the charm. It is like having your own house in Aspen. When you sit in the living room and look out the picture windows, you are facing right up to Aspen mountain and it is very beautiful. I can't say enough good things about this place. We look forward to coming here every single year. It is one of our most favorite vacations!

Room Tip: rooms in the back of the house are larger, also try not to get a room facing the walkway coming int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What can I say, awesome staff, clean rooms, fabulous breakfasts, good location and unbeatable value. I stayed there for a week with my girlfriend and was our first time to Aspen. Upon booking we were a little hesitant because it was one of the cheeper packages in Aspen, however the Heathstone House far exceeded our expectations. The location was good, being only across the road from the bus stop which takes you to Snowmass and Highlands. About two blocks from the Aspen lift, it isn't he closest hotel to the lift at Aspen but it is far from the furthest and significantly cheaper as well (location prob 4/5). The room which we stayed in had a spa bath in our en-suite and I believe was one of the bigger rooms at Hearthstone (must have been the luck of the draw).

In the brochure Hearthstone advertised daily continental breakfast. To our surprise they had a chef each morning to cook your eggs whatever way you liked. Throughout the week we had our eggs scrambled, fried, plus omelettes and mexican huevos rancheros! This was in addition to full continental breakfast and waffles. Likewise the apres wine and cheese every afternoon/evening in front of the fire was superb.

However I think what made the stay so great was the staff. All four staff that we met were fabulous, whether it was shovelling snow so my girlfriend wouldn't get her new boots wet, recommending the best places to eat, or even acting a guide for a half day skiing on their day off, the staff were very friendly and really made our stay enjoyable.

I will have no hesitation in heading back there......hopefully quite soon.

Hannah & Dave
Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: We had a spa suite. Think this was just good luck because we didn't pay any extra. I believe tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have been visiting the Hearthstone House since finding it 10 years ago. This is our favorite fall getaway - something we really look forward to each year. The B&B is situated within easy walking distance of so many great restaurants. There's plenty to do nearby regardless of what time of year you visit. The rooms are clean & comfortable, the breakfasts are good and the wine & cheese each afternoon is both relaxing and a great opportunity to socialize with other guests. The entire staff is simply fantastic and always willing to do anything to improve your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Thanks, Shannon, for a great stay. You were very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening, your dinner suggestions were great and breakfast was yummy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nice friendly motel within walking distance of just about everything. Our room was clean and comfortable but not upscale or fancy. Fairly spacious with a comfortable bed. It was a little noisy as it was on the corner and faced the street. Great common area; living room and breakfast area. Excellent breakfast! Emily made eggs to order with fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and everything else. Do it yourself waffles. Emily, Nick and Shannon were great and helped us with area recommendations, hiking and restaurants. Free wine and cheese available every night. Nice small hot tub out front in the lawn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Scott, Shannon, Walker and Emily-Can't believe it has been an entire week since spending a fabulous week's vacation in Aspen at your wonderful B&B. Your hospitality can not be matched and we can't wait to return next year. Thank you for your wonderful breakfasts, entertaining happy hours and suggestions of hikes, bike rides and fabulous venues for dinner! The amenities were superb and you handled our large group with ease! See you next July!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Wingman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Address: 134 E Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range: £166 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing