We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great visit to aspen thanks to hearthstone”
Review of Hearthstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hearthstone House
Ranked #2 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I just spent a week in Aspen and arrived to the Hearthstone knowing nothing about the town.
The hotel staff was wonderful in lining me up with one of the best vacations of my life! The hotel was great, and my favorite part was the nightly wine and cheese that the Hearthstone provides. It was a great way to socialize with the other guests and plan out the evening activities.
All and all I loved the H-stone, and will come back again and again.

Thanks,
Dorothy

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy3344567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

We were actually looking for a bed and breakfast. This place is definitely NOT a bed and breakfast as advertised. It's just a small hotel. When we checked in the girl was not friendly, didn't welcome us or really say much of anything to us. There was no parking available and needed a pass to park on the street without getting ticketed. The girl at the desk couldn't find one of these passes and had to call around. The rooms are quite small. The only really good thing it that the place is in town and you can walk. Walls are thin and could hear the people going at it in the next room. They had a hot tub that needed to be cleaned of leaves and debris and was heavily chlorinated...you could hardly breath. We would have been better off renting a condo for the weekend for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My wife and I came to the Hearthstone house for our honeymoon, and it couldn't have been better. Everyone who works at the hotel is amazing and go out of their way to ensure that you have a great stay. Every morning we had great made to order breakfast, and relaxed in their extreamly cofortable breakfast/living area with a spectacular view of the ski hills. The fact that the hotel is located in downtown Aspen is awesome, we walked everywhere, everythin is within 4-5 blocks, a very short walk with lots to see and do. We felt at home the whole time, and even when we went white water rafting for the first time, one of the employees of the hotel was our rafting guide (side job) which made us feel even more comfortable. After a day of doing some class 4 rapids its nice to come back and have wine and cheese hour in the afternoon, thats a nice touch that they do. My wife and I recommend the Hearthstone house to anyone. As soon as we can we are going back. Thank you Scott, Shannon and Jess.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpipe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I stayed at the Hearthstone House for 4 days in June and had such a wonderful experience. The staff is so friendly and makes you feel right at home as soon as you arrive and the common areas are warm and inviting which brings guests together to socialize during breakfast, wine and cheese in the afternoon and evenings as well. We also liked that they had bikes available for us to use throughout our stay and a computer we could use at any time.

The huge breakfast spread and the made-to-order omelets are a great way to start the day and we loved chatting with the manager and staff each morning to get their recommendations on the best places to go in order ot make the most of our stay in Aspen.

I highly recommend the Hearthstone House for anyone looking for a relaxing atmosphere with superior customer service and a knowledgeable staff. We will definitely be back to Aspen and to the Hearthstone House next year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnAPA323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at the Hearthstone House for 2 nights for a short getaway. We stayed in a king deluxe room which was really lovely. I love the Frank Lloyd Wright influence which really is present throughout the property Hearthstone House is more of an inn than a hotel overall. Jessica and Shannon were extremely hospitable and helpful. We felt very welcome and loved it. The breakfast is an extended continental with tons of fruit, cereal, make your own waffles, baked goods and wonderful omelets made to order by Mike. What a great place, close enough to the town that you can walk anywhere (even to great hikes) but not right in the middle of the action so that it is too loud. We highly recommend this place. We did not drive at all while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Hearthstone House. Stayed in a King Deluxe room which was very chic and luxurious. Modern decor, large comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom with jets for the tub and Aveda products. Choices for breakfast include fresh baked goods, yogurt, cereal, juices, coffee, and tea as well as freshly griddled waffles and eggs cooked to order. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They appear to appreciate and honor the architecture of the building. The interior design and decor is held to the mid-century modern style. The gathering rooms are lovely with comfortable seating, plenty of reading material, and large windows to enjoy the gorgeous views. Visited in the off-season so it was warm enough to enjoy lunch on the upstairs veranda. Two blocks from the main street; very convenient. We did not reserve enough time to enjoy the wine & cheese reception, nor the sauna or jacuzzi but our stay was perfect anyhow. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JuanPoncedeLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

It was a perfect stay at the Hearthstone. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. Everything in the House is in the style of Frank Lloyd Wright, which gives an uncluttered but at the same time very comfortable and relaxed feeling. The rooms were clean and comfortable- with nice Aveda products in the bathroom. The common area where the FREE wine and cheese happy hour was held was great. There we played games and had nice views of the town. They also provide complimentary mountain bikes and nearby trails are very easy to access. The breakfast was great-- not too heavy but filling enough - and fresh. And then there's the hot tub and the herbal steam room! You cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MargaretWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Address: 134 E Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range: £166 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing