We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate, fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independence Square
Ranked #4 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“First rate, fabulous location”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This is not so much a B&B as it is a boutique hotel. Our premium room (303) was on the third floor, had a queen bed, big sitting area, wet bar with microwave and a large washroom. Upstairs on the roof was a jacuzzi with a view of Aspen Mountain. It is across the street from the bus station for shuttles to Snowmass and Buttermilk and a two block walk to the gondola at Aspen Mountain. And it is in the middle of town and all of the restaurants and shopping and strolling you might want to do. Continental breakfasts were fine, and more than adequate-cereals, juice, toasts, muffins, etc. Staff were very cooperative and helpful and it is just ideal for a great ski holiday. I am not so sure that it is a place for kids or big families.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

My husband and I went to Aspen on the spur of the moment. It was cheaper to fly into Denver and then fly on to Aspen, than to rent a car in Denver and drive. There was no shuttle to the hotel, however, we caught the free bus outside of the airport and were at our hotel in 8 minutes! We either walked anywhere we wanted or caught the free bus every day. I had blisters on almost every toe, but loved every minute of hiking or walking the city. The Indepence Square B&B is in an excellent location, 1/2 block from the bus station, 2 blocks from the gondola, restaurants every where, Ralph Lauren store on the corner. There is a brick courtyard in front of the hotel and people sit and people watch. My only complaint is make sure you don't get a room facing the club next door as they can be quite loud when they let out, plus there is a garbage pick up every morning and the truck is loud. The rooms are large and the bed is comfy. There is a hot tub on the 3rd floor roof. Enjoyed looking at the stars up there. We had a nice continental breakfast every morning and that saves a lot of money. A really good bakery is on the corner. Each night they had a free concert of students visiting the Aspen School of Music. Such a nice, clean city with flowers in every window box. I never felt afraid to walk in this city. We went to Maroon Bells 2 days as it is so beautiful. There is a 45 minute easy walk around the lake. However, there is a 3.5 mile hike that heads back toward the main entrance that is just beautiful. You go through a meadow, a rocky area, fern area, groves of Aspens, groves of evergreen trees. Make sure you go to Maroon Bells. Banff, Canada is my all time mountain retreat, but Aspen is a close second and 1/2 the price! Everyone in the town was so nice to us Texans. A lady at the bus station gave me and my husband a rain poncho out of her car. So nice!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosomeplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I lived in CO for a number of years, and now I get why I never bothered to come over to Aspen. Our stay was very ok, nothing special at all, esp for the money. Then again, every place in Aspen is extremely expensive. Yes, the location was good, but the room was very stuffy and hot and not what I was expecting for Aspen; also the breakfast they advertise was pretty bad. Probably will look elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing special
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyterpjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyoak, web marketing manager at The Independence Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Hello, and thanks for your review.

It has been some time since your stay at the Independence Square hotel in downtown Aspen, but our management team felt compelled to respond to give you an update.

The Independence Square is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Aspen, and was built in the late 19th century. It is one of the few places in Aspen that offer "lodge" (or traditional hotel-style) rooms. While not a large a the modern hotel room, the Indy offers convenience and variety (each unit is decorated differently) right on the Cooper Avenue Mall and only one block from the gondola.

Frias Properties of Aspen now manages the Independence Square. There's an entirely new management team in place and many of the units have been remodeled. Also, many of the units now feature air conditioning! We have also improved the quality of the daily complimentary continental breakfast.

If you ever decide to come back to Aspen, give the improved Independence Square a look, or call one of our vacation specialists directly at Frias Properties, Aspen's leader in vacation rental lodging.

Thanks again, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aspen hotels

Boston
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Great location but had sleep interrupted every night between 12 midnight and 2 AM as the loud drunken patrons spilled out of the bars and walked down the street. We were in Room 303- don't know if there is a quieter room...

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We stayed a week and we would return. We did request to have to change rooms as we were right above the street and people were yelling outside in the middle of the night. They were very nice about it and moved us three days later, as a room became available. This hotel is great for it's location. Last time we stayed at the Sky Hotel and that was fantastic, but after four years the prices just went up way too much, so this one was just one block further and was just fine.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — The room was a bit crowded with furniture
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donnakaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We booked this room at the last minute and weren't disappointed. The room was nicely appointed with sofa, 2 lounge chairs, a small table and chairs. There was a microwave and small refrig. It was nice to relax and look out the tall windows toward town and the mountains. Check in was fine but not terribly welcoming or friendly. Parking can be an issue as we hunted for a place to park on the street. There are no
designated spaces for guests to park. It is not a bed and breakfast atmosphere--it's more like a small hotel. It's
convenient to walk all over town and is just down from the
gondola if you are there during ski season. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast--juice, yogurt, bagels, coffee. Book room 203 if you like lots of windows and light.

  • Liked — the size of the room, the tall windows, refrig and how the room was decorated
  • Disliked — front desk not welcoming; no designated parking
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 96traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed at Independence Square B&B over July 4th weekend because everywhere else was booked. There were some nice aspects -- our room was very clean and most things were in order. The jacuzzi on the roof
was kind of nice to watch the fireworks from. But while there were no
major problems, there were a litany of annoyances.

When we arrived, the air conditioner was off and our room was in the 80s and stifling. We left the air conditioner on high for several hours and returned to find it still hot; only the fan was working. Power cycling the air conditioner worked and it seemed to function ok after that but the next day the maids left all the windows shades open so our room was boiling when we got back anyways. The drain in the sink didn't work, the coffee at breakfast was so old as to be inedible (and I am not picky) and when we got up to the jacuzzi for the 4th, it was so hot we could barely get in, and had to spend 10 minutes mixing the water. The second day we got to breakfast there were no napkins and we had to wait 5-10 minutes for the desk clerk to get off the phone to ask for them. The yogurt they served at breakfast was past the sell-by date. This is not a "B&B" -- while there is a "common room" on each floor, they're not used and as another reviewer stated, breakfast is not exactly lovingly prepared.

Overall, for what you pay in Aspen, I'd hope for some more attention to detail. The location is good if you ski, but I can't recommend this place unless you get a stellar price.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyoak, web marketing manager at The Independence Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Hello, and thanks for your review.

It has been some time since your stay at the Independence Square hotel in downtown Aspen, but our management team felt compelled to respond to give you an update.

The Independence Square is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Aspen, and was built in the late 19th century. It is one of the few places in Aspen that offer "lodge" (or traditional hotel-style) rooms. While not a large a the modern hotel room, the Indy offers convenience and variety (each unit is decorated differently) right on the Cooper Avenue Mall and only one block from the gondola.

Frias Properties of Aspen now manages the Independence Square. There's an entirely new management team in place and many of the units have been remodeled. Also, many of the units now feature air conditioning! We have also improved the quality of the daily complimentary continental breakfast.

If you ever decide to come back to Aspen, give the improved Independence Square a look, or call one of our vacation specialists directly at Frias Properties, Aspen's leader in vacation rental lodging.

Thanks again, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independence Square

Property: The Independence Square
Address: 404 S Galena St, Aspen, CO 81611-1820
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independence Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independence Square hotel, Aspen's historic landmark lodge, offers modern-day convenience just one block from Aspen Mountain. Located in the heart of downtown Aspen and directly across the street from the Ruby Park bus station, you can take a step back in time without leaving the conveniences of today. The Independence Square hotel provides concierge and guest services; a complimentary continental breakfast; a rooftop hot tub and deck; high-speed wireless Internet; and air conditioning. Frias Properties of Aspen guests also receive free passes to the Aspen Club & Spa, the valley's premier full-service spa and workout facility. (Passes to the Aspen Club & Spa can be picked up from any Frias Properties front desk during business hours.) The Rubey Park bus station, less than a block away, offers free transportation around Aspen as well as free buses to Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independence Square Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing