We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really like this place except.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“We really like this place except.......”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We are still at The Limelight as this review is being written. The room is fine, the location is great, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The one thing that is making our stay somewhat unpleasant is the presence of the rugby players who have taken over the lobby of this hotel. There is a very large group of 40-60 year old rugby players staying here and playing on the field right across the street. It has also been raining on and off all the while we have been here. So these guys play rugby all day, then come back to the hotel lobby, all sweaty, injured, and caked in mud, and proceed to treat the lobby like it is their personal locker room! They take their shirts off to get a rub down from a therapist, lay all over the furniture and floor covered in mud, and hang around like that for hours. Not only does it make it difficult to find a spot to sit in in the otherwise very inviting lobby, one also has to endure seeing and smelling them. Trust me---they are not a pretty sight. I did speak to one of the hotel representatives at the desk about this. He sounded sympathetic and said he would see what could be done, but I didn't get the sense that he really got how offensive these guys were. So bottom line---this is a really good place to stay in downtown Aspen, but you might want to check first to see if the rugby players will be there at the same time.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which was fine, but heard the rooms on the fourth floor were nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencemoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    190
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
270
535
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples,Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful days at this property. I've already reviewed the room etc.
Upon leaving and arriving back at home, I discovered that I had left jewelery behind. I called the hotels (we were all over the state) that I thought I might have left the bag.
The Limelight called 11 days after our departure to say :We have your jewelery!
I was so excited and happy.
I commend the staff and the owners. Service with a smile!
Being a New Yorker and very jaded I really thought it was a lost cause.
The staff has made me a believer again in the goodness of people.
Thanks again to the staff, owners, management , cleaning staff and all involved.
SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 4th floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblh4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The staff are the highlight...professional without being stuffy, accomodating, friendly and fun. The room we had was great, on the top (fourth) floor with a patio facing the mountain. Very comfortable, clean, spacious, with a handy fridge and microwave. Despite the fact that there were lots of kids and dogs, and that our patio overlooked the pool, and that is was Labor Day weekend, our room was quiet. Great location just barely off the main commercial drags, again, keeping the noise level down but within blocks of restaurants, banks, etc. A good continental breakfast with efficient staff keeping everything stocked, and good happy hour prices for food and snacks. I only used the pool once, but it was clean and uncrowded. Oh, yes, laundry facilities!

Room Tip: Highest floor has balcony. We were in 410 which was away from the elevator and ice machine and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GullChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapalua, Maui Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I booked the Limelight Lodge a couple of years ago but had to cancel. I should have forfeited a deposit but they didn't charge me. I knew the next time I was in Aspen, I would need to try this hotel that recognizes sometimes cancellations are unavoidable. Upon our arrival, the desk staff was excellent. Valet staff was friendly and helpful. The room was as good as the Hyatt nearby with a full kitchen and large living room and bedroom. The pool area was a little small and hard to find chaise lounges but we were there on Labor Day weekend. The bar area had good pizzas. The parking was convenient and accessible from the lobby by elevator and fully covered and secure with remote opener from Hymen St. The accommodations were extremely clean and appeared almost new. There's a complimentary shuttle as well. There is a well equipped but small fitness facility. We will definitely stay here again. It's nice to find a new high quality place in Aspen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwestmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Loved the hotel. The staff was friendly, the beds comfortable and the rooms clean and very nice. I loved the fireplace. The location is the best. We walked where ever we wanted to go and everything was only a few blocks away. We went to Jimmy's Steak House and had an excellent meal. Went to the Aspen Spa it was nice, but a couple days later went to the Remede Spa at St. Regis, totaly worth the money. Would go back and stay at Limelight. PS Loved the breakfast. Perfect for an active day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisiaUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Limelight is a sister property to Little Nell-- and they've done a great job with their renovation. Bar/restaurant is great, location is perfect, and rooms are large and nicely appointed. Service is friendly and they are well staffed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a great hotel. We just spent four nights there for my brother's wedding weekend. It's right in the heart of Aspen, walking distance to everything. The deluxe Queen room was large, nicely furnished, and equipped with a small fridge and microwave. The common areas such as the lobby, pool, and jacuzzi's were all top notch. The continental breakfast was very good featuring delicious house-made granola. There are single-speed cruiser bikes available for free 2 hour use. All in all a very nice place to stay. What really stood out was the great attitude and helpfulness of the staff. They were all first class. The hotel felt fairly high-end without being stuffy. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, unpretentious property right in town.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limelightlodge, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Santander62,

Thank you for staying with us for your brother’s wedding! He picked a great town and time of year to get married. I am glad to know that you were able to utilize our cruiser bikes, enjoyed the breakfast and the atmosphere that our hotel offers! Most importantly, our staff made an impression on you that they were "first class." We all look forward to having you return to stay with us.

Thank you,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing