We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern River, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Lovely hotel , close to the slopes , food and drinking .Great sized room with gas log fire , big bath room . Nice little extras free transport , complementary continental breakfast , friendly staff and guest laundry - if like us great when you are near the end of a long holiday to get some washing done .Brilliant hotel - recommend highly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    182
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
257
516
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We arrived and were treated like welcome family!! The room was perfect, bed very comfortable. Everything you could need standard in the room. The heated pool and hot tubs a so well kept and clean. The bar, fireplace and free breakfast are wonderful too... Staff are at your service anytime and very helpful with restaurants, directions and other advise. Parking indoors for only $15 a night with Remote control.

Room Tip: Upper floors have mountain views of the amazing Aspen ski slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khambyStillwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have been staying at the limelight for many years, going back when it was a simple family owned ski lodge. The beautiful 4 star new facility built on the same location is fabulous. Now owned by the Aspen Ski Corp the service is excellent and staff well trained.
It is moderately priced by Aspen standards. The staff is welcoming and very friendly, especially Peter who has worked there a long time and is extremely helpful with his knowledge of the area. There is an included, European style continental breakfast offering coffees, teas, pastry, cheeses and cold cuts well as a happy hour and a restaurant with a limited Italian style menu featuring wood fired pizza. The choice of rooms varies. Available are are rooms with cozy, gas fireplaces as well as suites . They are all nicely decorated. The location is right in the middle of town across the street from a park. You can walk to anyplace in town. Much of the hotel is pet friendly, as is the park across the street. Consistently, our repeat stays here have been very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south bend
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

O.K. I've never been to Aspen, CO before. And, yes, we were traveling during the "off" season. However, the Limelight Lodge needs to be a hotel that everyone considers based on our experience. I traveled with my mother, she is 82!, to Aspen for the first time ever so she could experience the mountains. We were hoping for some John Denver nostalgia, but unfortunately, that never happened. But the staff-Claire & Joe the Bartender-were amazing and helpful and made us feel like if we needed anything, they were there for us. The lobby & rooms were as beautiful as the pictures I saw online. The owners really did a magnificent job upgrading the decor, the style, the feel-really everything is top notch with the hotel. The staff was great-from Brian who picked us up to Alex who helped out during dinner when we needed a quick pizza. The location is great because you are across this great big field where all the locals run their dogs and then you can walk to all the restaurants and shops. The food & bar service at the hotel was superb and we loved the shuttle that could take us anywhere we wanted to go, and then when we were finished with our sightseeing, we just called the hotel and they came to pick us up. To travel with someone who is a little up in the years and to have this connection and comfort, it truly was priceless and the hotel did everything we could ask for and more. Thanks to all at the Limelight!!

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor near lobby are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbendpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have always stayed at the Limelite (former spelling)/Limelight - for 37 years! When the new owners took over last year, we admit, we were somewhat skeptical of the overal quality and service with which we have been accustomed. Last year, the atmosphere was somewhat tense which is understandable; however, this year was like coming home as it had been. We made a few new friends at the lodge with whom we hope to stay in contact. We gained an immediate and friendly connection with a few of the new staff members.

You will NOT find better service in town no matter the price you would pay. We know you will find your stay at the Limelight Lodge in Aspen, Colorado as pleasant as we have. It is like experiencing the warmth of family!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UteCitySlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limelightlodge, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
UteCitySlicker,

Wow-From the Paas Family to us your commitment to the Limelight over the past 37 years is amazing and appreciated! I am glad to know that we were able to convey a feeling of warmth to you! We have a great staff here as you mentioned in your review and they take great pride in creating this type of atmosphere for our guests. From all of us at the Limelight, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Physically excellent. Staff could polite but could have been more knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

What a gem this is! Right in the heart of Aspen, Limelight Lodge has the look and vibe of a modern ski lodge with high end finishings. The name is deceiving – I imagined an old lodge past its prime, but it is definitely the opposite. The name is derived from the 1960s LimeLiters folk singing group who frequently played in the bar that occupied the spot where the Limelight Lodge was later constructed.

There is a large airy public/commons area that has a very good feel about it. It is utilized for the morning (complimentary) breakfast, a gathering spot for new and old friends, and in the afternoon becomes a bar and Italian restaurant with a brief but interesting menu (pizzas from the pizza oven, pasta dishes, salads). A great place to hang out. Breakfast is “European Contintental”: cold meats, cheeses, breads, bagels, yogurt, granola, fruit, cereals, pastries, etc. A huge array of lox and bagels were also provided on the Sunday we were there. Definitely a major cut above most complimentary continental breakfasts I’ve encountered. All was very tasty and high quality.

The rooms are large, airy, and very comfortable. Beds are great, bedding is double sheeted down comforter. Large nightstands provide plenty of room to store books, etc bedside. A large dresser and very large closet (with shelving and in-room safe) provide lots of room for clothing and gear storage. The king room we were in was large enough to also easily accommodate a sofa and a desk. It also included a “kitchenette” with a small refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bar sink. The only caution: room 114 is lovely but has no windows, just large double doors that open onto the public swimming pool/hot tub area. The hotel staff also mentioned that there are 2 or 3 other rooms in the hotel with windows that don’t open. If you like to sleep with windows open, make a special request not to be booked into 114 or one of these other rooms.

Bathrooms are marble & granite and have a luxurious feel about them. Again, lots of storage space for guest’s bring-along toiletries and the quality of the soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion provided is very high. There is a lighted make-up mirror (with magnification) and a high end hair dryer that – gasp – isn’t attached to the wall! This makes it much easier to not bogart the bathroom when drying one’s hair (not to mention making it faster than trying to do so in a steamy bath). Unusually well thought-out.

The room design was also convenient for those that travel with an abundance of electronic gadgets. There are electrical outlets everywhere. No more crawling under the bed or unplugging all the lamps in the room to find a way to re-charge your toys.

Finally, I can’t say enough positive things about the staff here. Friendly, outgoing, competent, and well-trained they all go the extra mile to ensure that patrons have a pleasant stay. For example, upon check-in we found that we had been assigned room 114 (not knowing that room’s limitations we had not requested windows that open). Due to a large rugby tournament in town the hotel was 100% booked. The front desk staff (all four of them working in tandem) were able to juggle around a few rooms and relocate us to a higher floor with opening windows. They did so cheerfully and quickly, then volunteered to help us move our luggage. Likewise, the staff in the breakfast/bar/commons area were all very efficient, yet warm and friendly.

Limelight Lodge earns my highest recommendation – a full 5 stars.

Room Tip: Room 114 has no windows, only double doors that open to commons/swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing