We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous night in the heart of Aspen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous night in the heart of Aspen”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel has been re-done since I was last there, and we were totally pleased with the room, the common areas, the bar and the restaurant. It was also a great value for the money. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    183
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
262
523
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed there last winter for our first time in aspen. We loved it so much. The hotel was in a very good location by walking distance to everywhere. Gondola ride is just a few min away. The front service was ok but we liked the lady at the time we checked out. We were asking for late check out and our answer was no at the first time then she was trying to help if we still want it she will give us staying longer. Room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was ok. Overall, we will come back for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYoungexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We just spent a 3-night mini spring vacation in Aspen and stayed at the Limelight for the first time. I've stayed at most of the nicer hotels in Aspen and this is definately my new favorite. The hotel is bright, modern, very nice without being overdone. The staff are excellent. The room is very comfortable (we had a king deluxe room with balcony). A nice complimentary breakfast is served and the total package is better than I've experienced at the Jerome, the St. Regis and other hotels in town, and at a more reasonable price. It's in the center of everything, many excellent restaurants just a short walk away and only a few blocks to the base lift at Ajax.

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: upgrade to a King room with balcony on the 4th floor, overlooking the pool and away from teh street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

What can I say? I stayed here for a week in May and loved it.

Starting from the airport pickup by the knowledgable, friendly and helpful driver, the spotless (and I mean spotless), large and comfortable room, the great breakfast and all at a great rate (ok, May is the low season, I know). I am definitely returning the next time I'm in Aspen.

Rarely have I been at a hotel where I wished I could have stayed longer, and if you look at my other reviews, you'll know I'm not an easy to please customer.

The staff was really helpful in pointing me to a hiking trail, giving me a basic map and making sure I knew what to expect (snow at 11K ft). When I returned, they debriefed me to get a first hand report of the actual conditions.

The kitchennete (Microwave and fridge) was really nice to have and I made use of it a couple of nights.

The only bad part of this trip was realizing how lousy the other hotels on the rest of my trip were.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Limelight hotel is located in the heart of town and offers spacious and modern rooms with free wifi. The hotel has a swimming pool with warm water. The staff at the reception was extremely helpful in planning my staying in Aspen. There was no need to go to the visitor centre. The breakfast was not bad but if you arrive at the wrong time there are too many people in the breakfast room and some items of the breakfast buffet are not available anymore. The hotel offers parking in their one garage but this is expensive. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Limelight on a recent visit to Aspen. My first evening I unfortunately suffered from altitude sickness, not a pleasant experience. The staff were amazing. They transported me to the local hospital for a checkup and an oxygen tank for the night. They made sure we were as comfortable as we could be. I was like new in 12 hours.
The Limelight is centrally located to everything in Aspen. It offers a great lobby for relaxing and socializing with a view of the mountains. There is a fireplace and firepits on the outdoor deck. Bar and food service were excellent and breakfast was thoughtful and nourishing.
The room was comfortable with all the appropriate amenities. What is most impressive about the hotel is the staff. They are totally committed to service and excellence. We had the pleasure of dealing with Elizabeth the assistant manager (the hotel needs to drop the assistant from her title) no disrespect to the manager is intended. Having been a restaurant owner and chef for 20 years my mantra has been that quality and service are critical for success. The Limelight has that in spades. There is no question that when we return to Aspen our first choice will be the Limelight.

Room Tip: I imagine most rooms are excellent. When making the reservation ask what room they reccommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
jonathan s,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us in Aspen. I am sorry to hear that you suffered from altitude sickness, but it sounds like you made a speedy recovery. The team here at the Limelight takes great pride in providing exceptional guest service! Elizabeth is a great example of this and a great leader on our team. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the hotel has to offer! We all look forward to your return to the Limelight!

Regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend, taking advantage of the Colorado resident rate (a screaming deal). The room was exceptionally comfortable and staff incredibly friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the bar area playing Scrabble each evening we were there. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing