We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel experience”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent 10 days traveling through beautiful CO and our stay at the Limelight was definitely the best hotel experience we had. It's in a perfect location for walking around Aspen, the staff was friendly and helpful, we loved our room with the large bathroom, comfortable bed, and kitchenette area with in-room Keurig fresh-brewed coffee. The morning breakfast was excellent and convenient. We also enjoyed sitting outside by the fire pits in the evening, having wine with their delicious wood-fired pizza. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    185
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
264
529
51
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The Limelight offers a friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, wonderful food and a wonderful bed. I have not slept this good in a long time. The kids had a great time playing board games in the lounge area.They also enjoyed the park, playing with friends. The pool and hot tub gave me time to relax and enjoy the warm Aspen fall day. We even took a day trip to the Maroon Bells and saw Moose, a big highlight of the trip. We enjoyed our stay very much. Great time in Aspen and the Limelight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were in Aspen for the John Denver tribute and stayed at the lovely Limelight Hotel in Aspen Colorado. This is my second visit to this hotel and it will not be the last. This hotel is reasonably priced with five star service, and the reception staff are the nicest people I have ever met. We were given a list of events for the tribute week along with a list of restaurants to try during our stay. The rooms are large, with plenty of light, and spotlessly clean, but the very best feature of this hotel is the lobby lounge, which is warm, comfortable, has floor-length windows all round and the most wonderful open fireplace one could imagine.
The included breakfast is also one of the best in America (and I have tried a few), with home-made granola that would make a heart sing.
The location of the Limelight is another reason to stay - just a hop, step, and a jump from the middle of the commercial area of Aspen. The Wheeler Opera House is literally a one-minute walk from the front door of the hotel.
The Limelight Hotel is one of Aspen's best-kept secrets - Say hello to Christian at reception!

Room Tip: Stay at the Limelight to experience Aspen at its very best......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We usually stay at the St. Regis, but a few times a year now we stay at the Limelight. The rooms are spacious and clean, the lobby is inviting to hang out in day or night (with live music some evenings), the free breakfast is a perfect way to start the day, and the location across from Wagner Park could not be better. While the Limelight is not billed as a full-service hotel, it is pretty close and the prices are a great value for Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunandskiLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I have stayed several times at the Limelight over the last few years, and it never fails to meet my expectations. The rooms with the fireplaces are the best. Clean, comfortable beds, large bathrooms...just really nice without being ostentatious. Their continental breakfasts are a main reason I stay there - can't beat the smoked salmon, the Fage greek yogurt with fresh fruit and granola, and bakery pastries and danishes. I love the fact that you can park your car and never get in it for the weekend. You can either walk anywhere downtown, or use their shuttle service (Mike the shuttle driver is super friendly! And he'll give you running tips as well!). Their lobby is large and comfortable, with a nice fireplace for chilly Aspen evenings. I highly recommend it and will stay there again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurangoFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
DurangoFam,

Thank you for being such a loyal Limelight guest! The smoked salmon and FAGE yogurt are some of our guests’ favorite items on the continental breakfast. We are hoping to have some new items ready for this winter that will make it even more enticing!

Mike is a great person to get tips from, especially if it has anything to do with running, biking or swimming, as those activities are his passion. Last year he completed the Kona Ironman Triathlon, so you know that guy knows his stuff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks for another stay!

Regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My second trip to Aspen and the first stay at the Limelight. Was there for the John Denver Tribute and stayed in a Terrace suite on the 4th floor. Worth the extra money for the view of the mountains and the town. Loved the fireplace and the bathroom was huge. Great toiletries too. Used the underground parking. Well worth it. The Limelight is close to everything especially the Wheeler Opera House. The breakfast each morning is bountiful. And the Limelight Lounge pizza is wonderful. The staff is fantastic and extremely helpful. Can't wait for a return visit. I highly recommend the LImelight.

Room Tip: 4th floor is quiet. Terrace room is well worth it. The view is outstanding.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed at the Limelight hotel during an ice hockey torurnament. The hotel was clean, in a great location, comfortable and the hotel staff provided excellent service. They allow dogs so our team was able to bring our favorite family members to teh tournament. Most hotels do not prefer to have a team of 15 boys running around teh hotel. The Limelight was very supportive of any requests we had including allowing us to have a pizza party in the lobby and go trick or treating door to door. The breakfast was really good and there was plenty of food. The rooms are HUGE and the decor is very pleasing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#2 of 34 in Aspen
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing