We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel has everything we want in a hotel: large terraces, liberal pet policy, good concierge, comfortable, bright rooms, small refrigerator, reasonable parking, guest laundry room; and none of the things you don't need: bellmen, valet parking, doormen, mini-bar, nightly turndown.
The building is not the most luxuriously appointed. The carpets, woodwork, plumbing fixtures are bare-bones. Instead, they put the money into the architecture and furnishings: a great soaring light-filled lobby and spacious guest rooms with the best terraces we've ever encountered, filled with comfortable and attractive outdoor furniture, including a very large sectional sofa, two chaise lounges, and a table and chairs for four.

Room Tip: 4th floor for the spacious terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a great time at the Limelight, it was a very good value. The breakfast was very impressive, the bed was comfortable and the service was warm and friendly. However, the Adventure Concierge was not very knowledgeable nor did she seem to care.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just had our first trip to Aspen Colorado and stayed at the Limelight Hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and each person knew how to do everything, never had to wait for someone else. The room was comfortable, best pillows on the bed I've ever had. In fact, we commented on them, and received a letter with the types of pillows and how to get them. Then--received a pair of pillows from the property manager. The breakfast was included and it was a great breakfast every day. We sat outside on the deck, others sat in by the fireplace. Wireless internet faster than my college node! Free bikes to use (but if you are a biker, you might want to rent in town). The hotel is by the park, music on the street corners, more restaurants than you can ever eat at. It was a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: I was worried about allergies and requested a room that had not housed pets--no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I will be returning. Manager Richard Stettner and his staff were wonderful and very friendly-service was fantastic-not over the top just perfect. The location of the LImelight is just a block away from all the action, situated on a quiet street-access to everything is right there. The pool is refreshing, the breakfast perfect for those who want to fuel up pre bike or hike! Well thought out options and all very healthy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspen072103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Limelight Hotel in Aspen is a very cool place. Contemporary decor is unusual for this area, and the fourth floor rooms have a fantastic outdoor space with views of the mountains. Our outdoor space had a sofa lounge area, a high table with four bar stools, and two comfortable chaise lounge chairs. But . . . that being said . . . service was less than stellar, one of our lights in the outdoor space was burned out, and our key was constantly not working, as was the case with several other guests in our hall. For the price, it needs attention. They have a wonderful breakfast, though, that is part of the room cost. It's much more than a continental breakfast; it's a hot buffet with different choices every day. The location is fantastic; an easy walk to town. All they need is a little more attention to detail to receive a 5 star rating! I'd go back . . .

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor room with outdoor space. It's the quiet side of the hotel, has a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShouldbeaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just returned from our stay. The limelight staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was excellent and really made a difference in a city that discourages parking.
The breakfast was excellent. Each morning a different item was featured and there was an abundance of fresh fruit and pastries. Great location. Very large rooms. Outdoor pool a real plus. The only complaint would be that I think the rooms, although quite nice, could have had a bit more character or charm. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Mindful65,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Limelight Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Aspen and that the staff was friendly and helpful.

I do have some exciting news about our rooms! We are in the process of updating our rooms. This will start with a "mock up" room that will be completed this October and then we will complete all of the rooms in the fall of 2014. We plan on updating the carpet, paint, drapes, chairs, tables and lamps to name a few of the items.

If your travels bring you back to Aspen I am more than happy to share with the drawings that we have. I could not be more excited for what this will mean to the hotel and to our guests!

Kind regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a great trip to Aspen. My room on the 4th floor was well appointed with a comfy bed, nice chair to relax and nice views.

The pool area has both sofa style seating and pool lounge chairs, a little on the small side, but we did enjoy our late afternoon time there.

The hotel is extremely well located, and a nice benefit that they offer airport transportation, The breakfast was abundant with both hot and cold selections- some days the eggs were overcooked, other days the baked goods were a tired looking, but overall the quality of the food was fine.

My biggest gripe with this hotel, and a reason I am likely never to return, is that the breakfast area, including the buffet line was OVERRUN with dogs. I know this is a dog friendly hotel - and I think it is nice that people can bring dogs, but dogs do not belong in food service areas. There were a minimum of 4 different dogs walking through and sitting in the food service/dining areas all 4 days I was there. I finally said something to the employees working at the front desk on the 4th day and the manager told me they try to keep the dogs out of the food service area - however, he was in the dining area, as were numerous other employees, and they did nothing about the dogs which seemed to encourage more people who had dogs to also bring them to breakfast. I particularly didn't enjoy the dog owner who sat down next to me at breakfast and allowed her dog to sit with his face about 1 foot from my plate - she was on her cell phone and evidently too busy to control her dog.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear sftraveler12,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It seems that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of pets that were in the breakfast area. While we are a pet friendly hotel we do ask that our pet owners follow our policies and one of those policies does not allow for pets in the food service areas. The staff here absolutely should have done a better job of enforcing this policy so that all of our guests could have enjoyed the breakfast without having to worry about someone's pet getting too close.

I do hope that you choose to return to Aspen and stay with us again! If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 970.925.5802 or my email address at rstettner@limelighthotel.com.

Kind regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
518 reviews
1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £197 - £824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing