We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocky Mountain High, Higher, Highest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountain High, Higher, Highest”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Lovely staff. The best location. Groovy. Awesome. Many many happy memories here. The Limelight, once owned and run by the 50s/60s band, the Limeliters, is a modern hotel that has blazing fires outside and is the epitome of comfort and service. It has a small but everything-one-needs gym, and a couple of large hot tubs and a pool. From poolside you look up into the mountains, which are lovely in September, and must be amazing in December. A short walk across the rugby pitch (yes!) and you are into the heart of Aspen's bijou catwalk-like shopping district. In fact the one thing bad about Aspen is that it now seems overrun by high-end luxury goods stores, which of course attracts the filth from the cyrillic alphabet countries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    182
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
256
516
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrived the first night to the aftermath of a rugby game played in the field across the road from the hotel. Drunken middle aged men abounded and it seemed we'd checked into a post match locker room party rather than a hotel. Our stay improved the following day and we loved the spacious room, fantastic included breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location and easy to walk to anywhere in town.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderingKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

On our previous trip to Aspen, we stayed in the St. Regis, and booked the Limelight this time. Better choice! We'd read about some hallway noise, but our superior room on an upper floor was quiet, extremely comfortable and well-equipped. And the location is terrific; a very short walk away from shops and restaurants. Even better, the Limelight had one of the best breakfast buffets we've enjoyed in a very long time at a hotel - just a marvelous spread of various options, all very well prepared. We even changed our plans a bit to enjoy their pool and hot tub - so nice after a strenuous hike. Great choice for Aspen.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were very quiet. There are some rooms right off the front desk/lobby which may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at The Limelight. SO happy to have experienced this hotel. Room had view of park and a lovely sundown each evening. The Limelight is fabulously located, and is super clean and updated. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful.

What stood out to us at The Limelight is the friendly staff and how quick their response time is. We used the complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport, and all over town. The shuttle drivers were all friendly and helpful, and we never waited long for a pick-up.

This hotel has earned their stripes and the staff should be commended!!! Thank you for a great time - we shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parieeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently returned from Aspen and I have to give thanks to the Assistant Manager, Elizabeth, for making us feel welcome when we finally arrived at the hotel. After a slight accident on the way into Aspen, she couldn't have been more helpful. The rest of our stay was great with friendly staff and proximity to downtown Aspen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Flooding in Rocky Mt. National Park created last minute change in travel plans for us. Decided to come to Aspen. We like to stay in boutique inns or hotels and found favourable recommendations from Trip Advisor on this location. We booked a deluxe king room at a discount because we stayed for 2 nights. We were not disappointed. Firstly, the hotel is well located within an easy walk to everything in this upscale town. It is, of course, minutes from the ski hills and nearby mountains. The room was large and comfortable and quiet. As well there is a fireplace in the room, a Keurig coffee machine, a wet bar and fridge. If you are into drinks and a social scene there is a nice bar in the lounge with couches and a fireplace, all very hip. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast comes with the room and even though it is 'buffet style' there is a full complement of hot and cold selections, all of very good quality. Parking is available (at an exta cost) in the basement of the hotel and this was helpful since it rained on and off during our visit. I have no negative comments about this facility. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place or come back. We were not disappointed with the change in our travel plans.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent two nights at the Limelight, room was nice, spacious, service was great, breakfast (included) was terrific. Really, no complaints at all. Staff was very friendly, helped me with multiple requests. Room was clean, big, nicely decorated. Didn't get to use the pool, but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is pet free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 35 in Aspen
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing