We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It's a little funky. The room was very large (bathroom,too) and the beds were comfortable. They had a great complimentary breakfast in a relaxing space. Service was excellent. Because it was off season, we got an incredibly low rate, less than $150 for a room that would go for $600+ during ski season. At that rate, I would go back and stay for a week just to chill out, even if I had nothing special to do in Aspen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just spent a week at the limelight & could not have been happier. It is in a great location in town, close to lots of bars, restaurants, the bus terminal & an easy walk to the base of Aspen mountain although the hotel drivers are happy to drop you anywhere. If you want to go to snowmass make sure you book a ride early though- we left it too late the day we went but caught the free local bus which stops at the end if the street which was pretty easy too.
The staff in our experience were all incredibly friendly & helpful. Our luggage was lost for 36hrs due the weather & flight changes & the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. Likewise the ski valet staff, drivers & bar staff were all delightful & could not have done more.
Our room on the second floor was spacious & well appointed. Very comfy bed, great pillows & linen. There is a fridge, microwave, iron & ironing board & plenty of hanging & cupboard space. Bathroom was large, only comment was shower head was not great.
We loved the public areas of the hotel. All very modern & comfortable, great outdoor hot tubs & pool, great vibe in the bar/lounge areas with nice live music some nights. Coin operated guest laundry was also really handy.
As far as food s concerned, the breakfast was good but not great. The hotel was busy & some mornings was hard to find somewhere to sit at a table- we ended up perched on a sofa a couple of mornings. There was an extensive breakfast buffet which largely supplies something for everyone but just leaves you feeling short of saying wow! Pastries a little a bit heavy, the hot options often a bit unappealing- over cooked scrambled eggs, rubbery frittata but also on occasions great crispy bacon or sausages. Although we didn't have dinner, the options looked good & we did have fantastic pizza from the wood fired oven which seems to crank up as the mountain closes & keep going all night.
Given the other other assets that Aspen offers in terms of the town & the skiing, the Limelight simply turns the whole experience into something very special. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sydneygirl99,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences at The Limelight. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed the rooms, value and complimentary transportation. I’m also extremely glad to hear you were met by a helpful staff who made your stay even more special. And thanks for the feedback on breakfast. We’re always experimenting with new items and ways to keep it fresh and delicious for our guests.
Warm regards,
General Manager Richard Stettner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am the event producer for Aspen Gay Ski Week and we just wrapped up our week-long event for 2014. We were in the hotel for the past 10 days starting January 10th. I had a room block for over 60 nights, we used the bar for evening parties, we used their meeting facilities, outdoor areas including 2 twenty person hot tubs & pool, guest laundry, penthouse, parking garage and so much more. They also have a ski concierge as well as free shuttle service anywhere in the vicinity with drivers that are more than happy to assist you in any way possible. The free internet is the fastest I have seen in a hotel by far. The free continental breakfast is expanded by anyones definition and not your usual dry cereal and doughnuts many hotels try to pass of as "breakfast".

This is by far the best property & staff in Aspen! They have a "consider it done" attitude about everything and no request is met with anything but a "yes or let me find out for you". This is our 5th year at the hotel and we are more impressed every year with the outstanding service, cleanliness and roominess of the guest rooms and over all property. The management staff is always present and available and at the front desk, you do not have to look far for help.

I have lived in Aspen for over 20 years and have been doing events around the country for over 15 and if you are looking for a place to hold a corporate event, party or wedding of any size I highly recommend the Limelight Hotel in Aspen.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very large and can accommodate a roll away bed if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Pamela,

Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so glad to know that the staff met your (and your event's) needs. We really enjoy the energy and fun that Aspen Gay Ski Week brings to Aspen and are proud to be the host hotel.

Cheers to next year!

Richard Stettner, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Limelight. The staff was universally helpful and attentive. The free shuttle to the 4 mountains and the airport made the stay so much more enjoyable. The lounge and food experience was also very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

…you happen to visit during Gay Ski Week. We've stayed at the Limelight several times and really enjoyed our stay. During Gay Ski Week, however, the restaurant is closed and the bar is changed into a gay meeting place where you can't even sit down. There's very loud recorded techno music, and the wine (if you can get a glass) is served in plastic cups. You don't even want to hear about the pool and spa situation. I don't say these things because I dislike the gays being there (We often go to Aspen during GSW), but I don't like losing the bar and restaurant at the hotel in which we are staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear LonnieAnd,
Indeed, we are the host hotel for Aspen Gay Ski Week, which closes our restaurant operations and changes the nature of our hotel common areas. We apologize this was not communicated fully to you at your time of booking, as we try and make guests booking with us over these dates aware of the changes to our operations. We're extremely sorry for the oversight and do hope you will return to The Limelight Hotel. As a valued return guest, we'll be reaching out to you directly to discuss this matter further.
Best,
Richard Stettner, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Limelight over New Year's. We loved the location - everything in town was an easy walk. If it wasn't walkable (like Highlands to ski), the hotel would shuttle us. The staff did a great job with dinner reservations and really helped us out to find the best restaurants. The daily breakfast buffet was delicious, convenient and an easy start to the day. The ski valet was helpful and convenient. When our flights were cancelled three days in a row the fabulous staff helped us out re-booking a room and then helped us get to Denver where we could fly out. The staff always took extra steps to make our stay most enjoyable and stress-free. The hotel staff treated us with such friendly, helpful service - we decided we must come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guerracool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We loved the Limelight. We visited over the summer, to escape the mid-west's heat by heading to the mountains for 2 weeks. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. We walked nearly everywhere and a car was not necessary. The staff was friendly, and helpful with area info. We had kids in tow but this is hotel would be a great place for a couples trip next time!! Sorry, kids :) We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbandmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
972 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £170 - £768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing