We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff here makes you feel right at home and were very accommodating throughout our stay. The lobby/restaurant/bar is one large space where you could play a board game or just chill in front of the fireplace. It is a pet-friendly hotel, which didn't bother us except when the "owners" didn't pick-up after their pets quick enough and we had to watch our step. The room was clean and tremendous compared with your typical chain. I was very impressed by the amount of closet space...three closets...for all that ski gear, I suppose. We had a King deluxe with a wonderful view of the mountain. The room had a mini-fridge, micro, bar-sink, glassware, plates and utensils which all came in quite handy. The bed itself was comfortable, but, for some reason, the platform was a little low. It was a shower-only bathroom and because the curtain was about 6" shy of the floor, the tile floor gets wet and slippery...you'll have lots of towels though. Breakfast was complimentary and wonderful! Everyday there was an assortment of fresh fruits, yogurts w/toppings, homemade granola, cereals, muffins, pastries, bagels, sliced breads, cold cuts and a pancake machine, and, the hot entree item would change daily. We are not skiers, so, I can't speak to the convenience to the mountain, but, it was within walking distance and convenient to restaurants in town. That was a good thing because we had a late season snow storm during our stay...about 4". FYI - we were unaware that many of the notable restaurants and resorts in the area actually shutdown for about 4 - 6 weeks before the start of the summer season and we happened to visit during this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a fantastic hotel located in downtown Aspen. The lobby, sitting area and bar were well laid out and the staff was attentive and friendly.
My hubby and I loved our spacious room. It had awesome views and the beds were comfy. I loved that everything was super clean and the decor was tasteful. Also, being a pet friendly hotel was not a problem for my allergies. This place was so spotless I didn't have any trouble.
We enjoyed the s'mores experience on the patio for $20. Also, a nice perk of the hotel was the free bikes you could rent. The max allowed time to use them was around 2 hours. There was an amazing trail close bye. Oh and the free breakfast was great! Loved that they had gluten free options!
Overall a fantastic experience and look forward to coming back in the winter. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleladyslippers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed overnight at the limelight hotel for 1 night during a spring flying road trip across the country. The hotel was a recommendation from a friend and was very nice however the town of aspen was a complete disappointment. I knew it was offseason in a ski town, however having spent a lot of time in Whistler BC both before and after the 2010 Olympics, I expected that there would be fewer people and not all places open regular hours however it was dead, D E A D Dead!!!

The rooms at the limelight were clean and very nice and the people there were friendly and extremely helpful. The complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport was quick and comfortable. My only complaint for the stay was the food for dinner at the hotel as most of the other Restrauants were closed. The menu was extremely limited and although the prices were reasonable the selection and quality was a bit lacklustre. The bar was however very well stocked and the bartender was fantastic.

Great location, prices, staff and facility, I will be back for sure however probably not again to aspen in the off season, by no fault of the hotel, just seems to be the way it is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason_B_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Jason_B_604,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear the staff was friendly and responsive.

As for the off-season, we completely understand the limitations faced between winter and summer, but if you poke around enough there is still plenty going on. Our staff would be more than happy to point you to the “local secrets” that keep us all going during this time. The bike riding is great and things are uncrowded. While the restaurant and nightlife scene is more limited, there are still great live music shows at the Belly Up, and great off-season deals at restaurants. Come back and see us anytime and we’ll be happy to share what we know and make your trip special.

Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have been to this hotel many times over the years. They are consistently great - staff very friendly and courteous, rooms clean and updated, common areas clean and comfortable. Great location and their amenities - bikes, pool, hot tub are a nice extra.

Room Tip: Some floors/room are reserved for their pet friendly policy/guests. If that's not your cup of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for ten nights at the Limelight. It is a well maintained property with comfortable rooms, food and drink onsite, and a great pool/hot tub area. The location is excellent with a short walk to the main attractions in town. The best part of the Limelight is the staff. They exceeded my expectations of customer service. Any request that I had was handled in a very timely fashion, and they were always courteous. I have stayed at several different properties in Aspen, and I think the Limelight is the best overall value.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor next to the pool and hot tubs. Very convenient. I am hyper-sensitive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I made a spur-of-the-moment side trip to Aspen over Memorial Day weekend after attending a wedding in Denver. We had our dog (a lab) with us and I wasn't sure if we could find a place to stay at the last minute, but The Limelight had a room for us and we decided to make the trip. We ended up on the 4th floor with a view of the mountain, much to our delight. The great reviews here were spot on. Beautiful accommodations, very dog friendly, great service, excellent food, wonderful staff. I only wish we could've stayed longer. We're already planning another trip with the dog and the kids and will definitely book our stay here. Thanks for a great hotel experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinq-a-sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I don't know how else to put this besides the fact that the Limelight blew me away. It was better service and accomodations than I have received at higher rated and higher priced locations in Aspen. The service, the cleanliness, the upgrade (yeah wedding weekend!), the transportation, the breakfast, the bike fleet. Everything was so great and I will definitely be staying there again and again as well as recommending it to other friends and family who come to visit the Aspen area. All our wedding guests who stayed here were extremely pleased as well

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erinonsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £160 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing