We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern boutique hotel, close to Belly Up, pets welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel, close to Belly Up, pets welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We only stayed at the Limelight for one night. We chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews and its close proximity to the Aspen Belly Up, where we going for a concert. Check in was seamless and we grabbed a quick pizza in the bar area before our concert. We found all of the Limelight staff to be extremely friendly and courteous. Our room was spacious and clean. We were able to walk to our concert at the Belly Up, despite it being November (COLD). Breakfast the next morning had many delicious options. My only complaint with the hotel is specific to anyone with pet allergies. Luckily, neither my husband nor I have any allergies so we had no issues. However, our oldest son has serious pet allergies and we were surprised to see pets lounging all over the common areas, in the elevator, etc. Though we love pets, we know this hotel would be sheer misery for our son and consequently will not be able to stay here as a family. We appreciate the Limelight having some "pet-free" rooms but anyone with serious allergies should probably avoid the hotel altogether. However, if you have a pet you love to travel with, this hotel is a great choice!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anchored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello Anchored,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your son cannot stay with us because of his allergies. We do everything we can to maintain a pet friendly hotel while at the same time recognizing the needs of our guests who don't travel with pets. If you come back on your own, please stay with us again.

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    180
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
255
513
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is very clean with large rooms and exceptional location. The staff is great, from the concierge to the reception desk to the housekeepers. The location is near everything you want to be near yet peaceful and quiet. Perfect for family stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haw808Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our stay at the Limelight Hotel was better than we could ever imagine. Limelight staff picked us up from the airport which is only 15 minutes away and we were quickly settled into our room thanks to a speedy check in. Our corner room was incredibly spacious and had 5 large windows. All decor, fixtures, and amenities were updated, simple, and comfortable. The room included a large double closet, wet bar with glasses, plates, and utensils, and a luxurious bathroom. These along with the incredibly soft sheets and comforter, you are guaranteed a comfortable stay.

We received the opportunity to take part in everything the hotel had to offer. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We washed clothes in the guest laundry room. We loved the delicious locally-sourced breakfast offered daily. The spread included everything from fresh pastries, fresh yogurt with diverse toppings, and savory eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes, etc. Although we did not eat the brick oven pizza, it smelled great.

The hotel is conveniently located two blocks from Main Street, next to a park, and one block from the bus depot which offers free rides to nearly anything you would ever want to see. Additionally, there is a trail nearby, perfect for running and biking.

Best of all, the hotel offers an amazingly unique service called their Audi Test Drive Experience -- Just ask the front desk. We received the opportunity to take advantage of this experience three times during our stay. We drove a brand new Audi A8 for a few hours each day -- taking it to Independence Pass, the Grottos, and around town. It was a wonderful way to drive a luxury vehicle and experience Aspen beyond Main Street. Between walking, the local bike-share program, buses, Limelight van service, and the Audi A8, we never needed to pay for transportation.

You will not be disappointed if you stay at Limelight.

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view since you are surrounded by 360 degrees of mountains. I do suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SegaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As the mother of the bride, I stayed at the Limelight for a week and could not have been more pleased with every aspect of my stay,-- from the wedding reception held in the main lobby, the Aspen Suite, Henning and the food service, reception desk, servers, and all staff!
The food and service was outstanding and our many guests have been raving about the excellent hotel service. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Limelight was over the top!

Room Tip: Aspen suite was perfect for group. Large balcony rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Limelight this Feb/Mar for around 10 days. It was the best choice we could have made. Having only been to ski resorts in Europe, we did not know what to expect. The staff were phenomenal dealing with our group (- we are a very chatty and somewhat disorganised family at times). And they were always up for a good chat and recommending places in the area. The rooms themselves were great: very clean, large, comfortable and quiet at night. Plus the little kitchenette made it even more convenient. The hotel also offers a great service for shuttle buses to all the mountains in the area. And don't forget the free wifi which enabled us to share all our photos and make friends and family at home jealous of our adventure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are looking for super luxurious, this hotel may not be for you. If you are looking for comfort, relaxation, a place that isn't "over-the-top" but still give you everything you want in a high-end boutique-feeling hotel, I strongly suggest the limelight. You feel like you are staying at a home rather than an a hotel. The lounge is inviting with comfortable layout, a huge fireplace and great outdoor space. The rooms are great, again, nothing overly luxurious but comfortable and warming. You can't beat this location, in central Aspen, you can walk anywhere. The hotel staff was great and accommodating. Anyone looking for an amazing stay in Aspen, I strongly recommend the Limelight..

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor looking at the pool. The 4th and 1st floor had balconies. The outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scdenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Limelight for a few nights in July and would highly recommend it. Rooms are large and comfortable (loved the down comforter!), the breakfast buffet is delicious with plenty to choose from, and staff was super friendly.

I did not have a chance to take advantage of their pool, but they do have one.

Additionally, it is really well located in Aspen, lots of restaurants and shops are within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing