We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort, great people, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great comfort, great people, great value!”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I'd stayed at the Limelight Lodge for many years in the past because they are dog-friendly. Because of a move to the Northwest I hadn't been to Aspen in 8 years, so what a surprise to find that the old hotel had been razed and replaced with a gorgeous new building! Our room was huge, incredibly comfortable -- loved the bed and linens. Nice kitchenette setup with dishes, glasses, etc. Luxurious bath with double sinks, heater, timed lights, very nice bath amenities and thick terry towels. Hated to leave behind the cozy bathrobes when we left! We truly were sorry to leave after three nights of luxury and comfort and besides, it's ASPEN!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXpopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    185
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
264
530
51
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel during the Aspen Food & Wine classic so the location was ideal. The room was very spacious and clean. I also had a view of the mountainside. It is interesting that pets are allowed at this hotel, the great thing for me was that the rooms didn't give a sense that animals were all over the place. The staff was ok, not overfriendly but the owners were great and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller-Bajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We had a grand deluxe king room with a balcony. It was a beautiful room - very large with a stocked (and free) coffee/tea/hot cocoa maker in the room along with a refrigerator and microwave. Our balcony was very large but as someone else said, not very private. There was just a low railing between ours and the others on either side. The bed was comfortable with nice linens and big pillows.

The hotel was well situated in Aspen, easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. The continental breakfast was good and we appreciated that there was free coffee and hot cocoa available in the lobby 24/7. It was really nice to watch the dogs play in the park across the street while we ate on the patio outside. More than once we remarked that the hotel saved us money because the breakfast was very filling and we never purchased hot drinks the whole time we were there. We usually just took something to go in the morning when we left.

We used the pool one time but only the hot tub. It was huge. There were actually 3 areas to the pool. The hot tub, another tub similarly sized that was slightly cooler and then the main pool.

We found the service in the hotel to be excellent. While there the elevators were having problems and the staff was fantastic with handling the situation. We were extremely happy with our choice of this hotel. We loved the Limelight! The only thing we didn't like was leaving. We'd go back in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I had my heart set on staying at the Nell, which we have enjoyed several times through the years. Unfortunately, we had to visit Aspen just several days before the Nell's 3 days for the price of 2 "fall special" began. The current special was just too high for this retired couple. I even reminded them of how the whole heavy curtain rod came down on our last stay, almost breaking my nose and glasses. No one cared about about how frightening that was! Anyway, we loved the Limelight. That Kohler tub is the most comfortable and best designed I've ever found. You can slide while sitting on the bottom and there's plenty of room on the edge for shampoo, etc. Our room was very long with two queen beds and a granite counter, bar sink and refrigerator. There was a park view, along with entertaining dogs. Breakfast, included in the price, had hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, pastries, granola and yogurt. The staff at the desk were very friendly and took time to help us arrange our plans for the day. There was a computer without charge for guests. We don't want to bother to carry one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights the last week in July. This hotel was perfect for us. My husband and I were traveling with our teenage daughter. The room was lovely.

It had a small kitchen area with an under counter refrigerator, sink, cupboards with dishes, silverware, and glassware. There was even a bottle of dish washing liquid in the lower cabinets. On the way to Aspen, we stopped at a market in Glenwood Springs to purchase sandwich fixings, fresh fruit and some other snacks and drinks. I was able to store this food in the fridge and shelves in the room. Each day of our stay, we packed a picnic lunch and enjoyed some idyllic picnics in the Aspen area. This helped keep our dining bill a little lower.

The bathroom and kitchen area has granite counters. All the fixtures are high quality Kohler, unusual for a hotel. The towels were very thick and soft. There is a real hair dryer provided, not one of those wall mounted types either.

I have a difficult time sleeping away from home but I slept very well each night there. I was initially concerned when we first saw that our room was directly across from the elevators. I was worried that we would be disturbed by people coming and going on our floor. Surprisingly, even though the hotel was very busy I never heard any noise outside of our room.

We debated using the underground parking garage as it added an additional $15 per night to our bill BUT decided to go ahead. We were SO glad we did when an intense hail storm pelted the area a day later. It made it easy to come and go, knowing we had a place to park there. You can take the elevator from the garage to your floor.

The hotel's location is excellent. It is a short, easy walk to the Rubey Park bus stop where you can get a ticket and catch the bus to Maroon Bells on the Castle Maroon Route. The other routes around Aspen are free. The Crosstown Route from there will drop you at Harris Hall / Aspen Music Festival tent. We were able to take the bus back to the stop after the concert we attended at night too.

We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. They offer cold cuts and cheeses in addition to the bagels, croissants, muffins, yogurt, whole fruit and cereal. They were hustling to keep up with demand. Breakfast is served in the lovely lobby. Most guests were considerate and cleaned up after themselves but others did not (what is wrong with these people?) I did wish the staff was more diligent about cleaning up the eating area. Some mornings were better than others.

We used the laundry facilities to do laundry and I was impressed by the size of the washing machines. We did not have time to use the pool which was a shame. It looked beautiful.

This will be our place to stay in Aspen next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneStarReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2009

You immediately feel welcome when you walk into the Limelight Lodge, with it's open lobby and sitting area with large fireplace. There is a kitchen area off to the side where they serve complimentary cookies & other goodies each evening. It was nice to be able to have a quick snack after a long day on the slopes before getting ready for dinner. Great location and a hotel shuttle that was happy to take you where you needed to go. We stayed in a corner room with 2 queen beds & a small kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable and the view....breathtaking! The bathroom had granite vanity and marble tiled shower...gorgeous! The only downside is those loud hotel doors that other reviewers mentioned. I'm a sound sleeper so it didn't keep me awake but still a bit annoying to keep hearing doors opening and closing all day.

This was my first visit to Aspen and my hotel experience at the Limelight certainly added to that great experience. If I travel to Aspen again, there is nowhere else I would rather stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmettobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room that was extremely nice and large, and everything seemed practically brand new. The hotel is kept impeccably clean in all areas, which was wonderful. We were within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see and do. Lots of excellent eating places very close by. Our only problem was the loudness of the hotel room doors as they shut. It shook the walls each time anyone near us entered or exited their room. I realize this is an inherent problem in any hotel, but it seemed extra loud here. Perhaps the doors are heavier? Admittedly, we are both light sleepers, but even with earplugs we could feel it.

If you are travelling with children and/or pets and if you are a sound sleeper, I would definitely recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachpeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#2 of 34 in Aspen
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 34 in Aspen
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing