We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Quality and Service for the value in Aspen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kentucky
2 reviews
“Best Quality and Service for the value in Aspen!”
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our stay at the Limelight Lodge was a very pleasant and productive experience. The staff, especially Eva and Aaron, were extremely helpful and courteous. The amenities were second to none. Architecturally, the new Limelight takes full advantage of their location in Aspen by seamlessly joining the beauty of the hotel with the beauty and activity of Aspen by way of expansive windows in the lobby. A beautiful design. A wonderful place to call home when away from home. An excellent experience. We have already booked our stay for next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskanchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    183
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
262
523
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I booked the Limelight Lodge through hotelscom and received a decent rate ($130). Upon arrival I was given a room on the first floor directly across from the check in desk. The room was located in the lobby itself, which also serves as a living/breakfast/common area of the hotel. This area has a beautiful fireplace and lounges and tv's so needless to say there were people enjoying this space. Which also meant that there was noise from this coming directly in to our room. Although it was mid week and the vacancy sign burned bright we were told that this was the only room available.. Hmmn.

The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable so it was a shame to be woken numerous times - when people arrived in from a night out and when people started breakfast during the early hours of the morning. Parking was no hassle in the hotel garage but you do pay to park. The included breakfast was a fairly standard offering of dry croissants, toast, juice, coffee etc.

Overall I feel as though there was nothing that really stuck out and made this hotel anything other than average. Our room that was basically in the lobby and the disturbances this caused left a sour taste in my mouth. I would not stay here again because I like to know that when I arrive after a long day at a hotel that I will get what I paid for. There are plenty of establishments in Aspen that provide this. Unfortunately the Limelight Lodge is not one of those establishments.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHuckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Divine value! Pleasant staff. I know the Kimpton’s Sky was written up in the Wall St. Journal recently, but I doubt if the travel writer spent the night in the old wing. Also, the sophomoric pool scene is for bar flies. If you truly want to do Aspen, the remodeled Limelight and Hotel Jerome are your best two options. We shoot for location when staying in Aspen. Our friends live in town and it’s much more fun to be able to walk for visiting. Enough reviews have been written on the Limelight, but I did want to add one thing. It is very comfortable, but if you are after the luxurious old time Aspen feel, Jerome is probably more your cup of tea. Their restaurant is posh and the hotel is truly 1st class. Also, if you are into the celeb watching, don’t count on that at the Limelight. Just us common tourists sitting around with lobby fireplace.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justwantgoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The limelight lodge was a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the heart of Aspen, 2 blocks from the ski gondolas and a short walk to the many shops of Aspen. The rooms are large and the beds super comfortable. The lodge is family owned and extremely clean. Breakfast is each morning from 7 to 10 and includes cereal, pastries, coffee and juices, rolls, bread, and more. There is always coffee, hot water, hot chocolate and fruit available. There is a heated outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCgolferlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
341 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We had a king room with small balcony (shared with the room next door). It had a large, comfortable king bed with very nice linens. The room is relatively small and there is no desk on which to put your laptop making in room use of the computer fairly difficult. There is a free computer in the lobby which proved easier for me. the room had a coffee maker, but no fridge or microwave. The room was very clean and well kept. The common areas of the hotel are nice and well maintained. Breakfast is basic and the supplies are frequently exhausted pretty early in the morning.The location is super for walking around Aspen. the staff is very helpful and friendly. Excellent choice for a very expensive little town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

September 21-24, 2009. This hotel and its staff beats anything in Aspen. One block from Durant Avenue and the base of Aspen Mountain lifts. We stayed in a "Luxury King" room on the top (4th) floor with a balcony and views of the mountains to Independence Pass. Very large room, spacious closet. Granite counters in the large bathroom, microwave, coffee, cocoa, tea maker. Just gorgeous. The breakfast buffet is free and reminds me of a Dutch breakfast - ham, turkey, cheeses, hot boiled eggs, fruits, breads, bagels, croissants, cinnamon rolls, hot cereal, cold cereal, juices, coffee... all a great start to any day. Underground parking is definately yet another plus. Fresh fruit available all day long in the lobby, also gratis, plus free cocoa, tea, coffee. Finally, and what sets the Limelight Lodge apart from other fine hotels in Aspen is the staff. Top-notch. Superb, caring service. You can't beat the Limelight Lodge. Sure, you can pay more some place else, but you can't beat the Limelight Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonderOffizier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed there to attend an anniversary celebrations from 9/8 - 9/10/09. We were on the 4th floor with a great view of the mountain. The beds are so very comfortable. The bathrooms are large and include robes and hair dryers.

The continental breakfast in the lobby has just about everything you can think of to eat.

The staff are very professional and friendly and always willing to help you. They also had a PC and printer available for printing up airline tickets.

It is so centrally located that you can walk anywhere for food, shopping, walking, etc.

Would love to go back and spend a little more time in Aspen at the Limelight Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing