We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - close to everything”
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Molly Gibson Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice room - close to everything”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

"The Molly" provides a good value. They have good size rooms with comfortable beds at a reasonable price. In addition, the amenities are wonderful; nice pool and hot tub, a good breakfast each morning, a private ride from the airport, pet friendly and a helpful and enthusiastic staff. All this located a quarter of a mile from the shopping and nightlife. Everywhere we needed to go was easily reached on foot. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NotFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear NotFarAway,

You are so welcome! I'm truly pleased you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to having you and "the girls" back for another stay with us!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    177
    62
    28
    15
See reviews for
95
242
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I just got back from a girls weekend in Aspen. I picked the hotel because of price and location but the staff was the reason for the excellent rating. They did everything that they could to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy the weekend with each other. They were amazingly accommodating to all our requests. The rooms were also clean, luxurious, and comfortable. We would definitely go back. Thank you Molly Gibson staff for a great weekend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Carrie G,

We are so pleased you had a wonderful time with us. Getting away with friens is important and this is a great time of year to re-kindle relationships. ome back and see us agin soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

After looking at the website for the Molly Gibson I was a bit worried what it looked like as there were no exterior pics. It is an old building but they've made it look pretty good and the fact that the rooms are stunning (real luxury) and so are the pool and hot tubs made up for this and some. The guy at reception was really helpful but the best thing has to be that not only do you get a really good breakfast included you also get free apres ski snacks (and by that i mean american style snacks - nachos, chilli, muffins, crisps mmmmmmmm) and beer/wine - they obviously aren't getting that many brits yet! I timed the walk from the chair lift (1. sad i know 2. not the main gondola but the lift to lookers right) and it took 7mins plus the bus to the other ski areas picks up from right outside the hotel. This is much cheaper than many of the other luxury hotels in aspen and i'd really recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: My room had a view of Aspen Mnt - it was towards the back and also put you closest to the ski lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_e_b11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Michael e b11,

Thank you for such kind words and taking the time to write about your great experience with us. We pride ourselves on our tremendous value and we are so glad you were able to partake in all of our wonderful offerings. Our location and amenities impress even world travellers like yourself ! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epeats
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I purchased a Living Social package and paid extra for the "peak season" stay. We attempted 3 times to book nights during peak season with none available. We were offered "off peak" nights but no discount taken for having paid for "peak season" nights. We finally booked an off season weekend but then had a change of plans. We were not allowed to then cancel or reschedule or package so we lost out. We then went ahead and booked a double room for Labor Day weekend. When we arrived we were given a single room with only one double bed for 4 of us. We went back to the desk and we were told they had a larger room they would give us at no additional charge and would take care of us as soon as they finished with another guest who had just walked in. We waited for about 20-30 minutes and then we were called back in and told that they did not have any double rooms left. They were completely booked. The story had now changed. Not sure what to do we just stood there . . . then we were told they would sell us another single room and mom and one child could stay in one room and dad and the other child could stay in the other room. Not much of a family vacation is you ask me. Not to mention we could pay for this extra room??? Really??? Then we were told it was our fault for not booking the correct room. So we decided to deny the offer of a second single room and asked to cancel our current room. We were told there would be a cancellation fee and we would still be charged for the room that we incorrectly booked. We were told they were completely booked and people were walking in looking for rooms so I am sure they re-sold the room but still charged us anyway. Not very customer service friendly in my mind. This hotel has not cost us about $800.00 and we have never stayed one night. I read the great reviews about this hotel and would have loved the opportunity to find out but I am very disappointed in the handling of the customer and the availability of the Living Social promotion.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank epeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I had booked the fireplace/jacuzzi room and had phoned ahead to request the jacuzzi room which they said they would hold for me. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we actually had been upgraded to a Deluxe room which has a fireplace and a jacuzzi! It was an amazing room sitting in the jacuzzi while the fire was going - well worth the extra money! Even if you don't get a jacuzzi room there are a couple common ones near the pool. The location of the hotel was great as the ski bus stop was only across the street. It was also only a short walk to restaurants and the main shopping area. They will also come and pick you up from the airport if you let them know what time you will be arriving. The bus driver - I cannot remember his name but he was a young Australian guy - gave us a tour of the town which was very nice and unexpected. Show us where to eat and go for a drink and where the best apres ski was to be found. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. They also have a good breakfast in the morning and they also have free food and drinks (apres ski) in the evening. All in all our experience at the Molly Gibson was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear DMcG12,

We're so pleased you had a great time with us and we do really have the best rooms in town. Not many other hotels have wood burning fireplaces and jetted tubs, really romantic and relaxing. Glad you were able to experience our great Breakfast and Apres' ski. I'll pass on your compliments to the staff and driver. Please come again soon!

Regards,
Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Park your car and walk to everything. Nice value for Aspen considering everything is overpriced there. Quality of the Inn is very nice. Clean, well appointed room. Great little coffee house/breakfat/lunch place just a block away. There was breakfast included but it was just ok, down in a basement type place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear S K,

Thank you so much for your comments. We do offer a great value and we expand our breakfast in the Winter Season to include eggs, bacon, sausage cinnamon rolls and more. Please come back and try us again. Main St. Bakery is always great as well.

Thanks again,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at The Molly Gibson on a Living Spocial deal and we would love to come back during the winter. Great location - only a few blocks from the shopping area in Aspen and the slopes. Good trail system for running, walking and biking in the Summer. The Living Social deal was great - good rate, $50 giftcard to Jimmy's and a bottle of wine. My only concern would be the regular price during the winter, but then what isn't expensive in Aspen in the high season.

Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms could have a spa and/or pool RIGHT outside your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Raymond G,

We appreciate your great feedback and you really got a super deal with our Living Social promotion. Please do consider us at any time of the year, we are the most affordable and certainly the best value in Aspen.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Property: Molly Gibson Lodge
Address: 101 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1709
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing