We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Molly Gibson Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$373
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limelight Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aspen Meadows Resort(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Chalet Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyrolean Lodge(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Queen Lodge(Aspen)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
262
192
67
34
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
192
67
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapres skihot tubfree breakfastking roomwood burning fireplacemain streetnice sizebreakfast roomin townparking passfree buseasy walknice poolbagelsaspen mountainbus stopgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We received a night stay at the Molly Gibson for a date night away from our kids and were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the hotel and staff were! We had not stayed there before and spend alot of time in Aspen in the summer. The room is updated with a great AC. There was a small hot tub outside of our room which was a perfect plus for us to enjoy a relaxing night in Aspen. The hotel is walking distance to all of the restaurants, our favorite is Matsuhisa. The Breakfast was also phenominal with eggs and bacon and a cute pancake machine included in our stay. The bathroom is SMALL, that is the only drawback. Also love the bikes that you can borrow to see the town. Overall I couldn't have asked for a better hotel! We will definately be there again. Thanks to everyone at the Molly for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the hot tub in the front if you are without children and want a quieter area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear MFMD,

Thanks so much for your positive review and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We pride ourselves on our guest service and amenities and it's nice to know that we achieved our goal. We hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We've stayed at the Molly many times over the years. Our daughter and puppy sort of grew up in the two bedroom condo style room, but we've stayed in many rooms over the years. This time was a little disappointing from a number of perspectives. First, our reservation was cancelled and we were not informed. If it hadn't been for my wife double checking the week before our arrival, we would not have had a room. Oh, they said they attempted to contact us but turns out they dialed the wrong number and didn't try again....please.
Noise, although difficult to control, was sort of like Spring Break loud; different than previous experiences in August, possibly because the Molly is deteriorating and costs less thus attracting a different crowd. Not to say the customers were not nice, they were, just some were inconsiderate and loud late into the night (2:00 a.m.).
Housekeeping was poor. Didn't clean well, forgot to leave coffee and cups for the morning ...just plain unacceptable.
On the up side, the breakfast is much improved, offering scrambled eggs, beacon, and much more. Parking is free and the office staff very nice and responsive, but don't forget they leave at 11:00 p.m. And then you're on your own.
Will we stay here again....maybe, maybe not. The first time we've thought about booking another property, sorry Molly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Tom B,

Thank you very much for your candid comments and feedback, we appreciate your repeat patronage and hope to have the opportunity to earn your business on a future stay.

As you can see from our reviews and your past experience we take guest satisfaction very seriously and respond to every guest review - positive or not. We also are very proactive in resolving guest concerns as they occur and most certainly would have done everything we could have to make you comfortable and satisfied had we been made aware of them and given an opportunity to make things right.

As for your reservation, we did try to contact you by phone to let you know that the credit card you provided us would not work, and unfortunately we had a incorrect number. However, we also emailed you 3 times at a valid address to let you know this as well. We cannot hold rooms without a valid form of payment and made genuine efforts to contact you to correct the situation. Once we spoke to your wife we honored the same rate and room type as originally booked. I'm sorry if you felt that we were not as responsive as expected.

As for the noise and housekeeping concerns, I apologize if other hotel guests inconvenienced you. I feel badly that you were disturbed by something we have no control over, but I assure you that we would have taken steps to rectify the situation had it been brought to our attention. Our hotels is not offering any reduced pricing to attract a different crowd and we invest heavily in upkeep and maintenance. Our overwhelmingly positive reviews reflect this. you are correct that we do close the front office at 11pm but we do have 24 hours a day response to requests and would have immediately sent any needed supplies or assistance to you.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly and can be reached anytime at the below contact information. I assure you that I will do whatever it takes to allay any concerns about returning to your favorite Aspen hotel - The Molly Gibson Lodge.

Best Regards,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
jeff.bay@mollygibson.com
970-925-3441

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I visited Aspen about three weeks ago, and stayed at Molly Gibson. Only a few short blocks' walk from downtown Aspen, the lodge is very reasonably priced, well appointed, and staffed by extremely friendly and knowledgeable people. We highly recommend it!

When you first arrive, be prepared to be underwhelmed by the view of the lodge from the street, because it is hidden from view, but when you get inside you'll be very pleasantly surprised and will be very happy you found it!

There is an outstanding breakfast freely available, and you must try an automatic pancake-making machine... the first time I've ever seen one, and my wife tried it and was very pleased by the result.

Just a terrific all-around place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Stephan D,

I do so appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our location and value - and our pancakes! Come back and visit again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at Molly Gibson Lodge and enjoyed all the benefits it offered - free parking, GREAT b'fast, wonderful Starbucks coffee in room and terrific housekeepers - especially DORA. We were in town for a weekend wedding and, once the car was parked, we didn't move it again - walked everywhere. We were lucky to have a 2 bedroom apartment - with kitchen - not that we cooked! - but had great amenities. Master bedroom had a/c - but it was right over the bed - oddly positioned for good sleep. The second bedroom had NO a/c - and, being on ground floor, our roomie wasn't comfy leaving window wide open. So THAT was not good. OTHER a/c was in living room and while it cranked out the cold air, if you were at the desk, you needed a sweater! The breakfast offerings had a wide selection and it was all tasty. The pool and hottubs were great - the gardens and lounging areas ample - the staff was cheerful and efficient. We found the location great for all we needed to do. Everything "in town" was walking distance and we found Aspen, overall, a very friendly and easy-to-learn "small town". Everything's got a big ticket price, which is a bit sad - but, hey, in non-ski season, it was just what we needed. Thanks, Molly!

Room Tip: if you need a BIG unit - 2 bed/2 bath with living room/dining room combo and a full kitchen - get unit $130. Parking on Hopkins Street had car at door and no problems with keeping it on the street.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loishobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear loishobart,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you had a great time and enjoyed our services and amenities. I'll pass on your compliments to Dora and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Take care,
Jeff Bay, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just stayed at the Molly Gibson Lodge for 4 nights with my wife for a romantic getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and would definitely recommend it to our friends. It is an older property that has been updated. The location is next to a nice park and an easy walk to to the heart of town, the gondola and the Aspen music festival. We chose a room in the pool courtyard rather than on Main Street which had a little too much traffic noise but the courtyard room was very quiet.

Every evening, we would come back from activities and relax by the pool and Jacuzzis which were well maintained. The king bed was comfortable with decent pillows and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate though we would have enjoyed a better yogurt selection (no Greek.)

Erin and Bella at the front desk were very friendly as well as the rest of the staff. Overall it was a great value compared to what is out there. The biggest drawback was the traffic noise of mainstreet but if you get a room of the main drag, it was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: We had rm 101 which was a king room on the pool courtyard and it was nice to relax there right outside our door after a busy day of activities.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djoseph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear djoeseph1,

Thank you for staying with us and I am so happy that you had a terrific time with us on your recent visit. I'm glad that you found the hotel relaxing and comfortable and I'll most certainly pass your compliments on to our great staff. I look forward to your next visit with us!

take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews