We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time visit, still top rate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Molly Gibson Lodge
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Moscow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Second time visit, still top rate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Molly Gibson for the second time. Last time we were here 3 years ago. The hotel is still the same great quality and I would highly recommend it. Similarly to last time, we booked a room with fireplace and jaccuzzi (#219).

Highlights - The hotel staff is super friendly. The breakfast has a good choice: eggs and bacon, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, fruit and bakery. The apri ski between 4 and 6 pm is a nice complementary addition with beer, wine and snacks. Rooms are immaculately clean. Reception has a good range of movies to rent for free. The heated pool and a few jaccuzzis outside are great to try especially when it's snowing. The location is super convenient to everything, we never used the car.

And here are some areas for improvement to hotel management; small things, but if improved, would make a difference. 1)The shower room doesn't have a rail to hang the towel so you have to either put it on the floor outside or walk wet in the bathroom to pick it up. 2) iphone music dock station is a nice addition but not suitable for iphone 5. 3) cleaning staff is friendly but got in our room twice in the morning without knocking (thinking we were gone), though they did apologize afterwards. 4) the room ventilation needs to be fixed, it was very loud and woke us up in the night.

Tips for travellers. This hotel is a great choice when sasying in Aspen - you get more for what you pay. I would recommend you choose the second floor since the windows on the ground gloor are facing the inside yard and the pool exposing your room to all the people passing by. The curtains are heavy wooden ones which make the room dark when closed. Make sure to try the heated pool, an enjoyable experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sgurnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear sgurnov,

Thank you so much for the kind words and nice review, and we appreciate your return patronage. I take your comments and suggestions seriously and will look into the suggestions you gave us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    176
    62
    26
    14
See reviews for
93
239
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff is extremely friendly, accommodating, and enthusiastic. They strive to make your stay pleasant. The location is good. You can walk to town easily, but it's a schlep with skis and boots. There is a bus nearby, however. The room and bed are comfortable though basic. Breakfast is good though basic also. Happy hour offers plenty of food and drink, but the room tends to be dark as it's downstairs without windows. Same room is used for breakfast, but it is spacious and there was no wait for a table when I was there. Complimentary WiFi. Free pick-up and drop-off to and from the airport is a nice as is the comfortable lobby with fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Kathy B,

Thank you so much for your friendly review! We strive to provide affordable, friendly lodging with great amenities and value and I'm so pleased that you had a great time with us. We look forward to your next visit to Aspen and the Molly Gibson Lodge!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Molly Gibson again this year, and liked it even more than last time. The rooms are modest, but aren't missing anything you might need. They have a great breakfast every morning, a generous "Happy Hour" every day from 16:30 to 18:00, and free wi-fi everywhere, AND free pickup and delivery to the Aspen airport. If you are tired of staying in your room, you can retreat to the common room and sit in front of the fire, or head for the heated pool or spa bath.

Molly Gibson is on Main St, and there are buses to Aspen Mountain and The Highlands go by every day, and you can catch the bus to Snowmass at the base of Ajax.

What I like the most about the Molly Gibson is their focus on making you happy. If you need something, they'll figure out to get it for you.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi JohnofOz,

Thanks so much for joining us "up above" in Aspen and the United States and had such a great time with us! Glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and amenities and we hope that your travels can bring you back to us in the future.

Cheers, Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at the Molly in March 2012 and again this past week (March 2014), I also in the past 5 years have stayed at the St Regis (very expensive) and Aspen Meadows (great rooms but too far from Ajex).

The Molly is a perfect compromise. Reasonably priced, close enough to walk/or also on the bus line, and very friendly staff. For $380 per night during peak season in Aspen I had a large room with a King bed, wood burning fireplace, my own private jacuzzi, and a private walled in terrace with sliders from the bedroom, also a flat screen TV, free wifi, and a small fridge. Also included was a full breakfast and Apres Ski with wine and very substantial food (chili, lasagna, pizza, crudites etc).

This is what a ski lodge was years ago, a bit funky, very friendly, with a young and European crowd that wants value even in Aspen. Hint - go for the superior rooms - they are so much nicer.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room like 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mary N,

Thanks so much for such a great review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed our great included amenities and appreciated the authentic Aspen feel. Hope to see you back on a "third" trip soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We got a great room, a Deluxe Room, right off the pool. Was very big, clean with a comfortable King and pullout sofa for our teenage daughter. Bathroom was a very good size too for the three of us. Upon arrival at the airport we were picked up at no charge by the hotel. The cozy lobby welcomed us with a nice fireplace and chilled water with fruit in it as well as coffee. All the employees couldn't have been nicer. Especially Skye who did a great job at the daily Apres ski get together. She's a hard worker. People have mentioned that the hotel is a little loud. Well it is a little loud, but that is not due to the hotel, it is due to the expansive bus system in the town of Aspen. There are free shuttle buses that seem to run from 7:00 am until around midnight? They are loud, but i think any hotel you would stay in in town you would hear these buses zooming around. It was very quiet during the sleeping hours or midnight until the morning. The best thing about the Molly Gibson is that there is a huge expansive daily breakfast which includes hot and cold foods, fruit, eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, I could keep going on. It's not like the breakfast you get at a Holiday Inn Express. It's way, way better. I don't know how someone could complain about it. There is something for everyone and the best part it is included in your room cost.The other great thing is the Apres Skiing beer/wine and food from 4:30 -6:00 every night. Everything was so good. There was so much food you didn't even have to go out to dinner if you didn't want too. That was also included in your room fee. With the wine and beer my husband and I had we saved a bundle. We usually go to a bar after skiing and the prices in Aspen for the wine and beer would have cost a fortune. We used the hot tub and pool which was so nice and warm especially the pool. The pool was at the perfect temperature and our room was just steps away so it was nice to dash in the room when we got out. I really did my research on the hotels in Aspen. Sure you can stay in a super high end place, but your going to be paying a lot more and maybe you would get breakfast, but not the daily Apres skiing. Plus the MG is very casual and cozy and people are who they are which makes it a great place to stay. I would stay again. Only thing i would say is in our room is this huge spa tub which takes up a huge amount of room. Not that it was in our way, I just thought if that was gone another king size bed or seating area could be put in its place. I don't know how many people really use those things especially when the hot tub is right outside your door. Also above the desk, a nice mirror would be good so you could get ready over there. With three in the room there seemed to be someone in the bathroom when trying to get ready so the desk area would be a nice space for someone to get ready at especially if there was a mirror above the desk.

Room Tip: Room 105 was big and steps away from the pool and front desk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMLL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear RMLL1982,

Thank you so much for your detailed and very complimentary review. It really means a lot coming from a well traveled person such as yourself and we are glad that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. We are proud of our great accommodations, friendly service and great value. We hope to see you on another trip to Aspen soon!

Thanks!

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location for getting to the ski busses. Breakfast is plentiful and a good variety. Apres ski every day was great with beer, wine and plenty of food. You almost don't need to go out for dinner but if you do your only 2 blocks from the restaraunts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timurkilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Timurkilic,

Thanks so much for the great review and it means a lot coming from a seasoned traveller and reviewer such as yourself. Glad you enjoyed the amenities, location and service and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Molly Gibson Lodge for 5 nights. The lodge is older and so some things seem worn - we were happy to say it was homely. The staff treated us well - always with smiles and no request seemed too much for them. We enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet which easily got us though to lunch on the ski fields. A highlight was the Après Ski served each night during the Winter season. It was served by the smiling Skye and consisted of wines, beer or sodas with cheeses, veggies and dips as well as hot soup and a selection of hot finger foods - all yummy and greatly appreciated after a day of skiing. The lodge had excellent access to the free bus services either to the Aspen transit centre or the Highlands, Buttermilk or Snowmass fields - we only needed to walk a few steps from the lodge front door. While Molly Gibson was not high end as far as amenities and finishes we felt welcome, comfortable and at home during our time here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackiejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Jackiejoan,

I appreciate your comments and review and I'm going to hope that you meant "Homey" instead of ", but hey Homely" :-) I'll pass on your kind comments to the staff and we hope to serve you again in the future!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Property: Molly Gibson Lodge
Address: 101 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1709
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aspen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing