We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in aspen”
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Molly Gibson Lodge
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel,beautiful room with fireplace,comfortable bed,nice breakfast and very nice heated pool....very friendly staff and the best part is its dog friendly so we can tag along our little baby pooch shammy...defntly gonna come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank det70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear det70,
I am so happy to hear that you and your pooch had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Thank for posting the great pictures as well, looks like Shammy had a very relaxing trip! I appreciate all the kind words about the property, and can’t wait to have you and Shammy as our guest again in the future.
Erin Earley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Set along one of the main streets through town but the back building was very quiet. Rooms are nicely decorated and updated include a fridge & coffee maker. Linens, bed and pillows were very comfortable. Tub & toilet in very small area but huge whirlpool tub also,part of the room. Looked like a very nice hot tub outside but didn't get the time to try it. Very close to downtown so walked to dinner. Lots of choices at breakfast including hot dishes and make your own pancakes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MOBX,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the Molly Gibson. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, although it’s too bad you didn’t get a chance to try the in-room Jacuzzi tub, they are quite relaxing! Hopefully you can come back in the future and give it a shot!
Erin Earley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just had a Great 4 days and nights at your lodge...now I must say after many a time in Aspen (and normally at the Mountain House) the Molly Gibson was the best of all. Yes, there are other 5 star locations that provide this or that, are closer to Ajax, provide a cool shuttle service and enjoy taking your credit card for a BIG ride to the bank as often as possible...

Yet, they don't reflect the true nature of Aspen (at least what I recall as a ski bum in 1979-81) and will never have the fun, cool staff you've assembled..... with simple, clean and comfortable rooms, a great pool, location that was perfect for a bus ride to other resorts and easy walking to town. What more could I ask for...?

Oh, since I ASKED... Bella and Apres Ski each evening were such a delicious pleasure. She provided excellent food, snacks, drinks and fun conversation. I actually looked forward to the end of the ski day when my tired and hungry body could relax over a cold drink, tasty items of ALL kinds in a warm and inviting atmosphere....Bella provided a nice smile and good conversation...be sure your keep her for as long as she wants to stay!

Thanks for a spot in Aspen that is easy to enjoy, has nice staff and actually appreciates the business of its guests......I look forward to coming back again this summer and many a winter ahead.

Room Tip: Be sure you engage and talk to Bella during apres ski time at the lodge, a fun, friendly person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockymtngator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear rockymtngator,

Thank you so much for the detailed and complementary review of our hotel. We are glad you had such a wonderful time and I'll pass on your great comments and accolades to Bella and the rest of the staff!

Thanks,
Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Molly Gibson for the second time. Last time we were here 3 years ago. The hotel is still the same great quality and I would highly recommend it. Similarly to last time, we booked a room with fireplace and jaccuzzi (#219).

Highlights - The hotel staff is super friendly. The breakfast has a good choice: eggs and bacon, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, fruit and bakery. The apri ski between 4 and 6 pm is a nice complementary addition with beer, wine and snacks. Rooms are immaculately clean. Reception has a good range of movies to rent for free. The heated pool and a few jaccuzzis outside are great to try especially when it's snowing. The location is super convenient to everything, we never used the car.

And here are some areas for improvement to hotel management; small things, but if improved, would make a difference. 1)The shower room doesn't have a rail to hang the towel so you have to either put it on the floor outside or walk wet in the bathroom to pick it up. 2) iphone music dock station is a nice addition but not suitable for iphone 5. 3) cleaning staff is friendly but got in our room twice in the morning without knocking (thinking we were gone), though they did apologize afterwards. 4) the room ventilation needs to be fixed, it was very loud and woke us up in the night.

Tips for travellers. This hotel is a great choice when sasying in Aspen - you get more for what you pay. I would recommend you choose the second floor since the windows on the ground gloor are facing the inside yard and the pool exposing your room to all the people passing by. The curtains are heavy wooden ones which make the room dark when closed. Make sure to try the heated pool, an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank sgurnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear sgurnov,

Thank you so much for the kind words and nice review, and we appreciate your return patronage. I take your comments and suggestions seriously and will look into the suggestions you gave us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff is extremely friendly, accommodating, and enthusiastic. They strive to make your stay pleasant. The location is good. You can walk to town easily, but it's a schlep with skis and boots. There is a bus nearby, however. The room and bed are comfortable though basic. Breakfast is good though basic also. Happy hour offers plenty of food and drink, but the room tends to be dark as it's downstairs without windows. Same room is used for breakfast, but it is spacious and there was no wait for a table when I was there. Complimentary WiFi. Free pick-up and drop-off to and from the airport is a nice as is the comfortable lobby with fireplace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Kathy B,

Thank you so much for your friendly review! We strive to provide affordable, friendly lodging with great amenities and value and I'm so pleased that you had a great time with us. We look forward to your next visit to Aspen and the Molly Gibson Lodge!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Molly Gibson again this year, and liked it even more than last time. The rooms are modest, but aren't missing anything you might need. They have a great breakfast every morning, a generous "Happy Hour" every day from 16:30 to 18:00, and free wi-fi everywhere, AND free pickup and delivery to the Aspen airport. If you are tired of staying in your room, you can retreat to the common room and sit in front of the fire, or head for the heated pool or spa bath.

Molly Gibson is on Main St, and there are buses to Aspen Mountain and The Highlands go by every day, and you can catch the bus to Snowmass at the base of Ajax.

What I like the most about the Molly Gibson is their focus on making you happy. If you need something, they'll figure out to get it for you.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi JohnofOz,

Thanks so much for joining us "up above" in Aspen and the United States and had such a great time with us! Glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and amenities and we hope that your travels can bring you back to us in the future.

Cheers, Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at the Molly in March 2012 and again this past week (March 2014), I also in the past 5 years have stayed at the St Regis (very expensive) and Aspen Meadows (great rooms but too far from Ajex).

The Molly is a perfect compromise. Reasonably priced, close enough to walk/or also on the bus line, and very friendly staff. For $380 per night during peak season in Aspen I had a large room with a King bed, wood burning fireplace, my own private jacuzzi, and a private walled in terrace with sliders from the bedroom, also a flat screen TV, free wifi, and a small fridge. Also included was a full breakfast and Apres Ski with wine and very substantial food (chili, lasagna, pizza, crudites etc).

This is what a ski lodge was years ago, a bit funky, very friendly, with a young and European crowd that wants value even in Aspen. Hint - go for the superior rooms - they are so much nicer.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room like 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mary N,

Thanks so much for such a great review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed our great included amenities and appreciated the authentic Aspen feel. Hope to see you back on a "third" trip soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Address: 101 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1709
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £94 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing