We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Aspen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Two blocks from the main gondola and right on a huge park in central Aspen makes many highlights walkable. Bus station across the street allows access to the entire Aspen area, so I left my car parked for the entire week. I took a bus to everyting, including the Music Festival, Ideas Festival, and Maroon Bells. Facility is worn, but beds are great. The complimentary buffet breakfast is above average, with the fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, and oatmeal being highlights. Atmosphere is fun, casual, and family friendly. Pool is clean and refreshing. Ralph started this place decades ago and is still greeting visitors.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the cross-ventilation in a corner room and did not miss air conditioning. I also was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

My teenaged son and I stayed here last week. The staff are a big extended family. They really work to make you feel included and welcome. The breakfasts are fantastic! on the weekdays, you get amazing choices. I got the Eggs Benedict one day. The best I've had.
The desk staff were the grandchildren of the founders. The grandfather is a great gardener and fun to chat with. The breakfast staff were family. The pool is saltwater and again swum in by family daily. These are kind, inclusive family members who will gladly help with whatever they can. The rooms are basic, mine had a fridge and was comfortable. The common areas are fun, friendly and conducive to connecting to other travelers. The bus stop is 1/2 block away. You can get to the Maroon Bells from the bus stop. The food and shopping is close and amazing. The lift, which reaches the gondola and shopping, is within 3 blocks.
The bike path is about 4 blocks away and goes all the way to Glenwood Springs. My son and I brought bikes and rode the 12 miles to the Woody Creek Tavern, where Hunter S. Thompson used to hang out. The food was good (including salads). They don't take charge cards, so bring cash.
The Roaring Fork River is incredible to view during your bike to the Woody Creek Tavern. The waterfalls in the middle are pretty. Bring an open mind, cash for the cab back and gratitude. What a wonderful place to visit!

Room Tip: Great location. Amazing value! Wonderful staff! The only reason you wouldn't stay here is that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Julie,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to chat with Elizabeth and Ralph! We always say that our people are our best asset! But you found many other great things that enhanced your visit and there are lots in Aspen! Thanks for the great review. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Couldn't imagine a better location in Aspen - friendly staff - clean - quiet - homely -- good breakfast - Chalet type atmosphere - be warned - in summer - NO airconditioner - room had box fan which we put in front of window but if it were really hot not sure that would have been enough. But for access to everything in Aspen - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlGa2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TooTravelers, Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for the nice review! We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time, remember that if you book a standard or better room, you will have air conditioning! We look forward to having you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Our family loves this little hotel. It is comfortable and serves a wonderful breakfast each morning. We stayed during the summer and the pool was open in the evenings so kids could swim and parent could enjoy a glass of wine poolside. It is reasonably priced and well run. Stronly recommend this quaint hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are encircling a walk around inner balcony. You get views of the park or the mountain whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TooTravelers, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for the lovely review. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

this hotel was very nice, great breakfast, steam room and hot tub. Staff was friendly and very welcoming.

Parking was easy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clars825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

In my years of traveling, I typically like upscale corporate hotels. The Mountain Chalet may have changed this for me. We stayed 4 nights and had an excellent time! Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great hot breakfast, free parking, Balcony in standard room, clean pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room! This is an excellent choice for a great location to downtown Aspen! Lori at the front desk was so helpful you would never get this service at a chain hotel. We stayed here for a business trip and when we come back this is where we plan on staying all the time! I just wish we could have stayed longer. Typically when I travel, the bed is my most concern because I have a Tempur-Pedic. The bed was comfy and I was able to sleep through the entire night with no issues. Try it next time you are in Aspen I am sure you will agree

Room Tip: Book the Standard room or higher. One of my co workers got the economy he liked it but there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just returned from The Mountain Chalet Aspen - a group of 14 of us from the UK. Cannot fault the hotel or staff from first booking throughout the whole stay.

Outstanding breakfast included - overall the hotel is unbelievable value for money and out-shines the St Regis opposite or any of the glitzy corporate hotels. A real "home from home" with people who truly comprehend the ethos of skiing and of the mountains.

You cannot pick a better location in Aspen, a short walk to the gondola and across the road to the bus to the other hills - easy and so well run.

To anyone one from Europe planing to visit Aspen this is the place to stay,as it is far superior to the soulless corporate brands - excellent!

Rory Holburn
London UK

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryHolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £162 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing