We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new staff is wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have been a longtime customer of Mountain Chalet. The new management and staff are wonderful and I really enjoyed the brand new flat screen TVs. The location of this property is superb and I will continue to be a loyal customer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have nothing but praise for this wonderful mountain home! We have been pleasantly surprised at every turn. The room is great, the people are warm and friendly, the food is good, the decor is lovely . . . and on and on. We will definitely be back to Aspen soon, and this is always where we will stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but room 110 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEllenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The good: Fantastic location, great value, great family game room, great pool, great laundry facilities, great breakfast. The bad: our AC didn't cool well and we had to open the window at night. The parking is limited and tight. Our suite (King with Murphy bed) was great for a family with children. The staff was welcoming and very friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in Aspen.

Room Tip: Suite with King and Murphy bed worked well for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The staff at the Mountain Chalet make a stay there special. They are very accomodating. The pleasant young lady at the desk allowed us to check in early, and allowed us to keep our car in their parking garage for a few hours after we checked out, so we could explore more of Aspen. Believe me this was a relief, because parking in Aspen is difficult. Space in the garage is a little tight, but trust me, you'll be glad to have your car in a secure spot, and you can walk almost everywhere interesting from here anyway.
The complimentary breakfast was served by cheerful and efficient workers, and included everything. The fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. You could fill up for the day on that breakfast alone.
The rooms are very "old school" but comfortable, and with Aspen at your doorstep, who stays in their room?
The location is unbeatable, in the center of the town, right across from a playing field and transportation center, in front of the St. Regis, which is much pricier. I paid $165 base. You are literally at the bottom of the mountain here. I took an early morning hike up the mountain and found the town to be magical just after dawn.
I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I just spent 4 days at the Mountain Chalet and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I am a Colorado native and I have stayed in many places, from Telluride to Steamboat. The Mountain Chalet feels like home. It is warm, inviting and a great place to stay winter or summer. Close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allyyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

The mountain chalet seemed a little dated, but doesn't change my mind about our overal experience. Every place in aspen is very expensive, so if your looking for value plus great location this is worth booking. The owners and staff are so friendly, unlike some of the other snobs we encountered while visiting aspen.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thesmartdude86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Two blocks from the main gondola and right on a huge park in central Aspen makes many highlights walkable. Bus station across the street allows access to the entire Aspen area, so I left my car parked for the entire week. I took a bus to everyting, including the Music Festival, Ideas Festival, and Maroon Bells. Facility is worn, but beds are great. The complimentary buffet breakfast is above average, with the fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, and oatmeal being highlights. Atmosphere is fun, casual, and family friendly. Pool is clean and refreshing. Ralph started this place decades ago and is still greeting visitors.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the cross-ventilation in a corner room and did not miss air conditioning. I also was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
516 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £83 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing