We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location for best price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Groveland Twp., MI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best location for best price!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

You can't beat the location and amenities for this price! Family, couples and singles will all love. Great breakfast included. Walk to gondola and close to other mountains too. Service and housekeeping were great too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1giginjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks, 1giginjamaica! We appreciate your honest and enthusiastic review and your willingness to share it! We hope other travelers benefit and we hope you come back to stay again too. Cheers, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    123
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
112
138
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great place to stay. Perfect location . Good food to start off your day on the slopes. Two short block walk to gondola. Can't beat it. Parking for your car if you have one. Staff and housekeeping are excellent. Don't miss staying here when to come to Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyho114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Tallyho114, Thanks for the comprehensive and concise review! We're glad you enjoyed our location, breakfast, staff, and facility. It was a good month to be in Aspen. And we hope you choose us again! Regards, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This place was perfect. The staff w friendly and helpful . The room was well appointed. The location was awesome . We loved the great breakfast that I included fresh squeezed orange juice. The pool and jacuzzi where great. All of the guests we spoked too had been coming to this hotel for many years and I am sure we will return many times in the future.

Room Tip: Room 118 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Wow, mcdewey, thanks so much for the great review. This is what it's about for us! Glad to make your visit to Aspen comfortable (118 is nice, isn't it?), enjoyable, and worth repeating. We appreciate your business and your assessment. Come again soon for more fresh squeezed OJ!
Best, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The welcoming atmosphere of Mt. Chalet and its convenience to all mountains is why my father brought us here in 1986. We have come back every year since and enjoy it now with our children and grandchildren. The fabulous breakfasts provide a friendly gathering place for families as they prepare to head out to the slopes.
The hot tub, pool, sauna, fireplace and hot chocolate welcome weary skiiers each afternoon. And, the top floor social bar is the best scenic view at the base of the mountain.
Most of all, the very friendly and extremely helpful staff and Melville family of Mt. Chalet keep us coming back each year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Terry M,
It's so great to hear that our family business enhances your family vacation. Thanks for coming back year after year with your family. We appreciate this review and we appreciate your business.
Best,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

i stayed at Mountain Chalet with my son for 7 days in early FEb 2013. The staff very courteous and helpful from the very beginning. A great postion in the middle of town with only a minutes walk to everywhere you need to go in Aspen. The place reminds me of the old chalet days where groups used to come and mingle and chat after a days skiing. A real throwback to the "good ol days" .
Great , hearty breakfast in the morning and rooms cleaned everyday.
If you want a value place to stay right in the heart of town, look no further.

Leon
Australia

Room Tip: choose balcony room and away from main street if you want more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Leon,
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your recent ski vacation! We know you have many choices and are pleased to know you enjoyed our ski lodge and location in Aspen. Thank you for the kind and fair review! We hope to see you again.
Best,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked on short notice to take advantage of heaviest snowfall this season. MCA helped us find a vacant room for mid-week stay. We have stayed at MCA many times before and always feel like we are personal guests of the owners. MCA is one of those remaining family-run getaways that takes us back to Aspen in the 70's, before the large corporate hotels moved in to build timeshares. Would do whatever we could to influence keeping these mom & pop businesses in downtown Aspen close to the slopes, gondola and free bus terminal.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing East Dean St if you are staying in an apartment on the third or fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Tom F, Thank you for the kind review! We're happy we could accommodate you for a quick taste of the great snow recently. And glad you appreciate our vintage appeal and way of doing business. We hope you come back and stay with us again and again.
Best,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you go to Aspen you should consider the Mountain Chalet. It is a friendly, cozy and and extremely well situated Hotel in the center of Aspen. Only 100 m to the Silver Queen Gondola. The Family owned and run hotel makes you feel that you are one of their family. The only downside is the thin coffee but that is a nationwide problem in USA!! The complimentary breakfast is very nice and there is a new dish every morning from the kitchen plus a buffet. A heated garage and a ski storage was a surprise and après ski drinks and all day long coco, coffee, tea and water for the guests was a pleasant surprise. We will not consider any other option after our stay at the Mountain Chalet in Aspen. Asta and Haffi

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaOgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Mountain Chalet in Aspen. It was good to meet you and see you at breakfast and we look forward to hosting you again next year for your 2014 ski vacation. Many thanks for the kind review!
Best,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Property: Mountain Chalet Aspen
Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing