We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and very homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location. Easy going atmosphere. Comfortable but not fancy but good value.
Breakfasts were unexpected treat as were daily chocolate chip cookies.
Rooms are not fancy but roomy. Friendly atmosphere.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

For Aspen, the price was very good. The breakfast, made to order specials daily, left nothing to be desired. We walked to the brewery and other restaurants. The pedestrian zone is one block away.

Oh, did I mention the cookies and cappacino machine in the lobby?

We had a lower level room and it was spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Room 101 at the end of the hall was quiet and convenient to the free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

While this hotel is older (1954) and perhaps undersized compared to the splashy digs surrounding it, I don't think you could find a better place to stay in Aspen. I'm not even going to say "for the money". While they sport the lowest room rates around, they give big value and lots of attention. Their full breakfast is a gem in today's white bread and sugary cereal continental offerings you find in most place. Their staff are attentive, the atmosphere is cozy, the rooms are updated and super clean, with a fridge in every room. The pool is good, and they offer a hot tub, sauna, exercise room, fireplaces in the lobbies, and did I mention the breakfast?

Room Tip: Every room is good. They have an elevator and underground parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's almost impossible to find an affordable room in Aspen. By other cities' standards this hotel still isn't exactly cheap but it's less expensive than just about any other place in Aspen. But don't let the price fool you, it's a great place to stay.

The location is right in the middle of things, a block from most of the shops, across the street from a park, a short walk to the gondola. We spent 3 nights there and never got in the car until we had to leave.

The room was small but still very comfortable and homey. It's not fancy but that also means it's not stuffy or pretentious.

The breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. I didn't really expect much for a free breakfast but it was actually quite good (and don't forget to get some fresh-squeezed orange juice from the fancy juice machine).

I will definitely seek this hotel out the next time I visit Aspen because I can't justify spending more when the Mountain Chalet delivers on a great value.

Room Tip: Our room faced the park to the North which was very nice if you don't mind the occasional bus dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Tom A,

Thanks for this comprehensive review! We know it will be helpful to other travelers, but it is helpful to us also, to hear your feedback about your visit. We appreciate your fair and favorable recommendation.

Best,

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We love this place and the people associated with it. The owners, the staff, and even the other guests are all like family. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and prefer the ones facing the mountain but there really are no "bad rooms". The location is great, within walking distance of all of downtown Aspen. They do so many little things that you wouldn't get if you paid more for the big-name places with no character. We are now spoiled.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

GLCAL,

Wow, what an amazing concept: stay with us instead of your condo? It's good to know we are doing such a good job at hospitality. Thank you for this great recommendation.

So glad we could spoil you!

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our stay was August 23 and 24th 2013. We stayed in the Garmisch Superior Hotel Room. Very nice with a balcony. Plenty of room. We could walk to all the shops and restaurants. Friendly staff and comfortable environment. The heated pool was very nice. Great free hot breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. This was are first time staying here. We will stay here from now on and will recommend to all of our friends here in Denver.
Carla and David from Thornton Colorado.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carladj1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

carladj1212,

What a great review! It's good to hear you enjoyed your room, our location, our breakfast and snacks, pool, and staff. What could be better? That's what we're in business to do. Thank you for visiting and reviewing. We look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.

Best,

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed here many times (8-10 times) and every summer it is better. They are always adding new features. We love the home style rooms and breakfast. The location cannot be beat, right across from the park, so handy to shopping and dining. We love Aspen and we love Mountain Chalet.

Room Tip: We love to look at Wagner Park, but the larger rooms on the west side of the pool are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Kerrie C,

We love our return guests! And we love turning first-time guests into return guests. It's good to hear that you appreciate our brand of hospitality. Thanks for reviewing!

See you next time,

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#14 of 35 in Aspen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £193 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing