We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have stayed at the Mountain Chalet every year for over 10 years. Quaint and cozy and the staff is wonderful. Not a fancy place but a place where you will feel at home. Family owned and always ready to help out with anything...Highly recommend, unless you are a fancy schmancy person and require lots of pillows. enjoy

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the park...love watching the dogs run and the frisbees fly and the mountain...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Chalet Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our experience. We were there for wedding and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome.
They have the best cookies in the lobby and coffee anytime you need it.
Our room was lovely. Quirky with a wonderfully updated bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the playing field accross the way. The ones overlooking the beautiful pool would be great too.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAV1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel five times and enjoyed every visit, it's an unusual hotel in the modern world of Aspen, Colorado.. The chalet was built in the early 1950s and has been extended several times. It is still owned by the same family and has a lot of character. Coffee n cookies are in the lobby everyday and gusts are encouraged to partake and talk with fellow guests... No coffee making facilities in the rooms... The outside heated swimming pool is in the heart of the hotel and really nice to swim. F.. There is also a large hot tub, sauna and a well organised gym....The breakfast is very filling and the varied menu changes daily..... All in all a lovely, friendly hotel..

Room Tip: Outside rooms are the nicest...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleT312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

★★★★★★
Awesome hotel, great location, and easy to find, some amazing views and the service was top notch, I suggest the apartments for your stay! Such a beautiful hotel with heated everything! We stayed for two nights, full kitchen was the best part. Heated pool for laps, got run for relax, and nice gym for the lats! Recommended ten fold!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chodeman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here because it was most reasonable rate we could find for Aspen at the time--we were put in a very small twin bed room, but everything was very nice and met our needs. Had problems with heater not working, so got immediate help from the manager. Very nice, clean, friendly, and good breakfast provided. We were especially happy for the free parking provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Melville family is one of the most loved families in Aspen. It is worth staying here just to meet them. They love what they do and better still they love people.

Just like Ralph Melville, the building has more than a few years on it. It's not one of the fancy (and expensive) places to stay in town. It is popular with many regulars because of its reputation for value and its personal, family touch.

My ratings below are indexed not to Five Star hotels but in relation to price and value.

Room Tip: Walking distance to everything in town.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many years ago. I decided to take my husband and son to Aspen and I booked this hotel again. It was everything I had hoped and more. My family felt so comfortable and welcome. Hot, fresh cookies in the lobby, lemonaide, water, coffee, hot chocolate and cappuccino as well. Wonderful breakfast in the morning. Large hot tub, clean pool, large workout room...I can go on and on. We plan to return to aspen again soon and this hotel is a large part of the reason!!!!!! I would NEVER stay anywhere else in Aspen!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandista46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 35 in Aspen
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £71 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing