We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around...like a second home & family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What can I say...but love going to my second home in Aspen. The Mt Chalet is like going to my home there...they treat you like family. I go out in October for the John Denver week in Aspen. The Melvilles have been running the Mt Chalet since the 1950's and continue to make it the place to stay and feel at home. The Breakfast that is served...hot and cold is wonderful. Different hot items for Breakfast each day. The pool, spa, sauna are all wonderful...not the mention the gym. If you need coffee, just head to the lobby for coffee, tea, hot chocolate and lemon aid and water...then late in the afternoon come back for cookies each day. Between the Breakfast and Cookies/beverages, don't need much lunch! A great place to stay as you are within walking distance to most anything in town. A friendly atmosphere when you walk through the doors. Enjoy your stay...just ask at the front desk if you do have a problem...but I never have!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stay at The Mountain Chalet in October each year for the John Denver celebration. It's been run by the Melville family since they first started the business in the 1950s, with many extensions and improvements along the way. The atmosphere is great, everyone is very friendly and helpful and our time there in October is like a big family house party. The home-cooked breakfast (a hot dish and a cold buffet) really sets one up for the day, and there are freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. Although most rooms do not have coffee making facilities, there is always coffee available in the lobby - if the pot runs dry one has only to ask and a fresh one is made. Water and lemonade are always on tap also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here off season so I don;t know the in-season prices but off-season were very reasonable. The chalet is located in downtown, right by the ski mountain base and where all the resturants and shops are. There is a heated pool and workout area. The included breakfast was great, something different every morning (we got breakfast burritos). We'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have stayed at the Mountain Chalet every year for over 10 years. Quaint and cozy and the staff is wonderful. Not a fancy place but a place where you will feel at home. Family owned and always ready to help out with anything...Highly recommend, unless you are a fancy schmancy person and require lots of pillows. enjoy

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the park...love watching the dogs run and the frisbees fly and the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our experience. We were there for wedding and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome.
They have the best cookies in the lobby and coffee anytime you need it.
Our room was lovely. Quirky with a wonderfully updated bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the playing field accross the way. The ones overlooking the beautiful pool would be great too.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAV1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel five times and enjoyed every visit, it's an unusual hotel in the modern world of Aspen, Colorado.. The chalet was built in the early 1950s and has been extended several times. It is still owned by the same family and has a lot of character. Coffee n cookies are in the lobby everyday and gusts are encouraged to partake and talk with fellow guests... No coffee making facilities in the rooms... The outside heated swimming pool is in the heart of the hotel and really nice to swim. F.. There is also a large hot tub, sauna and a well organised gym....The breakfast is very filling and the varied menu changes daily..... All in all a lovely, friendly hotel..

Room Tip: Outside rooms are the nicest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleT312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

★★★★★★
Awesome hotel, great location, and easy to find, some amazing views and the service was top notch, I suggest the apartments for your stay! Such a beautiful hotel with heated everything! We stayed for two nights, full kitchen was the best part. Heated pool for laps, got run for relax, and nice gym for the lats! Recommended ten fold!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chodeman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
518 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £105 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing