We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of Mountain Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top of Mountain Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved the Mountain Chalet-they were incredibly flexible and made our day special. Their caterer was amazing and after cooking our reception meal, went to Lance Armstrong's house to cook for a dinner party for him. A great homemade breakfast is served each morning for guests that stay at the Chalet. Adrien in events is fantastic, very down to earth, easy to work-with and makes your day stress free. They do not charge extra for linens or china and they are dog friendly!

Room Tip: The apartments are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainbride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    123
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
111
137
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Opened in 1954 by Ralph and Marion Melville, the Mountain Chalet has retained the old Aspen charm and comfort. Currently run (extremely well) by son, Craig, the ambience is super friendly, from staff to guests -- it's contagious. Ralph and Marion still make almost daily appearances; old habits are hard to break. If you want extreme pampering and luxury, go across the street to the St. Regis -- at triple the price. Otherwise, enjoy a real Aspen experience at the Mountain Chalet.
Jim & Jean/45 Year visitors

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimofNorthville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Staff is super friendly. The Davos Suite is large and includes everything you need to have lunches in the room (microwave, table, utensils, plates, etc.). They had a portable crib we were able to us which was great. Loved the cookies and hot coco/cappuccino available all the time. Loved that they have board games you can check out. Enjoyed the game room with pool, Foosball, table tennis, and poker and the workout facility was exactly all we needed. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlexy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The location is wonderful, the staff were friendly and very helpful (I stayed during the government shutdown), includes full, fresh made breakfast. Came for hiking in the fall colors and the price in Oct was very reasonable. Simple accomodations but great atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank urbinato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear urbinato,
We're glad you had a great visit and enjoyed yourself at the Mountain Chalet. We hope you can come back another time!
Best, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Mountain Chalet really is our 'home away from home' with the distinction of being located in beautiful Aspen. We feel welcomed from the moment we arrive and return to the same room we consider our own. The lobby is cozy with cookies, bottomless coffee, hot chocolate and the best staff! The home cooked breakfast with squeeze your own orange juice is amazing. It is another area where you can meet and greet old friends and new. Again, the staff is warm and accomodating. We look forward to meeting the Melvilles one day so that we can tell them how much we appreciate what the Mountain Chalet means to our stay in Aspen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Max G,
I'm not sure how we missed you--there are usually lots of us Melvilles around to meet. But we're glad you enjoyed the more important parts of your stay with us in Aspen. Come again and we'll try to say Hi!
Best, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The rooms and the reception from the staff are warm and welcoming.They cannot do enough for you.Coming to the Chalet is like coming home.The breakfast selection was amazing !

The room tariffs are very reasonable.

Enough said.I cannot wait to get back there next vacation/

Room Tip: Book early for family sized rooms.singles should find sufficient value in the economy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

What can I say...but love going to my second home in Aspen. The Mt Chalet is like going to my home there...they treat you like family. I go out in October for the John Denver week in Aspen. The Melvilles have been running the Mt Chalet since the 1950's and continue to make it the place to stay and feel at home. The Breakfast that is served...hot and cold is wonderful. Different hot items for Breakfast each day. The pool, spa, sauna are all wonderful...not the mention the gym. If you need coffee, just head to the lobby for coffee, tea, hot chocolate and lemon aid and water...then late in the afternoon come back for cookies each day. Between the Breakfast and Cookies/beverages, don't need much lunch! A great place to stay as you are within walking distance to most anything in town. A friendly atmosphere when you walk through the doors. Enjoy your stay...just ask at the front desk if you do have a problem...but I never have!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Property: Mountain Chalet Aspen
Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing